Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Mar. 15, 2004
weekend o' outdoor fun

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Misc. Baloney About My Life:

The short and good news is that I had a great weekend. It was awesomely beautiful up north, all weekend.

We spent Saturday kayaking through the Elkhorn Slough and in Monterey. I saw lots of Sea Otters, Sea Lions (no Elephant Seals, though, because I could not get a reservation for the Ranger-led walk to see them) and hundreds of different breeds of birds I had never seen before. We went kayaking through the Slough in the morning�too early, I think, because it was still foggy out and I pert near froze my patootie off, but it was still quite the grand adventure (Pandi � I thought about you. You should have seen all of the beautiful birds!!!). And can I just say that apparently California Sea Lions are far too used to seeing we humans around? They would just swim right long side of our kayaks, checking us out for a few minutes, before they got bored and moved along. And can I also say that they are HUGE when you see them all up close and personal like that? As a side note, I can apparently spend hours just watching Sea Otters eat Abalone. After kayaking, we went in to Monterey and thawed out (the sun was out in Monterey, thank Christ). We also walked around Fisherman�s Wharf, had a glass of wine and some Calamari and Steamed Clams (well, John had Steamed Clams. I don�t like �em), looked at some classic cars and just had a most enjoyable day.

We woke up early on Sunday and hiked through the forest in John�s neighborhood for four miles. After breakfast, a shower, and some lazy time, we went in to Santa Cruz proper where we looked at (and dreamed about) Harleys and John did some basic upkeep stuff to my car. We also had some tres yummy tacos.

Oh and also � little-to-no traffic on my drive, either way. That is always noteworthy.

All-in-all, it was great. John was lovely and sweet, the weather was pert-near perfection � sunny and in the mid-seventies, aside from our kayaking excursion through the fog � I got to play outside a whole lot, we had some great food and I left feeling rejuvenated. Sure, I missed The Sopranos but it�s not like it won�t be repeated seventeen times this week.

Apparently, though, rejuvenation can be kind of short-lived. Not that I feel bad today, precisely, but�well, I am still feeling a little blue and I�m still obsessing over the HD drama from last week. So not good and I don�t know what the fuck is wrong with me. I don�t understand why this is such a big deal and I can�t just shrug it off and move on. This is not at all like me.

~~~

Politics:

Yeah, so a lot has been going on in Spain and whatnot and I haven�t written about it. I just haven�t had the emotional energy, frankly. I am of course very sad for the Spanish people and don�t blame them for giving their leader the boot in favor of a �regime change�. I will also say, though�If Al Qaeda was behind the bombing of their train depots, I don�t understand why. Yes, Spain was in support of the Iraq War and has a few troops there, but Al Qaeda has nothing to do with that war. In fact, the leaders of Al Qaeda didn�t like Iraq and thought Saddam was just too crazy to deal with (you know you�re wacky when even Ossama is saying, �Dude�your craziness scares me�). So I don�t really get it and therefore am reserving judgment until I know more about it.

~~~

Saturday, March 20. End the Occupation March information

On Saturday, March 20, the first anniversary of the war on Iraq, hundreds of thousands of people around the world will take to the streets to demand an end to the U.S. occupation of Iraq and to the entire Bush empire-building agenda. More info at:
www.unitedforpeace.org
www.internationalanswer.org/campaigns/m20

Join us at the South Jersey Rally (on the Rutgers-Camden campus) and March across the Ben Franklin Bridge to join the Philadelphia protest at the Constitution Center. For those who do not want to walk across the bridge, alternative transportation will be available.

Where: 3rd & Pearl Streets, Camden, on the Rutgers-Camden campus (map and directions below)

When: Saturday, March 20

Schedule: noon - gathering and rally at 3rd & Pearl
1-1:30 - begin March across bridge
2:30-4 - rally at 5th & Race in Philadelphia

Rutgers-Camden Map:
www.maps.rutgers.edu/maps/default.aspx?campus=3

Directions to Rutgers-Camden:
www.rutgers.edu/kiosk/directions/CMDirections.html

* * *

Later that evening, join us at the Howard Tate Concert at SJ Performing Arts Center (at Tweeter Center), benefit for Leavenhouse and North Camden Land Trust, 8 pm. Call 856-342-6633 for tickets.

~~~

Word of the Day for Monday March 15, 2004

malinger muh-LING-guhr, intransitive verb:
To feign or exaggerate illness or inability in order to avoid duty or work.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com