Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Jan. 21, 2004
post-address email eavesdrop

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
So my warm-hearted sister, Barbara, is volunteering at a shelter run by local Catholic churches. Her first night as a volunteer was last night. That�s the background for the below email eavesdrop.

I am, of course, watching the all time best show ever, America�s Next Top Model and feel quite remiss in not having written about it, yet. But, you know, a work of art such as this television show requires more of my attention that I have time to spare right now. Rest assured, though, I will get to it.

Have a great day, ya�ll!

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Wednesday, January 21, 2004 9:32 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: National Geographic Photo of the Day


It went great last night. I really enjoyed it other than, of course, there were some heartbreaking moments. Everyone was really nice and very respectful. All kinds of people. Some were just joking and flirting with me and some were obviously just distraut (sic) that they had to be there. Very emasculating for some, as you can imagine. There were some women and 3 kids. That was really hard, but the kids just eat there and find clothes. They get motel vouchers and get to stay in a motel. You can't believe the number of volunteers! Just wonderful. The homeless get bused in, can take showers and get clothes. That's what I did, help with the clothes. They have dinner, watch tv and get bunks and blankets to sleep there. Then I understand, in the morning, they get breakfast and then are bused back to where they were picked up. Glendora does this for January and then La Puente and some other city do it for a month each. So it lasts through March. Very nice. Some of these people actually have jobs and just can't afford to live anywhere. Tragic. Very sobering to see all this first hand. I'm going back tomorrow and next Tuesday.

Cathy and I should be coming together to the party. I hope to meet her at the 57 and she will drive from there. If Arnett needs the car, I'm assuming she will offer to pick me up, but who knows? Like I told you, she has informed me that she wants to leave your place by 11:00 at the latest. It will actually probably be ok cuz I'm sure I will be tired.

And yes, I really do feel better today. Thanks for asking. How are you feeling?

Have a good one.
b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Wednesday, January 21, 2004 10:27 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: National Geographic Photo of the Day


Well, I�m glad you�re coming to the party anyway. :)

Speaking of the homeless, Long Beach seems to be flooded with them lately. I don�t know if they�ve commuted in because its warmer here than other parts of the state and nation or what the deal is, but I see a whole lot more of them in the park in the mornings than I used to. We always have a lot of homeless because we have shelters and, you know, we are the second largest city in the region, but there just seem to be a lot more lately.

I�m glad you had a positive experience with this. It is very cool that they offer these services. Nice to know people�s church offerings are doing some good and not just paying for Cardinal Mahoney�s personal helicopter. :)

I�m feeling a bit better today. I got a full night�s sleep last night, which helps immensely. Plus, in spite of all of yesterday�s baloney I got a lot of work done, which also helps me feel a lot better. Of course, I am still buried by items overflowing from my In Box, but it�s getting better�

I had a piece of Chocolate Mousse Pie for breakfast. I bought it the other night, for dessert, and then ended up not eating it.

Oink, Oink.

Hey, did you happen to see Howard Dean on the news last night or this morning? He had a rally at which some people were protesting and waiving Confederate Flags (remember his ill-worded remarks about courting Southerners?) and he�started singing the National Anthem. While at the podium. It was a very weird moment.

I think he�s losing it. He doesn�t seem to thrive under pressure, that�s for damn sure. Now THERE�S a great trait in a President!

Wes Clark was on the Today show this morning, though, and sounded great. I like him more now than I used to, but I�m sure that�s only because he�s being coached by the Clintons. I still don�t much trust him. But at this point, I like him more than Howard Dean.

I really wish someone would at least have Dennis as their running mate. He could do so many great things from that position. Plus, I�d really love to see him take on Dick Cheney in a VP Debate! Actually, I can�t wait for those damn debates all the way around�I wonder if Cheney will actually participate in one. Because, really, whoever takes him on could tear him apart. He may not be as dumb as Dubya, but he is the one behind a whole lot of the evil things they are doing. Well, plus, there�s the whole getting oil contracts (and now space contracts, too?) for his buddies at Halliburton thing�

I didn�t watch the State of the Union address. I tried, but I just can�t listen to George without practically blowing a major artery. Within like 30 seconds I was yelling at the t.v. screen. So I watched cartoons until it was over and then deftly avoided the commentary for the rest of the night.

God Bless Cable.

Regards,
Karen

~~~

BUSH TALKS JOB TRAINING IN ADDRESS, BUT CUTS FUNDS

President Bush is visiting Ohio today to trumpet a $500 million job training/education proposal announced in his State of the Union address. But the president has recently proposed to cut almost $700 million out of the same job training and education programs he is now touting.

As part of his new proposal, Bush said last night "I propose increasing our support for America's fine community colleges." Last year, however, the president sought to cut $230 million out of vocational/community college education, along with "eliminating funding for technical education." When lawmakers tried to restore the cuts in April, Bush was adamant that the cuts be preserved, and his allies in the Senate voted down the funding. The president also recently eliminated all $225 million in funding for youth job training grants.

The other key piece of Bush's proposal involves college funding. The president said last night, "I propose larger Pell grants for students." But he did not mention his recent decision to "cut the Pell Grant program by $270 million" - a move his own Education Department admits will cut off 84,000 students, and reduce grants for "an additional one million students."

Read the Mis-Lead

~~~

Word of the Day for Wednesday January 21, 2004:

pantheon PAN-thee-on; -uhn, noun:
1. A temple dedicated to all the gods; especially (capitalized), the building so called at Rome.
2. The collective gods of a people; as, a goddess of the Greek pantheon.
3. A public building commemorating and dedicated to the famous dead of a nation.
4. A group of highly esteemed persons.

~~~

To read a writer is for me not merely to get an idea of what he says, but to go off with him and travel in his company. --Andr� Gide



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com