Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, Dec. 02, 2004
these pretzels are making me thirsty

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
I was going to watch Psycho last night. It was on Turner Classic Movies at 9:15pm. While I have of course seen this film before, I love it and actually haven�t seen it all the way through, from beginning to end, in many years. I was looking forward to this.

So I lay down, under my now-defunct electric blanket, at 9:15pm, turned to the proper channel and...pert-near promptly fell asleep. I barely made it through to the shower scene and frankly, I think the only reason I made it that far is that John called and talked to me for fifteen minutes or so. Which means I didn�t really see those fifteen minutes of the movie, either.

I woke up as Martin Balsam was falling down the stairs...and fell asleep again until I heard Vera Miles screaming upon finding Norman�s very skinny mother in the fruit cellar.

Great movie.

I was able to stay awake, though, through America�s Next Top Model.

Now, long time readers of this journal may have noted that my usual, episode-by-episode critique of this most-fabulous show has been conspicuously absent this season. Well, while I have been watching every episode, all I can say at this point is: Meh.

I just don�t care. I don�t care about any of these gals. There are a lot of lovely ladies on the show, to be sure. Some of them are seemingly �nicer� than others. Some of them have formed unusual attachments to one another and/or cried over mysteriously emotional happenings. But I don�t like any of them all that much. There has been much drama, what with the eating disorders and the blindness and the �don�t touch my carb-free brownies with your knife ever again!� While there is also much cattiness to be had this season and in fact probably more so than in seasons past as it is emanating from almost every one of them bitches�I don�t DISlike any of them all that much either.

I just don�t care.

And it�s very sad. It�s like that second season of Bossom Buddies where you were like, �What the fuck happened here? This was such a funny show last year!�

Hopefully, next year�s crop of hopefuls will have more personality�or not as much personality, maybe. But I doubt it. It never fails with these reality shows � people watch the show and know what it�s about; they know to put on an act and play a part, in order to get more air time. And the casting folks have to cast more �different� types of people and reflect a �broad� population and so end up casting caricatures of real people. These shows are only good at the very beginning, when the people involved are clueless and therefore much more real and the casting magic happens organically.

Before I go, I wanted to note that I had a dream this morning (while I was trying for an hour not to have to leave my warm bed) that I was going blind. Yeah-yeah, no big deal, funny dreams, ha-ha...except that I really am afraid I am doing damage to my eyes by wearing my contacts all the time since I broke my glasses like two years ago and am too cheap to go buy another pair.

I am going to the eye doctor in January, though. And am going to talk to them about Laser Surgery.

And with that insightful and intelligent entry now behind me, I bring you another email eavesdrop, because I am too busy to write all of this stuff out again, but want it for the record.

Hasta, kids!

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, December 02, 2004 10:12 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: My Boss

The Little Big Man can't say the word "solar". I was just in his office and he kept saying things like "sole-ore" and "so-lair" over and over again, trying to get it right.

I know I can't say "rural," but witnessing this was still the funniest thing ever!

He's getting solar panels for their pool, apparently.

So anyway, he just called me and says: "Come here, I need you to forge someone's signature!"

BN forgot to sign some paper she was supposed to sign for this "sole-ore" thing they're doing and she's not in today. Obviously, I didn't do it. I can barely write my own name.*

I�m doing my first official analysis today...eeek!!!

Regards,

Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Thursday, December 02, 2004 10:17 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: my boss

I'm a really good forger! I do it sometimes for patients.

Alisa can't say alot of vowels properly. She's pretty funny too. That's a good one and it's neat that they are doing solar panels. :)

Best of luck with the analysis! I'm sure you will do it perfectly.

Are you ready for Saturday [yard sale]?

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, December 02, 2004 10:40 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: My Boss

I'm ready so long as my computer chair will fit in my car. John thinks it will and told me how to move my seats and whatnot to make it happen. I also have to make sure I remember to take my microwave over to Linda's. I keep fearing I'll forget it, cuz it's in my kitchen and out of sight. I may take those things over on Friday night. My car is too small to fit everything at once.

I guess I'll sell my microwave for $20. It seems like it should be worth more than that, but people can get a microwave for $35 these days. Not one quite this nice, of course, but still�I want it to sell.

By the way - I am going to be working off-and-on, during the yard sale. Since my laptop wouldn't work last Saturday, I had to call the LBM and ask him to work, so now I have to work on his day - which is Saturday. It won't be that big of a deal - just kind of inconvenient. I figure I'll set up the laptop inside and just run in every half an hour or so to check the orders.

I forgot to tell you - I talked to Dee yesterday. She called me from S. Carolina. I talked to her briefly today, too, but I had to hang up. We're supposed to see each other tonight anyway. We're walking with Jennifer. She didn't have a very good time in Germany, but it sounds like it was the people she was with. She said the country itself is beautiful. Her friend ran her ragged, even though Dee told her specifically she wanted to rest and didn't need to go see a lot of things (and her friend is eight months pregnant!) and her friend's 2-year-old kid was driving her nuts. I felt bad for her, because she didn't even want to go in the first place. She was exhausted and out of sorts and felt like calling her friend and telling her she couldn't come. But she knew her friend would be very bummed, so she went anyway and had a lousy time. Plus, she and her dude have decided not to pursue their relationship because the distance is just too hard for them to deal with. So now she's all blue about that, too.

I got some slippers from Avon that I just LOVE! They are fake-sheep wool inside and suede on the outside. My heel is only partially covered, so my feet don't get TOO hot, but those slippers have been a life-saver lately, boy howdy! My apartment is SOOOOOOOO COLD! I guess I'm gonna have to break down and call the landlord - especially now that my electric blanket is on the fritz. I keep waiting for it to get warmer and it's just...not...happening. I'm OK when I'm in bed (and since the little wall-heater is in the living room, it wouldn't really heat up my bedroom anyway) but when I'm in the living room watching tv I FREEZE without the electric blanket. You wouldn't think it would be so dang cold in Southern California!

John invited me to go to his work's Christmas dinner with him. Apparently, his boss' wife wants to meet me. Well, his dinner is on Dec. 18 which is when Larry and Peg are going to be here. So now I have to figure out what I'm gonna do. On the one hand, I feel obligated to see the family, but I will get to see them in May and maybe even for Katie's wedding in April. On the flip side, John has never asked me to do something like this with him and I'd feel bad not going...not that he feels bad about not going to MY party with ME, but since I never expected him to want to go I don't really care. Plus, I'll have more fun without him at something like that.

Anyway...guess I'll get back to work.

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Thursday, December 02, 2004 10:48 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: my boss

Katie's wedding is May 1. :)

Do what you want. Life is short. :)

I'm thinking about my wedding big time cuz I just sent June a really neat card with the Pecos wedding site on it. I also printed some other pictures for her and sent those in the card. I'm trying to cheer her up cuz she's really bored and bummed. She will have another cardiac test Dec. 27 and then see the Dr. Jan. 12. Nothing until then. She's fed up.

I know, it's hard to ask for much on some things we want to sell. Arnett wants $50. for his bike but I just don't know if he can get it.

See ya!
b


*I have notoriously bad handwriting, which few people can make heads or tails out of and which often makes people break in to hysterical laughter when they try.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com