Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Aug. 04, 2004
Quest for Fun

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
So The Little Big Man is PISSED OFF right now. See, there is this gal here who reports to him directly (she doesn't report to me - she works in something called programs, which isn't my thang, but for some reason was put under LBM�s wing). She comes in late ALL the time. I mean late - like she gets here at 9:30 almost all the time, and very often later. She is hourly, so she has to stay late to make up for it (although when I review their time cards I notice she often does not work 8 hours every day), but still...I don't know if she is just not a morning person, if she�s busy smoking the evil weed all morning or what the circumstances are. Because she doesn't report to me, I've never asked the LBM about it - it's his business what he wants to let people get away with ya know? And he is very lenient with this sort of stuff (hell, he'd have to be - he is quite a culprit himself!), which means people take total advantage of him.

Anyway, we had this big meeting about programs set up for 10:00 this morning. She had to be here for it. The LBM had a conference room full of like 15 people (including me) and she is not here yet. It�s now 10:15.

I was put in the mind of the cartoons where a character eats something hot and smoke starts blowing out of their ears and their face turns red and train whistles sound while the top of their head blows off.

He is so much like me in a lot of ways. That is totally something that would happen to me - you're nice about stuff and lenient and "so long as they get their work done, it's all good" and people totally take advantage. And then you get PISSED.

~~~

So many social activities on the horizon and I can�t commit to any of them just yet.

I am doing an extra training walk tonight, but that hardly counts.

I just found out that the Satellite Dogs are playing Thursday night at the Liquid Lounge. Now, I said a few months back that I wasn�t going to see them anymore, and most likely I won�t. However�I have been itching to go out, in a major way. It seems like forever since I�ve just gone out to a bar and knocked back a few. Hell, I haven�t even had an alcoholic beverage in�I don�t know how long. Weeks, anyway. I was just thinking last night, in fact, about how I�ve lost the fun in my life. I want the fun back! I�ve always had so much fun in my life, done so many fun things. Where us that fun lately?

I want the fun!!!

So anyway, in the Quest for Fun, I may go to the Liquid Lounge tomorrow�but probably not, because the truth is I will probably just end up with my feelings hurt and bummed because I can�t talk to Original Mike because his stupid bitch�oops, I mean girlfriend will be there. It really bothers me that we used to be so very close and now we can barely speak to one another. It bothers me every time I see him. And it doesn�t seem to matter to him and I�m also fairly certain that nobody notices whether I�m at their gigs or not.

So what�s the point, really?

Besides, I have a training walk tomorrow night. I probably won�t feel up to it after that. Once I get home and showered and all comfortable at home, it�s very hard for me to get up the gumption to put makeup on, do my hair and hit the town.

Good God, I�m old.

Saturday morning I have another training walk, of course. This is our last one at twelve miles � next week, it will be fifteen. I was also just invited to a get-together at Panama Joes that night. Here�s my problem: I have no idea, yet, if John is coming down. If he�s coming, he will NOT want to go hang out at Panama Joe�s for the night. He may go for dinner, but even then I�m sure he�d prefer it if it were just the two of us (John is very shy). And he most definitely won�t want to hang out at the bar for the rest of the night, or even a portion thereof.

Now yes, I could go without him. However, I am already going on a hike with the Sierra Club on Sunday afternoon and he is not included in that excursion (it�s a singles group�but also, he won�t have the time to go before he has to leave). We�re hiking to the Hollywood Sign, by the way � a hike that, despite having lived in one suburb of Los Angeles or another for over thirty years, I have never been on.

What to do�?

Hopefully, John will know by tonight whether or not he�s coming. I�m sure he will � because I have an alternate social-activity option. He only doesn�t come down when I have nothing to do and little money.

Have I mentioned that I am finally getting blinds in my bedroom this week (hopefully today)? When I got home from work Monday, Darla was showing my old apartment to prospective new tenants (*sob*). The bathroom of the old Rad Pad has a fire escape out its window. Well, my front door is on the opposite side of a little courtyard from that fire escape. So she had the window open and yelled down to me that they had ordered new blinds for me and they were in.

I have mentioned here before that Barbara, Linda, Carla, Amy and I are going to have a Gals� Day at the Spa next month. Well, lately I have been feeling terribly guilty for not inviting Sondra. Barbara feels bad about it, too. So I�m mulling it over. As I said to Barbara this morning: �I'll think about it some more. I have time before we go to Mom's [on Aug. 15].

I'm sure she'd be fine, if she ended up going (which I'm sure she wouldn't anyway, because of the cost and who knows if she�ll have to work?), but you just never know. If she has a couple of drinks, especially (and you know she will, if she can). And I swore I wouldn't do stuff just for her - that I'd protect my feelings first from now on.

So we'll see...�

Oh and I decided I am joining a gym. This isn�t really part of the Quest for Fun, but it may aid said Quest in an off-handed way. See, I again am not feeling very comfortable in my skin.

Ooh�shocker.

~~~

Word of the Day for Wednesday August 4, 2004

conflate kuhn-FLAYT, transitive verb:

1. To bring together; to fuse together; to join or meld.

2. To combine (as two readings of a text) into one whole.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com