Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
on Ronnie and the Lakers

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
So all over the news for the past two days, I�ve heard how this is supposed to be a time of mourning over the loss of Ronald Reagan.

I�m sure if you are at all familiar with my political and social opinions, you can guess what my personal views of Ronald Reagan as President were/are (I'll save ya'll from those, out of respect). All of that aside, I don�t understand that position � that we are mourning his loss.

Why?

Yes, I�m sure his family and friends are mourning his loss for very personal reasons, but really why should anybody? The man lived a very long life, full of accomplishment. I think a better thing to do would be to celebrate that life and those accomplishments.

Plus, let�s face it � he�s had Alzheimer�s for at least a decade and his own wife admitted several months ago that he was pretty much lost to her. I can�t even imagine how awful it is to deal with that disease. I would think that would be the most horrible disease imaginable. Other illnesses are awful, sure � but with the majority of them you at least retain your mind, your imagination, your memories. With Alzheimer�s, you lose even those. Absolutely horrific. Isn�t it better not to have to deal with that anymore? In truth, I would think his family and friends started mourning his loss years ago.

The man was 93 years old. Let him move on and let�s celebrate a life well-lived.

Well...you know...You folks can celebrate it. I'll be spending this week thankful that I have dozens of movie channels included in my cable package.

As far as the Lakers go�well, here is how I put it in an email to Barbara this morning:

�I was so frustrated with that Lakers game! I was yelling at the t.v. and stuff. I know that Detroit was playing great defense, but the Lakers weren�t helping them out by continually walking the damn ball up the court. When you give them that much time to set up their defense, of course you�re gonna get screwed! I kept yelling �Move the damn ball!! Move, Move, MOVE!!!!!� And yes, it wasn�t great that the only people who scored were Shaq and Kobe. And I thought the same thing about Shaq�s freethrows [that when he�s making them, as he was yesterday, they should win the game]. I just hope he remembers what it was he was doing, so he can keep doing it�not that I�m holding my breath or anything.

�It was just a horrible game.

�The only thing that scares me is that after the next game we have to go back to Detroit for three games straight. I ASSUME the Lakers will adjust and play well enough to win one or two of those games�

�I think they just like to make us all sweat it out. Nothing�s worth getting if it comes easily, right?

�At least that�s how Karl [Malone]�s mom would see it, apparently. Did you tear up when they showed that halftime bit about Karl and his mommy? I sure did, boy howdy!�

In other news�I think I�m getting sick. I�ve been fighting a sore throat and headache since Friday. This does not make me happy. Neither does the fact that I have a huge zit on my chin.

What does make me happy is that I think they are starting to repeat Arrested Development on Sunday nights, from Episode One. Last night they showed the season finale (which I tuned in to, because the Lakers were making me nauseous by that point) and then showed Episode One at 9:30pm. I missed a lot of this fabulous show the first time around and now that The Sopranos is over for the season, I can finally watch it. That is, assuming it won�t now interfere with Six Feet Under which premiers in a couple of weeks�

I so need Tivo.

Or, you know�interests outside of television; but how likely is that?

Saturday morning, Cathy and Barbara met me at the Rad Pad at about 6:30am. We then met the one person from my training walks (Dyasha) who actually wanted to get up that early on a Saturday and we all walked for 7.5 � 8 miles. It was fabulous! I was capooped, of course, because I haven�t walked quite that far for a while (my training walks are usually 6 miles, 5 on the weekends when I walk with John), but it was still fabulous. The weather was perfect to walk in, too � a little foggy and cool, but not cold. I didn�t do much else on Saturday, aside from walk up to Linda�s to get more chicken tacos and hot salsa.

We saw them starting to set up for Mtv�s Beach House, part of which is to take place on the part of Long Beach called the Peninsula this year. I need to find out exactly when they are filming that crap, so I can stay away from the Peninsula at that time. The beach at the Peninsula was also kind of a mess because of last week�s humongous tides. I knew we�d had huge waves that quasi-threatened homes down in like San Clemente and Newport, but Long Beach is behind breakwaters, so it never occurred to me that the tides would even be an issue. Apparently, I was wrong. The houses were all fine, but the beach was a bit of a mess.

Sunday morning, I participated in the AIDS Walk OC, which was also very cool. This walk was only a 7.5K which I think translates in to just over 5 miles, so it was a piece of cake. Afterward, they had a �fun zone� complete with food booths and games and a live band and stuff. It was fun, but I didn�t stay long as I was essentially on my own. While I walked with a team from the Outdoors Club, I didn�t really know any of the other walkers all that well. Anyway, I was home by about 1:30pm. I managed to clean my bathroom and kitchen before settling in to watch the Lakers. I consider that quite an accomplishment.

Rapidly approaching is the day when I have to move. EEK! I only have one weekend left to pack! Double-EEK!!!! I really hope Puddy...er, John comes down this weekend and that, if he does, he will help me. Even if he just helps me take trash downstairs and stuff, that would be good.

When I think about it, it doesn�t seem like I have that much stuff left to pack, but I know once I get going there will be a whole bunch of stuff I hadn�t thought about and I�ll be tearing my hair out. I am hoping that they will actually let me start moving stuff over on the 15th. That way maybe I can get my shelf paper in over the evenings of the 15th and 16th and then start moving little boxes of like bathroom and kitchen stuff that I can move by myself. I want to just take over a box and put the stuff away, then take another box and put that stuff away, etc. What I hope is that by doing this, I will have most of my stuff over there and already unpacked during the week and then John and I just have to move the furniture over that Saturday. Then I can take the 20th to clean the old apartment.

So long as the place is actually ready on the 15th, I�m sure they�d let me do that. They�re good about working with people in that way. I just have to see if the Rad Pad. Jr. will actually be ready.

And that�s all the news that�s fit to print.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com