Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Jun. 14, 2004
short update

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Hey kids!

I have time for little (not even to send an email to a certain gutter-dude, but I do have time to wish a Happy Birthday To:

Boy George, born this day in 1961
And to Marla Gibbs, born this day in 1946

~~~

email eavesdrop:

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Monday, June 14, 2004 2:50 PM
To: Karen
Subject: (no subject)


Hi-

You must be really busy so I won't call you. I wanted to tell you about this interview I saw with Ken Griffey, Jr. I guess he gets heckled alot when he is on the road. Stuff like, hey, I hope you break your leg and hey, I hope you get a concussion and hey, I hope you get disabled. You know he's been hurt alot for the last few years? Anyway, I guess the other day (I don't know what city they were in) he was really hearing it from the home town fans and his Dad finally got upset and came out of the dugout and yelled at them. Jr. was really cute talking about it (not that he isn't cute at ALL times!). Anyway, I know how you like Sr.

How was your weekend? Funeral? I had alot of fun with June and Alisa. And then on Sunday with Cathy. I spent too much money though. Of course.

I stressed soooooo much yesterday watching the Lakers that I got a migrane. I still have it! I guess it's really allergies but they started it. I felt bad for Shaq. My man. HE came to play. Oh well, you just can't win all the time. (I say this fully expecting them to win on Tuesday and Thursday and then again Sunday!)

Hope you're ok.

Love,
b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Monday, June 14, 2004 4:16 PM
To: Barbara
Subject: (no subject)


Hola!

Yes, I have been busy. The Little Big Man still isn't back and I actually got here a little late.

My weekend was OK. Sorry I didn't call you - I only remembered when it was too late on Saturday night. It was kind of a hazy weekend because I was very tired, but yet had a bunch of stuff I was trying to get done. How is June? What did you buy at the auction?

I had fun in Reno, but I didn't win anything. On Friday afternoon, I actually won back what I had lost the night before...and kept playing until I lost it all again. I had a yummy seafood lunch with the credit group, though. And everyone who worked at the Peppermill was really nice.

Reno is kind of a cool place to go. I would put the place I stayed on par with the Las Vegas Hilton, but of course it's nowhere near as expensive. Las Vegas has much more to do and see, of course, but it was still fun and not anywhere near as boring as stay, Nevada Landing or State Line. Plus, Lake Tahoe is right close by - we actually flew over it on Friday, as the sun was going down. It was gorgeous. Anyway, so it would be a cool place to stay when going to Lake Tahoe because it's not as expensive and yet there is plenty to do as far as gambling goes. I guess the old part of Reno is pretty run down these days, but I didn't go there.

That's a cute story about Ken Griffey. :) The Lakers really stressed me out, too. If anyone can still win, it's them, but I'm not holding my breath or anything. I wouldn't mind too much if Detroit wins. I always like an underdog, plus I really like Larry Brown. But of course, I'd still rather it be the Lakers.

Six Feet Under premiered last night. Oh and I've been meaning to tell you - that show I was saying is so funny - Arrested Development - they started showing it in repeats on FOX on Sunday nights. You should watch it.

Talk to ya later!

Regards,
Karen

~~~

Politics:

"Clear Skies" Allows More Deaths Than Any Other Air Pollution Plan

Pollution caused by coal-burning power plants causes 24,000 premature deaths in the U.S. each year, according to a new analysis of government data released Wednesday. And while the Bush administration's Clear Skies proposal will help alleviate that problem, it will save fewer lives than any other plan under consideration � including simply retaining the laws already on the books, the analysis found.

"The Bush administration is pretending their initiative would be progress, but our report shows that just carrying out the laws on the book saves 4,000 more lives than Clear Skies," said Angela Ledford, Director of Clear the Air, which released the report during a telephone press conference yesterday.

Dirty Air, Dirty Power: Mortality and Health Damage Due to Air Pollution from Power Plants reveals for the first time how many heart attacks and lung cancer deaths are caused by power plant pollution. It compares the projected live-saving effectiveness of current pollution control laws with several plans now before Congress.

According to the report, fine particle pollution from power plants shortens the lives of 24,000 Americans each year, including 2,800 from lung cancer. Those lives are shortened by an average of 14 years, the data showed.

Power-plant pollution is also responsible for 38,200 non-fatal heart attacks each year, according to the analysis, which used the same EPA data and methodology employed to develop the administration's Clear Skies plan. The report also found that 90 percent of deaths due to fine particle pollution could be avoided using currently available technology.

"We can eliminate the risk of premature death from power plant pollution if we have the political will to do so," said Conrad Schneider, senior policy advisor for Clear the Air.

According to the report, a bill sponsored by Sen. James Jeffords (I-VT) would do the most to clean up air pollution caused by coal-fired power plants. The Jeffords bill would save 8,000 more lives per year than the Bush administration's so-called Clear Skies proposal.

Ledford pointed out that President Bush, prior to his election, promised to clean up power plant pollution. Instead, almost immediately after being sworn in, he reneged on a promise to require mandatory reductions in carbon dioxide.

The Bush administration has also delayed the deadlines for reducing ozone smog; delayed deadlines for removing fine particles from the air; delayed action to reduce haze in national parks; and delayed by more than 10 years reductions in toxic mercury emissions from power plants, the report found.

Details regarding how Clear Skies and competing plans in Congress stack up against current law � as well as state-by-state health impacts from coal-fired power plants � can be found in the report and on Clear the Air's interactive web site at www.cleartheair.org.

~~~

Economic Think Tank Report Calls For Legalizing And Taxing Marijuana

Vancouver, British Columbia: Marijuana cultivation and use in Canada is so widespread that Parliament ought to tax and regulate it like any other legal product, concludes a study released Wednesday by The Fraser Institute, an independent economic think-tank in Vancouver.

The study's author - Stephen Easton, an economics professor at Simon Fraser University - estimates that taxing marijuana would generate an additional $2 billion per year in federal revenues. "Marijuana is too easily produced and exported to be controlled with the tools available to law enforcement in a free society," he writes. "The return on investment is sufficiently great so that for each marijuana growing operation demolished, another takes its place. ... As a consequence, the broader social question becomes less about whether we approve or disapprove of local [marijuana] production, but rather who shall enjoy the spoils. As it stands now, growers and distributors pay some of the costs and reap all of the benefits of the multi-billion dollar marijuana industry, while the non-marijuana smoking taxpayer sees only the costs."

The study estimates that there are as many as 17,500 marijuana grow operations in British Columbia alone. "Unless we wish to continue the transfer of these billions from this lucrative endeavor to organized crime, the current policy of prohibition should be changed," Easton concluded. "Not only would we deprive some very unsavory groups of a profound source of easy money, but also resources currently spent on marijuana enforcement would be available for other activities."

For more information, please contact Allen St. Pierre, Executive Director of the NORML Foundation, at (202) 483-5500. Full text of the study is available online at: http://www.fraserinstitute.ca/admin/books/files/Marijuana.pdf



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com