Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Jul. 21, 2004
sweet, holy jesus, Batman

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Happy Birthday To: Don Knotts, born this day in 1924

~~~

So listen�did you happen to watch Six Feet Under Sunday night? If not, I don�t want to ruin it for you, but I just gotta say:

Sweet, holy Jesus, Batman!

That was some scary shit.

But if they make David a crack-head now I will just get really irritated. I don�t want this show to turn down the �What horrible thing can we do to our characters now?� path that so many good shows have gone down before it. St. Elsewhere, with it�s wife-dieing, prison-anal-raping, surgeon-punching-the-wall-and-losing-use-of-his-hands storylines; E.R. with it�s suicidal, child-stealing, lawsuit-filing, stabbing-in-the-exam-room, brain-tumor-getting excesses; and so many others. Six feet Under is getting to be a bit too overly-weird and depressing rather than just quirky and surreal.

~~~

My �friends� the Satellite Dogs now have a web page.

~~~

Email Eavesdrop:

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Wednesday, July 21, 2004 9:21 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: (no subject)

Good to hear from you. Thought I was gonna have to send out the search and rescue dogs.

I will go to the auction in October, so I'll let you know when it is. It's basically just fun but it is nice to have a little $ in case you run into something you want. On the other hand, if you have money, you're more likely to spend it on something you think is a great deal and then you go....... what the heck am I going to do with this now? That's how I got those dishes. Oh well, Arnett just loves the little cast iron skillets I got him. And I love my marshmellow tin.

I was wondering if you were walking that far again this week. That's great! I guess you have to keep it up or you will be in trouble come October. I guess I'll come walk with you sometime after then so that you won't need to go so far. A nice walk and breakfast some day. Is your company going to donate big again this year?

Have a good one.
b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Wednesday, July 21, 2004 9:51 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: (no subject)

Yeah, I'll be doing the 12 mile walk the next two Saturdays. Then I'm going to play it by ear. I am finding a new route that includes more hills (I'm gonna do that walk each Tuesday going forward) so I may decide to incorporate that walk on some weekends, too. I dunno. I will need to add on some miles after a couple of weeks, though, and in September I am going to do long ones on both Saturday and Sunday.

This thing is a lot of work and I'd better get enough money in donations so I can do it, boy howdy! I haven't heard anything from the owners as far as another large donation, so keep your fingers crossed. A few people here at work have donated, which is very cool.

The good thing is, I should be in better shape to handle it this year. I'm being better about my training, that's for sure. I knew leading the walks would help in in that way - when I know others are depending on me, it's easier to be more disciplined. :) . . .

It is time-consuming and that may start to bother me even more now that I have to be so diligent about my weekend walks. Sure, John and I walk when we're together, but we usually only walk five miles. I need to do more than that now and I don't see John doing it with me since he doesn't have to. Anyway, so my walks will obviously cut down on my John-time. It turned out well last Saturday, though, because John got to just go back to sleep after I left and by the time I got home he was up and had taken a shower.

Do you know what I did Monday night? I had a calzone - with sausage in it! I completely forgot that I gave up red meat!!!!

Now I know how Catholics feel when they accidentally have meat on Fridays.

Regards,
Karen

~~~

From the Weekly Grist:

REFINER-EASE
EPA Goes Easy on Oil Refineries

The Fort Worth Star-Telegram is running an investigatory series (remember investigatory journalism?) on the EPA and its relationship to the nation's 145 oil refineries. During the Bush administration, there's been a precipitous drop in clean-air enforcement actions against refineries, which are some of the nation's top polluters. They spew a lethal cocktail of chemicals with disastrous respiratory and cardiovascular consequences, often in predominately poor areas.

Under the guise of taking a less "adversarial" approach, the EPA has reduced the number of enforcement personnel, and comprehensive clean-air inspections are down 52 percent since 2001. So-called "fugitive" emissions -- resulting from leaks, equipment breakdowns, or accidents -- are virtually unregulated and have been increasing steadily at the few refineries that have been tested. In many cases, refineries self-report their emissions, with reams of data that understaffed agencies rarely have time to analyze. It's a grim but important set of stories -- read them.

straight to the source: Star-Telegram, Jeff Claassen, Scott Streater, and Seth Borenstein, 18 Jul 2004

straight to the source: Star-Telegram, Jeff Claassen, 18 Jul 2004

straight to the source: Star-Telegram, Scott Streater and Jeff Claassen, 19 Jul 2004

*

COOL LIKE THAT
Umbra Kicks Off Keeping-Cool Series

Over the next fortnight (don't you love the word "fortnight"?), our inimitable research guru Umbra will be tackling a subject that's on many folks' minds these hot, sweaty, drought-y, global-warmed days: staying cool. This week, she tackles the biggie: Is there some alternative to money- and energy-sucking air conditioners? Can you stay cool and still be eco-cool? (Hint: yes.) Find out how this week in Ask Umbra -- only on the Grist Magazine website.

only in Grist: The first of a four-part series on staying cool -- in Ask Umbra

~~~

Word of the Day for Wednesday July 21, 2004

draconian dray-KOHN-ee-uhn; druh-, adjective:
1. Pertaining to Draco, a lawgiver of Athens, 621 B.C.
2. Excessively harsh; severe.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com