Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Sept. 29, 2004
technologically illterate

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Hey, hey - it�s pay day!

That means I made two political contributions today (just under the Sept. 30 end-of-quarter fundraising deadline. *Whew*) � one to Barbara Boxer�s Senate campaign in my fair state of California and one to the Kerry/Edwards Presidential campaign. I also made one to Environment2004.

I wish I had more to give, but sadly I also have to pay rent this week.

And, you know - pay bills.

WHY am I still so poor, even after moving in to a cracker-box-sized apartment?

*

I am simply exhausted today. Today? Hell, I�ve been tired for weeks.

And here's some insight for ya: �exhausted� is one of those words that, no matter how many times I write it, I can never remember how to spell properly.

Thank God for Spell Check is all I can say.

Also thank God for this wonderful, beautiful weather we�ve been having �round these parts lately. It has been significantly cooler than usual for this time of year and I am lovin� every minute of it! It�s been in the 70�s for over a week. We�ve had fog here at the beach in the mornings, but it clears and makes for sunny, but not hot, days. And there has been a fairly steady, cool breeze. Absolutely gorgeous. The ocean this morning looked lovely enough to inspire tears...or at least a schmaltzy poem or two.

I only pray the nice weather will last through the 3 Day.

So I bought a Laptop for Amy today, through work. I bought her a Compaq Presario R3240US (with an extra 12 cell battery and an HP Expansion Base). I hope it�s good because frankly I know very little about such things.

Speaking of which...my Gold Membership here at Diaryland is about to expire. As you may know, I have no plans to renew my membership because Andrew has pissed me right the hell off by failing repeatedly to answer some questions I have had, most especially my question about some entries which were somehow lost in the archiving process. While I fully admit that I am pert-near illiterate when it comes to computer-matters and perhaps my questions were basic ones that he laughed at upon reading � well, I paid him for the membership, as well as for banner ads, so I would think he could take two minutes out of his precious day to answer my freakin� questions instead of just ignoring them.

Can you tell that I am still very miffed about this?

Anyway, my point is that I will soon be using a different service. It�s a good thing, really, because I want to have one central place for all of my writing and I want to easily be able to separate the political journal stuff from the personal journal stuff, while making it easy for readers to switch back and forth and find what they want to read. That way, those of you who don�t care to read about my hatred for the Bush Administration or why I think Marijuana should be legal can just skip all of that and get right to the sexy bits* and visa-versa.

The thing is? I have no idea how to do this. Not only do I have no idea how to create a decent layout � I don�t even know where to begin the entire process. I use Blogger for some of my writing projects, but that�s not what I�m looking for, either. I want one web page, with many sections or sub-pages set up for the different sides of me and my writing.

What do I do, here? Can I use Blogger in a different way than my limited brain cells have knowledge of? And can I educate myself on these matters in a short period of time?

I am so behind the times. In many areas. Usually, I consider my halting at the doorway of technological innovation to be a bit of charming quirkiness, but at times like these it really gets in my way.

Not to mention the fact that I work for a company which distributes computers and electronics and I am fairly illiterate in these areas. Luckily, I don�t need to know anything about such things in order to be a Credit Manager, but still...

In other news - I have this Dwight Yokam song, Fare to Midland on my mind.

Just thought I�d share.

At least it�s a great song and preferable to having, say, I Touch Myself running through my head.

Later...

Wowee. It is now about 3:30pm and I must say � this has been one stressful month-end, boy howdy!

The good news is that sometimes being a bitch pays off. I got one of our customers to pay us $600,000 in past due invoices (it's being sent over-night) that they weren�t going to pay until next week.

Heh-heh.

Don�t mess with the ikss, folks.

Hasta!

*I know, I know. What sexy bits?

~~~

Word of the Day for Wednesday September 29, 2004

harangue huh-RANG, noun:
1. A speech addressed to a large public assembly.
2. A noisy or pompous speech; a rant.

transitive verb:
To deliver a harangue to; to address by a harangue.

intransitive verb:
To make a harangue; to declaim.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com