Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Friday, Aug. 13, 2004
to skort or not to skort

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
I really hate skorts. I mean, make up your mind. Do you want to be shorts or do you want to be a skirt?

I am doing something at work right now that I don't want to do. It involves math and auditing. 'Nuf said.

I didn't make my training walk last night, either. I had to work late, trying to find $18,000 which is missing from an online auctions account we use to liquidate some of our product. I still haven't found it and have to set up a meeting with everyone involved.

You know, because I'm not involved with enough meetings.

Anyway, after work I ended up going to Trader Joes. I haven�t been in the mood to eat for the past few days, and I wasn't last night. Oh, I�ve been hungry; but nothing sounds appetizing (I know � pretty freakin� cool, huh?). On the way home from work, I was running thru all of my options and just couldn't come up with anything (except PF Changs, but I didn't want to go there by myself...don't think I didn't think about it, though). Aside from just needing to refill my pantry, Trader Joes usually has some good, easy little meals ready - salads or chicken meals or what have you. I swear I stood in front of that section for half an hour. Nothing spoke to me. You know how you aren't supposed to go to the store hungry? Well, I had eaten exactly one 6� Subway Chicken sammich all day (that I had to force myself to eat), some seven hours before I hit the store. I was hungry, boy howdy; but nothing sounded good to eat! I bought some things I needed, but I spent most if my money on wine. I did buy these little cheese pizzas with wheat crust and had one for dinner. Quite yummy (although they'd be better cooked in an actual oven, rather than the micro. but my oven hasn't been fixed yet).

Today I had carrots for breakfast. I had a strawberry/banana Trader Joes Smoothie at home, too. I still don't really seem to be in the mood to eat, though. I had to force myself to bring these carrots to work. I guess I shouldn't argue with this mood I am in, but it's...weird. I�m not anywhere near to being on my period, which is usually the only time I don�t want to eat. I even had Ben and Jerry's ice cream in my house last night and I had ONE SPOON FULL.

What the fuck is that all about?

Anyway, I was hoping to make it out to YE Auld Dubliner to meet in person one of my favorite diarists (OK, and to knock back a drink or two), but once I got home I crashed. See, another thing I�m not doing lately is sleeping much�or well�I didn�t go to sleep, but I was parked on the couch and not about to move, let along make myself purty enough to be seen in a bar. That could take freakin hours, people.*

Lastly, some t.v. notes...

is anyone watching Growing Up Gotti? If you aren�t, you should be � if only to bear witness to the hair extensions. This show is freakin� priceless, people.

I also like Family Plots.

I also have to admit to loving Things I hate About You, or at least the approximately 1 � hours of it I�ve seen (although I�ve not seen one entire show. You do the math). I especially love the recent show with the two gay guys on it � they were a hoot! And you could tell that they really loved each other, despite their horrible habits. That was nice.

Oh and a sad note: Dave Navarro did NOT win the finals of Celebrity Poker Showdown�although he did come in second place, which is still very cool. You could tell he was way bummed about it, though. He took it very seriously.

Which begs the question�when the Bravo network mucky-mucks got together to decide who to invite to participate in this tournament, whose idea was it to invite a recovering junkie? I mean, isn�t it kind of tempting fate to have someone with an addictive personality playing poker like that?

By the way�a few weeks ago John asked me why I so love to watch poker on t.v. He finds it excruciatingly boring and equates it with watching golf. What??? That�s just insane. Anyway, we were watching an episode of CPS at the time. My reply was: �Well, you know, I really love the game. Plus, the celebrity shows are cool because I usually know who they are and so I have favorites that I am rooting for.

�Plus, you know how they �dumb down� the questions for Celebrity Jeopardy? I love those shows because I actually know the answers. This is the same thing � I actually feel like I could play poker with these people!�



*Yes, I�m joking. If it really took me hours to get dressed, I would never leave my house. Speaking of which � did ya�ll see the Newlyweds where Jessica and Nick were going to the Kentucky Derby�and it took four hours for Jessica and her little friend to get dressed???!!! The hell?

It�s a good thing I never became a star. There is no freakin� way I�d waste four hours of my life in efforts to look attractive enough for the paparazzi. Were I a �star� I�d be one discussed on Fugging it Up, I feel certain.

~~~

We needed a new �report� to tell us this?

From CNN.com:

Reports: Bush tax cuts help rich

Congressional Budget Office says tax burden fell for those making $1M, increased for lower levels.

NEW YORK (Reuters) - President George W. Bush's tax cuts have transferred the federal tax burden from the richest Americans to middle-class families, with one-third of the cuts benefiting people with the top 1 percent of income, according to a government report cited in newspapers Friday.


The Congressional Budget Office report, to be released Friday, is likely to fuel the debate over the cuts between Bush and his Democratic challenger in November, Sen. John Kerry.

The report said the top 1 percent, with incomes averaging $1.2 million per year, will receive an average $78,460 tax cut this year, and have seen their share of the total tax burden fall roughly 2 percentage points to 20.1 percent, according to The New York Times.

In contrast, households in the middle 20 percent, with incomes averaging $57,000 per year, will receive an average cut of only $1,090, the newspaper said, citing the CBO report.

Taxpayers whose incomes range from $51,500 to about $75,600 saw their share of federal tax payments increase, according to CBO figures cited by The Washington Post. . .

~~~

BUSH IGNORES HIS OWN PROMISES ON WETLANDS

Last week, President Bush said he is working to "restore, improve and protect at least 3 million wetland acres over the next five years."[1] But according to a new report released today, the Bush administration has actually done the reverse by using a key court ruling to encourage a severe degradation of wetlands throughout the country.

As the Washington Post reports, the Bush administration "has allowed developers to drain thousands of acres of wetlands under a policy adopted last year." The study, which documents the administration policy, was conducted by four nonpartisan environmental watchdog groups and based on documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act. It found that the Bush administration's interpretation of a 2001 Supreme Court decision has ensured that developers are allowed to run roughshod over previous efforts to protect fragile wetlands.[2]

You can read the full report online at www.nrdc.org.

Sources:
1. "Supporting America's Farmers and Conserving America's Land" The White House, 08/04/04
2. "Report Says U.S. Is Draining Wetlands" The Washington Post, 08/12/04,

Visit www.Misleader.org for more about Bush Administration distortion.

~~~

Word of the Day for Friday August 13, 2004

presentiment prih-ZEN-tuh-muhnt, noun:
A sense that something will or is about to happen; a premonition.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com