Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004
weekend update via email eavesdrop

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Assault weapons ban to expire Monday

SAN FRANCISCO, California (AP) -- Ten years after it was born out of the carnage of three California mass shootings, the federal assault weapons ban is fading out of existence Monday.


While manufacturers look for a boom in business as people buy up previously banned weapons like AK-47s, Uzis and TEC-9s, police chiefs warn of an upsurge in crime. . .

[The law formerly] banned the sale of 19 specific semiautomatic weapons and ammunition clips of 10 rounds or more.

Former Presidents Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter and Ronald Reagan wrote to all members of the House to encourage them to pass the ban at the time.

But it was set to expire exactly 10 years later if it wasn't renewed in Congress, and President George W. Bush never pushed Congressional leaders to move the renewal legislation. . .

~~~

It�s been a while since I�ve posted an email eavesdrop and I happen to be lazy today, so here we go�

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Monday, September 13, 2004 9:52 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re:

How are you today? Did you get all your stuff moved over to Linda's? How was the party for you and Cathy?

I worked the whole weekend on baking, laundry, cleaning and making bracelets. I had to come back to work to get some rest! :)

Other than I couldn't get myself out of bed to walk this morning, I'm fine. I didn't go to sleep until like 3:30am. Sunday night stuff, ya know? How have you been sleeping?

I have decided to meet you guys in Corona on Friday [for our SPA DAY!]. The traffic on the 605 going down to Linda's will be horrible at 8:00 in the morning. I thought I would need to bring stuff down for the yard sale [Fundraiser for the Breast Cancer 3 Day, taking place Saturday] but I don't think I have more than the one car load so I can just drive down there Saturday morning. I'll plan on being there by 6:00. I'm going to get the table today at lunch.

Have a good one!
b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Monday, September 13, 2004 10:28 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re:

Hola!

I'm OK, but I'm exhausted. I have been feeling out of sorts since Thursday of last week - just no energy and I keep getting sore throats. Last night I only got about 6 hours of sleep, but I actually have been getting lots of sleep lately and sleeping soundly. I just didn't get home last night until like 11:15, then talked to John on the phone and by the time I got to bed it was after midnight.

When I got home from my 15 mile walk last night, John had left a message on my machine (at like 10:20pm), wanting to know where I was. When I called him, he was quite MAD at me! I guess he didn't understand that I was walking 15 miles last night and would be out past 10:00. The previous week I had only walked 10 miles, you know, so I was home shortly after 8:00 (we left at 5:00pm the past two Sundays, but from now on we're walking at 6:15am, as usual). He was furious that I was out so late "walking the streets of Long Beach." It didn't seem to matter to him that I was with a group of people.

I guess it's nice that he was concerned, but he is a dope. I know I told him yesterday that we were walking 15 miles and he knows I walk barely over 3 mph, so if he'd thought about it a little bit he'd have known how long I'd be out. I even went over the exact course we walk, when he asked me earlier in the day where we go.

D, Jennifer and this new lady and I went to get a bite to eat after the walk, so I as out even later than I would have been normally.

I felt bad though, because he actually waited for me to come home. He waited at my pad until about 8:00, when he finally had to leave. I thought he was leaving my house shortly after I did and thought he'd be almost home by the time I got home at 11:30. Instead, he had to stop somewhere on the road to sleep for a little while and didn't get home until 4:30am. Yikes!

We didn't take my stuff over to Linda's. John was very busy all day Saturday - he went to (his sister) Kitty's to do something for her, then went to (his son) Johnny's new apt. and didn't get home until after midnight. So when we woke up on Sunday, I gave him the option of moving my stuff that day (which would entail going out to UHaul to rent a trailer and a dolly, first) or trading vehicles with me and I could ask Linda, CJ and Amy to help me. I discussed it with Linda yesterday morning, and she said they could help me. So anyway, we decided to do that so we could rest a little on Sunday. I am driving his truck this week. I'm also hoping he'll change my oil while he has my car, because that needs to be done.

Friday night wasn't really a lot of fun. It was good to see Cathy, but there are cheaper ways to do that. The place we went was a fabulous, really beautiful, art-deco building that was built in like 1919 or something. It's right on Sunset next to The Standard Hotel.

(we interrupt this broadcast to note that Eartha Kitt just made that horrible nose-snort sound I was telling you about. Repeatedly {I have now counted five of them}. Eew!!!!)

That said...parking was $15. Every lot we found was $15-$20. Then, we got in to the place and bought two drinks - one for each of us. The total was $22! So those were the only drinks we had, of course (probably half the reason we didn't have all that much fun). We never did see anyone from the Outdoors Club. The gal that set it up was not in the place she said she would be at 9:15. We went ahead and sat down at a table inside and were almost immediately approached by a complete weirdo who called himself "Turk". He sat at our table with us for about half an hour because, as you know, I have a sign on my forehead which says: "Weirdos Welcome Here." Shortly after he mercifully left us, the waitress came over to tell us that in order to stay seated at that table, we had to spend at least $150. So we went outside and hung out on a patio by the pool. It was lovely out and they have a great view and lots of people are apparently as cheap as we are, because there were loads of folks out there, but we got bored and left by about 12:30. I had driven to Cathy's house to go down there with her, so I didn't end up getting home until about 2:30am.

The music they played was good, they had a decent-sized dance floor that wasn't overly crowded and, as I said, the place is lovely; but I wouldn't go back unless I was dating someone rich. Well...in all honesty, I would have had more fun on Friday had I been with someone other than only Cathy - you know how that is. But it was still ridiculously over-priced.

I guess that's club life in Hollywood, but I have been to many bars down there and have never had my jaw drop at the expense. Of course, when we approached the bar, I was looking for the "cheap stuff" and they didn't have any! I had Belvedere Vodka...which is usually like $7-8/drink anyway. So I guess really it only cost a few more bucks than usual, which is to be expected. It's just that we didn't have any options for cheaper drinks...well, plus the fact that we had to go outside with all of the other people who weren't prepared to spend "at least $150" on booze. And I wasn't in the mood to spend a bunch of money on booze, considering I had to drive home from Cathy's anyway and the fact that I thought I was going to rent a trailer and dolly over the weekend. AND we have our Spa Day coming up this week.

They do serve food, though, too. I assume that would have counted toward the $150.

Cathy looked good. It's evident that she's been working out. Did you know that they put a Cold Stone Creamery right next door to her gym??!! Talk about cruel...

And Eartha Kitt is still making that horrid sound repeatedly. It's really grossing me out!

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Monday, September 13, 2004 10:41 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re:

I thought it was a party someone was having at this place. I didn't realize you were going to have to PAY for the privilege. Jeepers Mike! I would have been ticked big time. I can't pay that kind of money for nothing anymore. Sorry it wasn't that fun. Did you and Cathy even have a decent conversation?

I had no idea you were calling your new woman Eartha Kitt. That's pretty funny. What in the heck is wrong with her?

Poor John. I mean about waiting for you at your house. The rest of it sounds just like Arnett. He gets really agitated when he doesn't know where I am. Remember the story about Santa Fe? I mean, he gets all mad and acts like I'm some kind of imbecile that is gonna get herself in trouble or something. And it's not for any reason but worry. It's been since my accident. He thinks he needs to watch out for me. Very nice but he just acts so crazy sometimes. I mean, I worry about him of course, but I don't act like that about it. Men!

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Monday, September 13, 2004 10:51 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re:

Well, we got in free to the place because we were on the guest list for this party, so that's something. I can only guess at what the cover charge would have been! And they all were probably somewhere - we just couldn't find 'em. I thought it was rude of the girl who initiated the whole thing NOT to be in the spot where she said she would be at 9:15, ya know? But sadly, that's the Outdoors Club for you. They're just people who decided to post stuff on the web, ya know? There's no accountability and as a member you kind of have to be flexible and not care about people being on time and stuff like that. The guy who I usually go kayaking with and who I did the AIDS Walk with (Ken) is organized and responsible, but a lot of them aren't. Cathy and I had a downright comical hike with them last year (our first hike with them). The last time I went kayaking, the gal who set it up (not Ken) put a maximum of 50 people - without checking to make sure the rental place could even handle that many people! And of course, that's how many people signed up. Plus, she then didn't set up a message board for communication, so everyone was emailing everyone else and I got like ten emails a day about this wacky kayaking trip. Then they ended up saying, "Well, some of us can go in Sunset Beach and some of us can go in Naples" without actually arranging anything properly. It was really a headache and a few of us ended up going a few hours early and not kayaking with the group. The good news is that I found out I can always get the very reasonable kayak rental price of $5 for half a day at the rental place in Sunset Beach, if I just tell them I'm a member of ODC.

It seems like people are always late for ODC events, too. Every once in a while, people will post something like: "We will leave PROMPTLY at 9:00am, so don't be late!" because they know. Even when we went to Panama Joes a few weeks ago - the guy that headed it up was like 15 minutes late. Cathy and I just got a table and ordered without him being there.

I was actually kind of glad John had that reaction, truth be told. Now maybe he'll understand why I get worried about him sometimes. He always acts like I'm a dork for worrying about him when he's like three hours later than he's supposed to be. But I did feel bad that he waited until 8:00 to leave last night.

We're kind of in a weird place right now. We had been getting along so well and the last two weeks have been...weird. We�re not fighting or anything, but it's just weird. I think he's tired, first of all, and now he has to come back down next weekend no matter what, because I have his truck. He's just always pulled in so many directions by me and his various family members and he's always trying to get so much done in a very limited amount of time. I'm sure it sucks. I won't even be around much at all next weekend, what with the yard sale and the 18-mile walk I am leading on Sunday. Maybe he can actually relax while I'm gone. Not that I'm placing any bets, mind you.

D may not be at our yard sale, after all. She may have to work Saturday (she works a LOT of overtime). I told her that I can sell her stuff for her anyway, but we'll see what happens. The good news is, John kind of fixed my oven, so I can actually bake my goodies for the bake sale! I still have to light the oven with a match, but hey - it's better than not having one. The other good thing is that Kitty found a storage place where the smallest closet available only costs $80/month. Hopefully, I can find one along those lines because that would be perfect!

Cathy and I had a nice talk, yes...except that we tend to run out of stuff to talk about after a while. We need you as a buffer! I feel like George Costanza to her Elaine Benice - remember the episode where they were talking about how they couldn't hang out together unless Jerry was with them?

Regards,
Karen

~~~

Word of the Day for Monday September 13, 2004

appellation ap-uh-LAY-shun, noun:
1. The word by which a particular person or thing is called and known; name; title; designation.
2. The act of naming.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com