Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Oct. 02, 2002
old friends who suck

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
I sent an e-mail to an old friend the other day; I think it was Friday. Not Jerianne, someone different: A male friend who lives in New York. Some time ago, this friend just up and stopped talking to me with no explanation. It was probably like two years ago.

It was rather painful at the time and continues to give me little twinges of "why, that bastard..." when I think about it. He was a very good friend. In fact, he was probably my best friend. He knew me extremely well and was fond of me anyway. We would talk for hours. I could tell him anything. We laughed a whole lot; I loved the way his mind worked; loved his sense of humor; loved to hear his opinion on things.

And we never met in person.

Yep, you guessed it - he was someone I met online. And since he lives in New York and I on what is known out there as "the other coast" and circumstances were never conducive to our meeting in person, we never did.

In the beginning, of course, all we had was e-mail. At the time, our relationship romantically reminded me of one which may have developed in centuries past; before there were such things as telephones and travel was not so easy as a quick trip to the airport. I suppose it was like something out of You've Got Mail.

When I actually took the time to think about the fact that we had never met in person, our relationship seemed very odd, of course. Especially since I was closer to him than I was to most of the other people in my life at the time. That's why I never really took the time to think about it that much.

In fact, I think it was so easy to get so close to him because we had never met in person. First of all, we barely even knew what one another looked like. Therefore, when he ended up liking me so much I knew it was genuine - it had nothing whatsoever to do with what I looked like. Also, at least initially, there was a sense of anonimity. It was easy to be open and free because hey - he wouldn't have known me had I walked right past him and he certainly didn't know any of the same people as I. Somehow, opening up to him in e-mails and over the telephone, not having to look him in the eye, was effortless. And the doing so helped me out at a time when I really needed the help.

I'm not saying that all we did was talk about big ol' emotional drama and the Big Questions of Life. In fact, we rarely did. Just knowing him and knowing that he cared about me meant a great deal to me.

Anyway, he won't talk to me anymore and I miss him a whole bunch. It's my hunch (since I never received an actual explanation, I figure I'm entitled to a hunch or two) that he stopped talking to me because of my relationship with John; he didnt want to be the reason that John and I didn't work out.

Now, how pompous is that?

As you have probably guessed by now, the dude didn't write back.

Why, that bastard...



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com