Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Friday, Jul. 25, 2003
e-mail addendum & the Friday Five

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
The Friday Five:

1. If your life were a movie, what would the title be?
Too Much Alcohol, Too Little Sleep

2. What songs would be on the soundtrack?
I�ve Always Been Crazy by Waylon Jennings
I Guess I�ll Just Stay Here and Drink by Merle Haggard
Lord, Won�t You Buy Me a Mercedes Benz by Janis Joplin
Imagine by John Lennon
Good Intentions by Lyle Lovett
Don�t Go Back to Rockville by REM
Hold My Life by the Replacements
Tattooed Love Boys by the Pretenders
White Girl by X
Poor Little Girl by X
Two Hearts are Better Than One by Bruce Soringsteen
Things Could Turn Around by fIREHOSE

3. Would it be a live-action film or animated? Why?
Live action; because it would be hard enough to believe using real people. Were it animated, my public would totally think I made everything up.

4. Casting: who would play you, members of your family, friends, etc?
So long as George Clooney plays my love-slave, I don�t really care who else is in it.

5. Describe the movie preview/trailer.
Don�t they pay some creative types a lot of money to edit the trailer? I�ll leave this to them.

-----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Friday, July 25, 2003 10:08 AM
To: Karen
Subject: RE: Hey!


Hello!

Who is Charles Bukowski?

I was not at Mom's yesterday. I don't know why she thought I was coming; I must have said something like that. Now I feel bad. :(

The Good Fellas are playing at the fabulous Blarney Stone next week, Friday and Saturday.

Yes, I am feeling much better today, thank you. Yesterday, too. I am figuring out that I am developing a sensitivity to milk products. I guess this happens sometimes as you age. I don't think of myself as aging, but there you have it! Between cheese and yogurt I eat dairy almost every day, so this is a dilemma. Now I probably WILL lose weight! (Barbara looks like she has lost weight and you look beautiful. You guys should be happy!)

I would be happy to come down there for happy hour. Any night but Tuesday or Friday should work for me. What works for you?

Good luck with the Indian food! I hate it.

We went to Dwayne's** restauant last night. (Not that he actually OWNS the place, but you know what I mean.) I had yummy halibut with this apricot honey glaze. It was presented on a potato crisp with green beans and carrots (they have REALLY GOOD veggies - al dente!). I brought leftovers for lunch and I can hardly wait!

Love you!
Sondra

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Friday, July 25, 2003 10:29 AM
To: Sondra
Subject: RE: Hey!


Damn�your dinner sounds much better than mine was. Is Dwayne still working in Long Beach? The Indian food was pretty good. It�s not something I would go out of my way to eat, but if I was like dating someone who was totally in love with Indian food, I would go again. The place we went to, though, was rather expensive and considering the fact that I only just kind of liked it, I was saddened to empty my wallet in that way. In fact, I am now completely broke unless I want to dig in to my savings account. Luckily, John is coming down this weekend; I plan on stealing money out of his wallet while he sleeps.

It would totally suck to be sensitive to milk products, so that better not happen to me (isn�t it nice how all conversations lead to me? I�m like Rome that way)! I eat yogurt almost every day and you know how I like to drink milk. This is also the reason I could never go on that Atkins diet. If I had to give up yogurt and fruit and even carbs I wouldn�t have anything left to eat. I mean, give up tortillas? Not bloody likely...I have been eating more veggies, though. I�ve been forcing myself to do so and have found that I like (or at least can stomach without heaving) more of them now than I used to (although Mom�s green beans still gross me out).

And as I said yesterday, Barbara HAS lost 20 lbs. so I really think she needs to stop being so greedy. I�m pretty happy with my weight, honestly, but I am really hard on myself if I happen to blow my diet for more than one meal in a row. First of all, I am fucked in the head when it comes to body image. Secondly, though, I know how easy it is for me to gain weight and really � two fat-filled meals and I can balloon like Delta Burke.

Hey, did you know that there�s a musical on Broadway right now that is subtitled in sign-language?* Isn�t that the coolest? Actually, the show originated in San Diego and I guess they have a theater for the deaf there. For the life of me, I can�t remember the name of this show, but it�s Huckleberry Finn set to music.

Uh�do I have to tell you now when we can get together for Happy Hour? I�d like to say Wednesday, but let�s just pencil it in, shall we? A lot of this depends on exactly how much cash John has on his person which I can steal from him without raising much suspicion.

I just made myself laugh. One of my employees, Alanna, has a meeting about Sexual Harassment at 11:00. Except that on my calendar it says: �Alanna has Sexual Orientation Meeting� and I sent that to my boss. Hee. :) Like what, they�re gonna sit around and figure out if she likes men or women?

Hee.

And what the hell do you mean who is Charles Bukowski? What kind of English Major were you anyway? Think Michael C., only in a literary sense. Plus, he wrote that movie Barfly that I�m always quoting when I use the toast �To all my friends!� Here�s a link about him, in case you�re interested.

Happy Friday!

Regards,
Karen

*Sondra studies sign language.

**Dwayne is an old friend of Lou's. I kind of dated him for a while about ten years ago, but only in the loosest sense of that word and only until I figured out he was a closetet homosexual and thus would just never like me all that much.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com