Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Aug. 04, 2003
Monday Miscellany

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
In keeping with part of my last entry, I just have to say that it is a crime against humanity that only 20 people have gutterpoet listed as one of their faves.

~~~

So the good news today is that I got my cute little Sentra with its double-entendre personalized license plates back from the Land of Nissan! As you may recall, on Friday morning they told me not to expect a replacement part until August 11. Well, they called me later the same day to tell me they had fixed my car. Yay! I did a little happy-dance around the office when I found out. Seems their Parts Manager was able to work some magic or kick some asses or do whatever it took to get my car fixed and thus to stop paying for me to have a rental.

My eternal thanks to the God of Broken Down Cute Little Nissans because the stale smoke-smell in that rental was about to induce projectile vomiting on my part (and then the car would have smelled like smoke and puke).

~~~

I spent yesterday listening to Jody talk for a few hours, which was fun.

Jody talks a lot. I love her and this doesn't bother me, but I don�t think she has ever known me very well because we have always spent the majority of our time together discussing her life. This is actually kind of cool because
a) believe it or not, I tend to be rather shy and don't really enjoy talking about me and my life
b) she has a lot more energy than I do and this way she can just go, go, go and I don�t have to worry about trying to keep up with her
c) until yesterday we hadn�t seen each other in person in like four years so we had a lot to catch up on and
d) her life is generally much more discussion-worthy than mine.

She is leaving in about ten days for her triathlon in Oahu. You may recall my debating over whether or not to go with her on this trip. If it happens that I won the $54 million lotto on Saturday, I will go (added later: I just found out that I did not win, nor did anybody else. So no Hawaii trip for me this month). If not, I am hoping to go see her compete in a triathlon in Idaho in June, 2004. That would be a great trip for me because I can combine the triathlon with a trip either east to Montana or west to Washington (I have yet to decide). This is all assuming I have someone to travel with, of course. I mean, I enjoy my own company and all, but I think safety might be an issue when it comes to hiking all alone through Montana for two weeks.

Damn, that sounds like fun, though.

So I need to find me a man who can take two weeks� vacation in June, 2004. Oh and, you know, with whom I get along.

I guess I don�t really have to travel with a man. The best trips I�ve taken in my life were in fact not taken with a man, but with women. But�you know�there�s a lot to be said for nature-sex.

~~~

Ooh�I just found out that Mikhail Baryshnikov is going to be on Sex and the City! Woo-Hoo! Ya�ll know how I love the Ruskie. I also, like all women who have HBO, love that show.

That show was very good last night, I thought. First of all, I love Miranda and secondly, she was so cute after fitting in to her �skinny jeans.� I could relate.

~~~

By the way...I just heard from my High School Reunion committe about next year's reunion, to which I was planning on going. Accept that I now found out that the only people I am really interested in seeing are on their "missing" list. So we'll see.

~~~

So the good thing about John coming down this past weekend (apparently for no other reason than to do his laundry and try to get in to my good graces, both of which might have been accomplished up in Santa Cruz so one wonders what his real motives were, unless one is me in which case one knows that he was really just hoping to get laid), was that he kept me fed all weekend. This was really a great thing because, as many of you know, I have no ATM card at the present time and will most likely not have one for a few more days. Well, I ran out of cash on about Thursday of last week and if you know anything about me at all, you know that as a rule I have little food in my residence. This week, I had even littler than usual. Anyway, so John kept me fed all weekend. He even gave me $10 so I could put a bit of gas in my car yesterday. I think he was afraid I'd run out of petrol around San Juan Capistrano and he'd have to drive down to get me.

And then it dawned on me, this morning, that I could have gone to the market, bought some food and written a check for it! You know, like we used to in the olden days. I could even have gotten cash back so that John wouldn�t have to give me gas money.

I haven�t written a check in so long that it totally escaped my mind that writing a check was even an option.

Ah well�who am I to argue when John wants to take me out to eat some yummy Italian food, as he did on Saturday night? Oh and also we had some very yummy Mahi Mahi tacos at Rubios yesterday.

~~~

So before I subject you to the following e-mail correspondence, I figure I should explain to you the following:

A) I am going to be walking from Santa Barbara to Malibu in November in a fund-raising effort for Breast Cancer Research/Care. Find out more here. I'm sure you will be hearing more about it here at my page, as well; soon after I start begging everyone I know for monetary donations.

B) My sister in law, Peggy, recently started sending each of us "surveys." They are questions about us, our relationships, our memories, all kinds of things. Her intention is to gether up what everybody writes, put them together in a book and give them to all of us at Christmas. This is such a fabulous idea and I love her for it. However, her little "surveys" are monumental in size. She sends them out in like ten-question segments and I have yet to finish even one of them. These are not litte, easy-to-answer questions, folks.

When I am done, I will probably post my answers on my essay page, so ya'll will know what I'm talking about. Of course, some of her questions will either not be answered by me or my answers will not be entirely truthful. I mean, am I really going to tell my entire family about the worst thing that has ever happened to me? I sincerely doubt it.

Anyway, here's my e-mail eavesdrop for the day...

-----Original Message-----
From: Sondra
Sent: Monday, August 04, 2003 11:02 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Good Monday to you!


Hi, Karen!

How are you? How was your weekend? I had so much fun on Saturday! There were a bunch of people there and we all danced and danced! The band even played new songs - WOW! It was way fun.

Dave asked about you. You little heartbreaker, you.

I have been thinking about this Breast Cancer Walk and I don't think I am going to do it. I don't think it is realistic for me to expect to be in that kind of shape by November. I will sponsor you, though.

My heart is in the right place, but my thighs are unable to follow.

Love you!
Sondra

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Monday, August 04, 2003 1:18 PM
To: Sondra
Subject: Re: Good Monday to you!


Howdy!

Glad you had fun Saturday night. :)

You cracked me up with your heart/thighs comment. :) I�ll let you know when I have completely signed up, so that you can sponsor me. :) I just have to wait until I can pay the $85 sign-up fee, and then I�ll actually have my own web page at their site, which makes donating very easy and convenient. I can register via their web page, but I have to pay by credit card. The only card I use was eaten by the Evil ATM Machine last week, as you may recall, and of course I have no idea what the card number is/was, so I have to wait until I have a new one.

I was supposed to go for at least one walk over the weekend, but of course, I did very little walking. In my defense, I have had one hell of a headache for about five days straight. John and I did walk to dinner on Saturday and walked to lunch yesterday, but I think that was probably only like 4 miles, total. Oh well. I do start my official training walks with a group of people tomorrow. :) Of course, the next one is scheduled for Thursday and that night I have a meeting with the Dennis Kucinich campaign people because I am going to work on his campaign. So I�m gonna miss my second training walk!

By the way, I just don�t think Kucinich has a snowball�s chance in hell of winning, although I�m going to try on his behalf. But seriously � President Kucinich?

I just don�t think so.

Once he loses the primary (listen to me � The Voice of Doom. I am so my parents kid), I will switch my allegiance to Howard Dean�s campaign. I think he has a better chance of winning the primary and if he does, well, as I said � my allegiance and time and efforts will switch to his campaign.

In the mean time, maybe I�ll meet a Hot Young Idealistic Democrat I can disillusion and corrupt.

Hey, did you get Peggy�s newest survey? I was all, �Man, I was just seeing light at the end of the tunnel and now I have another one?!� I do think it�s cool that she did this, though. I am really looking forward to reading what everybody writes. And that means, you�d better be completing yours. I�m sure my answers are entertaining and all, but I think the entire book will be much more enjoyable if everyone participates. Otherwise, I will just publish my answers as a book on their own. Sort of my own Self Reliance, as it were.

By the way, can one make a living just being an essayist anymore? Because seriously, I think I should do that. I really love to write, but I just can�t be bothered to come up with actual plot and characters and all of that hoo-ha. Of course, were I an essayist, I assume I'd have to edit out all the curse words and what fun would that be?

So never mind.

Regards,
Karen

~~~

Word of the Day for Monday August 4, 2003

physiognomy fiz-ee-OG-nuh-mee; -ON-uh-mee, noun:
1. The art of discovering temperament and other characteristic qualities of the mind from the outward appearance, especially by the features of the face.
2. The face or facial features, especially when regarded as indicating character.
3. The general appearance or aspect of a thing.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com