Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Tuesday, Aug. 19, 2003
'round these parts

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
It has finally started to cool off a bit, thank Christ. It has been hot as blazes �round these parts for the last couple of weeks. Now that I think of it, of course, ��round these parts� could mean anywhere these days. Seems every corner of the planet is suffering through a heat wave this month.

One of the patients at Barbara's office commented the other day that "Hmm...maybe global warming is real. I always thought that was all just Al Gore being an ass, like he always is."

I wonder if that man can even spell the word imbecile. I mean, seriously - read a newspaper every once in a while.

Anyway, so my weekend�how was it? It was groovy. Nothing spectacular happened, but I didn�t have to work so how bad could it have been?

Friday evening, Sondra came by and we went to The RR for a couple of drinks. Amy, being Amy, did not show up. Seems she forgot about a Tupperware party she was supposed to go to (by the way � do you know that she hasn�t even said anything about the fact that we had planned on going to Vegas this coming weekend? I knew we�d end up not going; that�s why I never made a hotel reservation. Since I haven�t mentioned it, it has obviously slipped her mind). Anyway, after we had a couple of drinks at the RR (which I found to be terribly over-rated. Why is this such a popular place to hang out in my neighborhood? Aside from the dried vomit on the back of one of the booths, I really found nothing novel whatsoever there) and then went to have dinner at my favorite Mexican food place. I was home shortly after 9:00, being the wild child that I have managed to become in my old age.

John came down Friday night. He and I went for a walk on Saturday morning, then to lunch. Then we went to Sports Chalet.

I had to buy running shoes. The people who put together the Breast Cancer 3-Day recommend that you buy running shoes for the occassion, because they are more supportive than walking shoes. Plus, you are supposed to buy them a size too big, because your feet swell when you walk that much. Well, my feet had better start swelling soon because right now I am walking around in freakin� clown shoes whenever I go for a walk.

Sports Chalet gave me a 15% discount because of the walk, which is cool. I bought the new shoes and some socks. And then we started looking at kayaks.

My oh my.

I swear, we spent over an hour looking at kayaks. I found two that I want. I could actually buy one of them, made by Ocean Kayak, and be reasonable about it. The other one, a Hobie, was about twice as much money. But then, you know�it has pedals and a rutter. Which is cheating anyway. Of course, if I can ever afford to do so, I am totally cheating.

I actually like the seats in the Ocean Kayak one better, anyway. It sits more like a canoe, which is easier on the back and abs.

Anyway, so after dreaming about kayaks at Sports Chalet for entirely too long a time, we went to Trader Joes and to Smart and Final before ending up at home and ordering Italian food for dinner. We talked about actually leaving the house to go to dinner; we also talked about my actually cooking something. In the end, we were really tired by that point and ordering in sounded ideal. I had bought three bottles of champagne, after all.

Of course, the mota didn�t much help our energy levels.

On Sunday, I went to my folks� place for lunch, picking up Linda on the way. It turned out that only us and Barbara and Arnett were there with my parents. Therefore, I had bought way too much wine at Trader Joes the previous day (we thought Carla, John, Amy and Mark were all coming). I ended up leaving one bottle at my parent�s house and I now have two bottles of Chardonnay in my fridge.

You�d think at least one of them would be empty by now, wouldn�t you?

Anyway, I had three glasses of wine and was so very tired afterward that I seriously did not want to go on my training walk. But I did. Eleven miles that felt like a hundred and eleven. We were actually supposed to walk farther than that. I don�t think I was the only one dragging ass on Sunday. It was still very hot anyway, even at 4:00pm which is when we got started.

This weekend, we start walking on Saturday mornings � fifteen miles this Saturday. EEK! I really hope John will go with me. Otherwise, I am afraid I will get very bored. I like these people and all, but I just don�t really know them yet.

I�m kinda shy.

Actually, I think it�s just that I end up feeling like�well, nobody seems to get my sense of humor, let�s put it that way.

~~~

I guess I kinda have some stuff going on with John, but I�m just not sure how to write about it so I haven�t been. I may be over-thinking the whole situation and stressing out over things that may not even happen.

So I won�t write about it yet.

~~~

So isn�t anyone but me watching Dead Like Me? Because seriously, kids - this is a great show. It totally makes me laugh. I so love Mandy Patinkin, first of all, and this gal who plays the lead character, George (Ellen Muth in real life�what kind of name is �Muth�?) is a doll. You really can't go wrong with a show on which, during it's first episode, the main character is killed by a toilet shuttling out of the sky after it falls from the MIR space station. Priceless. Plus, this guy who plays Mason? Hubba-hubba.

What is it with me and guys named Mason? That�s such a wimpy name, too.

Anyway, if you have Showtime and haven�t yet checked out this show, do so. It�ll make you laugh.

And I would just like to say that if we can really eat waffles in the afterlife, I will be one happy camper. Although it would really suck to still have to hold down a job, so I�d better hope the whole �Grim Reaper� concept as portrayed on this show is a complete fallacy.

~~~

Word of the Day for Tuesday August 19, 2003

cozen KUZ-un, transitive verb:

1. To cheat; to defraud; to deceive, usually by petty tricks.

2. To obtain by deceit.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com