Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Oct. 27, 2003
entry #2 - an email eavesdrop

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
In excess of 600 homes gone.

14 lives lost.

Over 400,000 acres burned.

And still counting.

Combine record high temperatures, high winds, extremely low humidity, some nut with a faulty flare gun, other even nuttier people who like to play with fire and what do you get?




Welcome to Southern California.

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Monday, October 27, 2003 9:20 AM
To: karen
Subject: (no subject)

Hi-

Geez, did you get the stuff from Peggy? Gosh, you know, I've already given people a tribute in the other surveys we did. Crazy.

Amy is going to be in the yard sale also. Linda says it costs about $25.00 for the ad in the Pennysaver. So, we will spit the cost. We can't put up any signs on polls but can put them on a stake in the ground. She doesn't think it will be necessary to do more than put an ad in the paper though. How about 8:00 am to 2:00 pm? That way we can get there at 7 and people are pretty much through with yard sales by early afternoon.

I wanted to tell you a horrible thing. Foothill Rib & Chili Co. is going out of business!! This is their last week! They close 10/31. I'm so bummed. So if you want a burger, you will have to come over some night this week. Let me know. I think we are going Thursday night.

Did you decide to be Peter Pan/Robin Hood (for Halloween)? Are you going to the party with Cathy?

I spent my entire weekend cleaning out my closet. Did I tell you that the shelf came apart and the rod fell? We were expecting it to happen and of course it did. What a mess. I have no place for any of my stuff so it's all crammed in my closet. So I emptied a drawer, moved stuff around, tried to find more room. Getting rid of more clothes. I don't have much left.

Hope you're having a good Monday. Things are pretty hectic around here.

love,
b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Monday, October 27, 2003 10:20 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: (no subject)

Hiya!

I�m sorry I forgot to call you on Saturday. I didn�t remember until Sunday, when I sat down to watch Halloween and so remembered the costumes. Doh!

I ended up going to the bar-b-que with John on Saturday. Bobby and Leah had a few people over to their new house. John bought them a bar-b-que as their house-warming gift so we got there at about noon, set up the �que and then Kitty and his Mom and brother and Johnny and his girlfriend came over. It was actually a very nice day. We were there until like 6:00 and then we stopped at Stater Brothers out there so we could buy some food without having to cross a picket line. Of course, they didn�t have my Naked Juice. I think I�m gonna have to break down and go to Ralphs to buy some juice. Thursday evening I tried to go to Trader Joes and the parking lot was so packed full of people that I just turned around and went home. People were just driving around the lot, waiting for someone to leave. It was nutso! And even they don�t have my Naked Juice�now that I think about it, there is a health food store down town who sells it. It�s just more expensive there�

Anyway, so on Sunday John and I went to Lucille�s for lunch. Yummy. Then we just lay around watching scary movies on television. I just love the week before Halloween! :)

So you didn�t go for a walk through the smoke, then? When I called yesterday and you were in the tub, I thought you must have gone for a walk and I was thinking you were insane. This smoke is whack, man! Even all the way out by me, there are ashes everywhere and the sun if filtered through a bunch of crap. The light looks a perverse shade of orange. It�s very weird. When we drove out to Bobby�s house, though, that was insane! John said it looked like nuclear winter. The sun was totally blocked out for a really long time; the smoke mixing in with the fog to form a sort of sludge in the sky. It was really gross.

And it gave me one whopper of a headache.

I left my car out on the street Friday night. I found a good parking spot so I grabbed it and John parked in my garage until we switched on Saturday. Well, my car is sooooooo filthy now! I�m like 70 miles away from the closest fire! Why is my neighborhood all ashy now? We made the mistake of walking to breakfast on Saturday and worse, walking to lunch on Sunday. I had sandals on and by the time we got home Sunday, my toes were all filthy, covered with ashes. Isn�t that gross? The sidewalks all look like they have a film of dirt covering them. It�s all ground up ashes.

And that�s 70 miles away. I can�t imagine what it�s like out by you. You�re lucky you have air conditioning, though. We could smell the smoke and ash pouring in through the windows, especially on Sunday.

I am so very sad that place is going out of business!!!! Why don�t I come over on Thursday and look at the costumes and then we can go to dinner (or vise-verse, you know)? Or whatever day you end up going to dinner there. I was going to come down one night this week, anyway.

Don�t go writing the Pennysaver Ad without mentioning my Nordic Track (Editor's Note: we're having a yard sale at Linda's in December. I am selling my old Nordic Track).

I am going to the party with Cathy on Saturday (although John has to come back down next week because he is working on Kitty�s car and will have to bring it back to her). I assume I will either be Robin Hood or Pocahontas, neither of which I want to be but both of which I can be without spending much in the way of moolah. I would like to buy a bow and arrow set or a knife if I am going to be Robin Hood/Peter Pan, though. You actually have to be the title of a movie, not just a movie character.

I cleaned my apartment this weekend. Actually, I did most of it Friday night. I rushed home and devoted the evening to cleaning because I knew I would probably be busy most of the weekend. Turns out I wasn�t so busy, but it�s not like I ever get much cleaning done with John around anyway. Besides, it felt good to relax yesterday.

I haven�t walked much for about a week, though. I probably walked a total of six miles over the weekend and only walked one day last week. I think I was feeling kind of defeated because I�m a tad short on my fundraising. However, John is still going to make a donation for me and his mom also gave me a check, so I should be able to do it. It�s going to be harder to walk during the week now, though, because of the time change. The group walks on Tuesdays and Thursdays, so I can walk with them, but it�s hard for me to get home in time to meet them.

I haven�t seen Peggy�s new survey yet. It�s on my other email server, probably. I thought we were done with those things, though!!!??? I did kind of luck out, though, in that I didn�t have to do the last one. It was all about spouses or significant others. Hee. :)

There is some rather sour pineapple in this fruit bowl I just bought. Plus, it has too much cantaloupe.

Regards,
Karen



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com