Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Friday, Nov. 07, 2003
bitchin' tunes and benefits

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
I have been listening to Son Volt and/or House of Freaks all week.

Such great bands. I hadn�t listened to these CDs for a long time, for some reason. Last weekend, while cleaning the Rad Pad, I put a few of their CDs on the stereo and went pert near hog wild. I had forgotten how great these groups were.

Their CDs are like those little treasures you find sometimes, and while you want everyone to know about them, you want the bands to sell lots of CDs so they can stick around for a while; you also want to keep them as your little secret, their songs seemingly speaking only to you.

I saw House of Freaks about eighteen years ago, at this little, very cool dive bar in LA called Al�s Bar. Al�s Bar is in what I believe is considered the Little Tokyo section of LA. At any rate, it's in a rather seedy part of town. And when I say dive bar, I mean Dive Bar. When my boyfriend at the time took me there, for the first time ever (which I believe was in fact when we saw House of Freaks), a rat ran over his foot. However, they always had really great bands at Al�s Bar and they had great artwork on their walls.

I haven�t been to Al�s Bar in over seven years, though. The last time I checked, it had not only been remodeled, it had transmogrified into a place where hip yuppies and college students hung out. Thus, I stopped hanging out there.*

Anyway, so House of Freaks had only just released their first album when I saw them. For those of you who don�t know, there are only two people in this band � a guitarist and a drummer. You really couldn�t tell from listening to them. They have a huge sound, for only two people. Even huger, live.

And John Doe was in the audience with us that first time I saw them, and that�s always good.

Anyway, so it�s been a �memory lane� week for me. And it�s been kinda fun. Except that I keep recalling things that I had apparently suppressed for years...

So I had a little fifteen minute massage while at work today. Yes, while at work. My company had a masseuse come in and give chair massages. For a short one, it was great. I may call upon this woman again; especially since she makes house calls.

Good thing we had her here, too, because our recent employee issues came back to haunt us today. I had a two-hour conversation with young Natalia this morning. The Little Big Man was there for the first half. I just have the feeling she is not long for this company. She is not happy and we are out of ideas as to how to help get her there. There�s only so much we can do, ya know?

Anyway, so I needed the stress relief of a massage today.

Oh and I also won a clock radio that sticks under your kitchen cabinet.

Today was actually our �Benefits Fair.� All of our different benefit providers had tables set up, passing out information and answering questions. Each of them had their own little raffle. I won the raffle set up by our credit union. Hee. :)

Free stuff is good.

I am supposed to go on a hike tomorrow. Let�s pray it doesn�t rain, shall we?

~~~

The Friday Five...

1. What food do you like that most people hate?
Well, I like a lot of spicy foods. Aside from that, I can�t really think of anything weird that I eat�unless you count that time I ate dog food when I was a kid, but since I didn�t actually like it, I don�t think that counts.

2. What food do you hate that most people love?
Well, there are many...but I�d have to say the winner is Catsup. Or ketchup, let�s be real.

3. What famous person, whom many people may find attractive, is most unappealing to you?
Ashton Kutcher and Julia Roberts (I thought I�d be equal-opportunity here)

4. What famous person, whom many people may find unappealing, do you find attractive?
Lyle Lovett and...um...I can�t think of a woman in order to be an Equal Opportunity Luster.

5. What popular trend baffles you?
Mid-drift-baring tops�especially on people who don�t have the body for it (which is, like nine out of ten people). And bell-bottoms. I mean, those things weren�t even cute the first time around, people.

And then there's my big one...SUVs!

~~~

TODAY'S MIS-LEAD: Government To Call More Troops One Week After Bush Says They're Not Needed President Bush indicated just last week that additional U.S. troops would not be needed in Iraq, saying, "General Abizaid makes the decision as to whether or not he needs more troops... And he told me he does [have enough troops]." But Thursday, the Pentagon announced plans to temporarily increase troop levels by as many as 50,000 in Iraq before reducing total troop size in Iraq to 105,000 by next spring.

Read the full Mis-Lead

NEW SPOTLIGHT: Bush Investment Plan--Profits for Halliburton, Nothing for Workers

The Apollo Alliance reports on the latest behind the Army Corps of Engineers decision to cancel the extension for Halliburton's no-bid contract on oil-related services in Iraq. In a convenient coincidence, the cancellation of Halliburton's contract comes just two days after House Republicans stripped the Iraq supplemental bill of an anti-profiteering provision which would have held companies holding contracts with the U.S. government criminally accountable for price gouging.

Read the full report

~~~

Word of the Day for Friday November 7, 2003:
amity AM-uh-tee, noun:

Friendship; friendly relations, especially between nations.**



*Later Added: Turns out that Al's Bar closed a while back. *sniff*

**As those of us who have seen Jaws already know, of course.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com