Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2003
pre- and post-debate emails

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
I am going to cheat again and post another email eavesdrop. I am super-busy what with the short week and it being month-end (for business purposes, anyway). Plus, I have to leave work at 1:30 today so am further rushed.

A couple of things, first...

1) I have decided to have my Cocktail Party on Dec. 20.
2) The Naples Boat Parade is on Sat. Dec. 13 and Cathy, Barbara and I are talking about getting together to go.
3) Stan is Joe�s �roommate and friend.� We all assume they�re gay, but Joe is also a Christian who seems to think that being homosexual is a sin or some crapola, so they�re apparently fighting their homosexuality. They�re still young. Hopefully, they�ll adjust and be happy, soon. Anyway, as a side note about Joe...his mother is a drug addict. She has two small children who were recently taken away from her as a result and Joe is now their Guardian. About three months ago, their apartment caught on fire and a lot of the kids� belongings were lost. And now Stan may have cancer...Suffice it to say, Joe has had one rough year.
4) Arnett has three kids � Joe, Jordan and Theresa. Right now, they all live in Washington state.

And now, without further adieu...

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Monday, November 24, 2003 3:59 PM
To: karen
Subject: (no subject)


Hi again-

I'm not saying I don't want to go to the boat parade, I'm just saying I need to know the date to figure it out. I forgot to tell you that Theresa may be visiting at some point over the holidays also. With her kids of course. I think she will stay with Arnett's mother, but she will want to see us. She is supposed to be moving to Phoenix this week so she's already made plans to drive over here for Christmas. We'll see.

Stan had a doctor's appointment today at 2:00 to hear the results of his tests. Joe is supposed to call us right away but as of now, 4:00, we have not heard anything. I'm scared it's bad news!

Byie!

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Monday, November 24, 2003 4:27 PM
To: Barbara
Subject: (no subject)


I THINK you mentioned Theresa, actually. I seem to recall you�re talking about asking someone to stay with Arnett�s mom, so it must have been her. Whoever is in town the day of my party is of course invited, except that children are not invited. Sorry, but...well, actually, no I�m not. :)

I knew what you meant about Christmas. I just don�t want you to stress over it � if you don�t have the time, you just don�t have the time. I certainly understand if you can�t make it and Cathy can just come hang out with me, if she wants to. I�m sure she�ll understand that you may not have time...and if she doesn�t, she needs to. People have families. The holidays are always hectic. The Boat Parade is officially on Dec. 13. I really don�t want to have my party until the 20th, though.

I have been coughing today as if I have Tuberculosis. I am not kidding in the least. I have been coughing for weeks, of course, but it seems especially bad today. I had a bad coughing fit this morning that almost made people around here call 911, I think. If I could have stopped coughing for a split second, I might have been able to tell them I was OK...

I don�t know why it�s so bad right now, expect that I have been getting very cold at night. I mean, the parts of me under the covers are fine, but it has really been terribly cold in my pad at night. The heat really doesn�t work toward the back of the house at all � which is of course where I sleep.

Anyway, so this weekend...I really had a great weekend, all around. I cleaned my kitchen Friday night (although I have a new sink full of dirty dishes again now). John and I walked to breakfast Saturday morning (I had fruit...well, fruit with a side of bacon). Kitty bought a new car so on Saturday after breakfast, John went over to her place to see it. I took that time to go to the store and clean more of my apartment. I then made dinner Saturday night (candles and everything. Woo-Hoo!). We had a pork loin roast (so very, very yummy and I have leftovers for sammiches!), carrots and red potatoes and a salad. Oh and we had oatmeal raisin cookies for dessert, because they are John�s favorite. :) It was very nice, if I do say so myself. Actually, it�s probably just been so long since I�ve made dinner like that, it seemed especially nice.

Yesterday was of course lunch at Gladstones. We each had a couple of Mimosas. John had one called a Grand Mimosa in which is added some Grand Marnier. It was tres yummy! I am thinking of buying some Grand Marnier, now...anyway, they brought out a huge piece of that chocolate cake. We split one layer and took the rest home (I made John take it home with him). Again I must say � my salmon was so yummy! That was seriously one of the best meals I�ve ever had. Crab Stuffed Salmon in a White Wine Sauce. It was served with Garlic Mashed taters and steamed veggies. I was so good � I even ate the veggies first (except the Cauliflower because...eew! Cauliflower!). I only ate a tiny bit of the taters. They were yummy, but I didn�t have room for them in my tummy. John had Steak and Lobster (!), plus he had Steamed Clams as an appetizer. I can�t believe he ate all of that food.

I tried to get John to go for more walks with me, but he wasn�t buying. He wanted to rest. Go figger.

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Monday, November 24, 2003 4:39 PM
To: karen
Subject: Re: (no subject)


My God you are making me hungry! I ate my way through the entire weekend. Arnett was gone, ya know. Today I have had celery sticks and slim fast, so I'm about to die.

You need to see the doctor now, when you actually have this bad cough and make them look closely at you!

Yeah, so Jordan will be here on the 13th. At least, that's the plan now. I'm not really sure about any of it. So, if I do the boat parade thing, I may have to bring the boys. We'll see if he really comes or what is going on.

Man, your lunch sounds fantastic. It must have cost an arm and a leg! Grand Marnier is very expensive, by the way. I have to get it once a year or so because of that fabulous orange sauce Arnett makes.

byie again. Have a nice evening.

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Monday, November 24, 2003 4:49 PM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: (no subject)


I just switched doctors, so once I get my new card I�ll go to the doctor...of course, I hope that by then I won�t be coughing, but chances are I will be.

I�ll look at Costco and see how much Grand Marnier is there...I figure not only would I like it in my Mimosas, though, but if I ever make Margaritas I can make Cadillacs. :) Our lunch WAS expensive. As in $120...for freakin� LUNCH! Of course, John had dinner and a big dinner at that. And that was essentially all we ate all day. The cool thing? I didn�t even pay for it. Yes, John paid for his own birthday brunch. It wasn�t my idea, but I was happy to let him do it! :) I did pay for the tip, though. Ain�t I nice?

I honestly didn�t expect to spend that much money...but then, I expected we�d be eating brunch. Their brunch menu was boring, though. They only had ordinary breakfast items. It would have been a shame to go to Gladstones and not have fish, ya know?

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Tuesday, November 25, 2003 8:16 AM
To: karen
Subject: Re: (no subject)


Cool, I love a man who pays for his own birthday lunch. Their drinks are soooooo expensive too. I probably would have been bankrupted by the tip.

And I agree, why go there and have eggs?

Stan is stage one. The are running more tests to determine if there is any cancer left. He does not have it in his lungs, so far. Probably will have chemo but sounds like they caught it early, which is a big relief. Joe is going to Washington DC the first week of December for his work. Neat.

Have a good one. What time are you guys getting off tomorrow? My boss is not working at all! Yeah! I do have to work some, but am picking up the turkey at noon so I'm taking a long lunch.

Love ya!
b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, November 25, 2003 9:30 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: (no subject)


Good morning!

Well, I�m glad the news about Stan is at least decent, but still...how very sad. He�s so young! At the 3 Day I was hanging out with this lady for a while who had a button pinned to her w/ a picture of a 16 year old girl who had died from Breast Cancer. It�s always sad, of course, but when young people get so terribly sick like that it just breaks your heart.

Cool that Joe is going to DC, though. He�ll probably get to go to all sorts of cool places we regular people never get to see. :) I have lately been thinking of how I�d like to go back to Our Nation�s Capital. One of these days�there are just too many places to go and not nearly enough vacation time.

I have to leave work at 1:30 today. My cable company turned off my cable yesterday, for no apparent reason. They don�t know what�s wrong, they couldn�t fix it remotely when I talked to them last night; so they have to come out to my house today. Initially, they were saying I had to be home from noon-5:00. I talked a little sense into the guy (i.e. I threw a little hissy fit) and made him understand that it is highly unfair that I should have to take all that time off of work so that they can come fix their screw up...of course, I still have to take half a day off, but at least I saved myself a couple of hours.

So did you watch the debate last night? I watched the repeat at 11:00. Yes, I stayed up until 1:00 am in order to watch a debate. Actually, I stayed up even later � I wasn�t tired for some reason. Anyway, I enjoyed the debate. Dennis made a few really great points, but he didn�t seem as popular with the crowd as usual. He got some applause, just not as much as usual. But then this crowd wasn�t a very rowdy one. I really liked it, though, when in the midst of Kerry, Gehphardt, Clark and Dean arguing about who supported the war when and in what way and how far, Dennis finally said (I am paraphrasing) �Look, rather than argue about who said what when, let�s talk about what we plan to do now that the troops are there.� And then Dennis of course talked about how he wants to get the US Troops out and the UN in within 90 days. Anyway, I thought it was a great moment. The fact is that even the Dems who supported the invasion of Iraq did so under false pretenses so what does it matter really? They were basing their decisions on lies. Of course, being so anti-war, I admire those few people (Dennis) who didn�t vote to go to war anyway (or in the case of Sharpton and Mosely-Braun, were vocal in their opposition to it, though not in a position to vote); but if one believes that Gephardt, Kerry et al believed what Bush was telling them about WMD one can at least understand why they would have voted to go to war. So why argue so vehemently about it now?

My own opinion is that these guys voted to go to war because they thought that would be the popular thing to do, but they can argue that they believed Iraq was an imminent threat because of what we were being told and that is a valid argument. To that end, I think the real question should be, �Why the hell did any of you vote for that God-forsaken Patriot Act?�

Dennis did almost ask that question last night. John Edwards totally danced around his answer (he voted for the Patriot Act). He said the Patriot Act had some great things in it. While true, that doesn�t explain to me why you would vote for the bill in its entirety, the way it is, and essentially vote away the civil rights of your constituents in the process. Not just Edwards, of course. I am using him as an example.

One thing I found interesting was watching John Edwards essentially dance around his position on gay marriages. I saw him on Meet the Press a couple of weeks ago and he said that he would leave the prospect of gay marriages up to each state (which means he�s too chicken shit to take a stand, in my book, because there is no logical reason for civil rights issues to be left up to each state). When asked if he were governor of a state, then, would legalize gay marriages, he said �No.� He doesn�t think it�s right.

However cute I may think John Edwards is, he lost my vote when I heard him say that.

So anyway, last night he never came out and admitted his true feelings on the subject. When asked, he said some very general things about civil rights and had I not already heard his true position I would think right now that he would legalize gay marriages as President. So misleading.

Changing subject rather abruptly...

We will most likely leave at about 3:00 tomorrow. We usually leave two hours early on the day before a holiday. It kind of depends on when we get done with everything. Tomorrow is also the last day of the month, so we need to make sure everything is posted and cleaned up, as much as possible.

Alanna and I were just talking about my cough. Her kids both have asthma, you know. She says my cough sounds just like theirs. It�s a dry cough, but coming from my lungs. But I mean, it doesn�t sound wet a phlegmy like pneumonia or something. Anyway, as I said yesterday � I will make a dr. appt. as soon as I get my new insurance card w/ my new doctor on it.

Anyway...talk to ya later!

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Tuesday, November 25, 2003 10:15 AM
To: karen
Subject: Re: (no subject)


Wow! How you do run on. Just kidding. I forgot about the debate! Monday nights are not my tv night though. There's football and then I go read. I would have watched had I remembered but Arnett was really tired and just a lump in front of the tv so it was better I didn't disturb him. He, of course, over did it this weekend and is exhausted now.

Yeah, young people getting cancer is sooooooo unfair and scary. I'm really worried about Stan and Joe.

Hey, Cathy said she may stop by Mom's on Thanksgiving for dessert. She and her Dad are going out to lunch at 1:00. She asked if she could and I said sure. Hope she knows Sondra will be there, I didn't say anything but I guess she would not let that stop her. She seemed pretty lonely and wants to see us on the upcoming holidays. She even asked if she could come over on Christmas Eve. I told her of course she can. So, we'll see.

Gotta go-
b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, November 25, 2003 10:35 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: (no subject)


I thought she seemed lonely, too. At the very least, she seems eager to hang out at every available opportunity. It�s very hard to be single at this age, when everybody is doing all kinds of things with their families. At least I have family members to hang out with. I feel bad for Cathy.

Well, it would appear I�ll be keeping her busy in December, at least! :)

Regards,
Karen

~~~

-----Original Message-----
From: Linda
Sent: Tuesday, November 25, 2003 10:26 AM
To: Karen, Carla, Amy, Mom, Sondra, Barbara
Subject: Chuck


Hey everybody!

We went to the urologist yesterday and he did a scope exam of Chuck's urethra and bladder (OUCH!) and they found a tumor about the size of a pinky fingernail in his bladder. He is going to have surgery to remove it Dec 9th and they'll then test it to see if it is malignant. Even if it is, the doctor said they will be able to remove the whole thing and there should be no further problem. The only possible problem would be if the cancer (if it is cancer) is in the muscle tissue of the bladder. However, we are not going to dwell on the possible negative since it is probably only the tumor that is a problem.

Anyway, now we know why Chuck has had blood in his urine since who knows when. At least we are finally able to take care of it.

I'll keep everyone posted. We go to the cardiologist on Dec 2nd. Everything looked good on all his tests and we'll get an OK for the Dec 9th surgery since he'll be under anesthesia.

Love you all!

~~~

The Daily Mislead is all about chronicling the gap between what President Bush and his administration say, and what they do.

DESPITE BUSH BOAST OF OUSTER, TALIBAN IS REBUILDING ON THE GROUND IN AFGHANISTAN

President Bush yesterday said that we "put the Taliban out of business forever" - taking credit for supposedly ridding the world of the terrorist regime. He made these comments just a day after the Taliban launched a rocket attack on Kabul's most prominent hotel. It was also one day after Reuters reported Mullah Omar, the Taliban's still at-large leader, "urged Afghans to unite against U.S.-led foreign forces on their soil" and the same day Afghanistan's Foreign Minister desperately requested more international help in fighting off Taliban geurillas. All told, the AP calls the Taliban" an increasingly virulent insurgency" while the LA Times reports "nearly two years after the U.S. drove the Taliban from power, remnants of the Islamic extremist group are regrouping and attacking U.S. troops."

Read the full Mis-Lead.

~~~

Word of the Day for Tuesday November 25, 2003:

aficionado uh-fish-ee-uh-NAH-doh, noun: An enthusiastic admirer; a fan.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com