Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, Jul. 01, 2004
oh, and one more thing...

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Second entry for today, because I want to share�

My beloved sister Barbara�s response to hearing about that Ralph Nader crap I posted in my last entry?

�Ralph Nader has not been one of the good guys for quite some time. I used to admire him but not since the last fiasco. The man has an ego the size of my butt!�

hee.

The always-rockin� rumblelizard and atrios pointed out a discussion of Fahrenheit 9/11 which just basically says everything I feel about Michael Moore, in one paragraph (and we all know I couldn�t manage to say anything in one paragraph), although I�m sharing three:

�Michael Moore may be an ass, and impossible to like as a public figure, and a little loose with the facts, and greedy, and a shameless panderer. But he wouldn't be necessary if even one percent of the rest of us had any balls at all.

�If even one reporter had stood up during a pre-Iraq Bush press conference last year and shouted, �Bullshit!� it might have made a difference.

�If even one network, instead of cheerily re-broadcasting Pentagon-generated aerial bomb footage, had risked its access to the government by saying to the Bush administration, �We're not covering the war unless we can shoot anything we want, without restrictions,� that might have made a difference. It might have made this war look like what it is � pointless death and carnage that would have scared away every advertiser in the country � rather than a big fucking football game that you can sell Coke and Pepsi and Scott's Fertilizer to.�

Ah�so well put.

In other news, but this time involving people you�ve never heard about before and care even less about that you do Michael Moore, I just found out that my first mistake�er love (a Michael, but not Moore) got in to a bad car accident while drunk. He totaled his girlfriend�s car and put her in to the hospital.

This is like his third DUI (that I know of).

So my guess is, he�s going to be in jail for a while.

He already spent a couple of weeks in jail before (that I know of), had his license suspended for a year, had to do hundreds of Community Service hours and spend time at AA meetings (which didn�t take, apparently). And this is the second vehicle he�s totaled (that I know of).

One would think he�d have learned his lesson by now.

I guess lessons are hard to learn when you�re drunk all the time. I hear alcohol kind of impairs one�s judgment.

I actually spoke to my sister Sondra on the phone today! See, I just happen to have four tickets for a Dodger game on Sunday, July 11 that I need to get rid of (my companies season tickets, which are killer). Linda asked me to get them for her, and now my family is getting together that day so she doesn�t want to use them.

Anyway, so I have to get rid of them. I offered them to Sondra and to Mark. As it turns out, Mark is taking them. That�s cool, because he takes his three sons to the games.

Anyway, our conversation, while brief, was fine. We talked about America�s Next Top Model and her new job at Downtown Disney.

And now�I really should eat some lunch, especially seeing as I just gave blood and am supposed to lead a training walk tonight. Sadly, nothing sounds good. I�m in the midst of my monthly �When-I�m-on-my-period-food-just-doesn�t-seem-all-that-important� fast. Usually, this is a welcome time for me since for the other three weeks out of the month, food is all I worship and adore. However, I really HAVE to eat something right now�

P.S. In response to my buddy gutterpoet's guestbook note: although I didn't actually compose the note from the California Democrats that he found fault with (relating to the tax cut), I feel I should explain: In the article which is linked in my previous entry, it explains that $124,000 is the additional CUT that those making over $1 million are getting - on TOP of the previous years' tax cut(s). It's not the total taxes they are paying, as g-poet noted in his guestbook entry...as far as the GOP supporting Nader's run for office - well, I must take issue with this. I discovered via the news after the last election (wish I had links, but I can't find any) that the GOP not only wanted Nader in the race, but they actually paid for commerical air time for him in some states key to Democrats - like Oregon, Washington and California. Why would they do that? To take votes away from (at that time) Al Gore and now to take them away from John Kerry. People who would vote for Ralph Nader certainly wouldn't vote for Dubya, but they might vote for a Democrat (seen as the lesser of two evils).

The Republicans can afford it.

And ya know what? It worked last time, didn't it? And this is going to be another very close race.

The rest of g-poet's note about third party candidates and laws is all true and I have no argument. It's just that the GOP has made an exception in the past two races. Nader isn't a threat to them, but he can be an asset when he takes votes away from Democratic candidates.

See here, for example: the latest CBS/New York Times poll

1) Without Nader: Kerry 45%, Bush 44%

2) With Nader: Bush 43%, Kerry 42%, Nader 5%



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com