Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Jan. 26, 2004
about a back

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Consider this. All the ants of the planet, taken together, have a biomass greater than that of humans. Ants have been incredibly industrious for millions of years. Yet their productivity nourishes plants, animals and soil. Human industry has been in full swing for little over a century, yet it has brought about a decline in almost every ecosystem on the planet. Nature doesn't have a design problem. People do. --Michael Braungart

~~~

Politics

Hey kids�there was actually an article on Dennis Kucinich in the LA Times last Friday!

Granted, the LA Times is a decidedly left-leaning publication, but still�Wonder of wonders�I guess all of my letters asking why Dennis was getting no media coverage worked (OK, I wasn�t the only one writing letters).

~~~

Misc. Baloney About My Life

So ya�ll know how I took a mental health day off of work last Thursday? One of the things I did that day in an effort to make myself feel better was to have a Double-Double and Fries from In-N-Out.

Big Mistake.

I had been very good in my efforts to stay away from the fast food this past year or so. Well, ever since I had that lovely burger I have been craving little else.

At least I eat my burgers plain. But still. Oink, Oink. Thus far I have been able to abstain any further, but I make no promises. There is an In N Out dangerously close to where I work�

OK, so I had the fabulous �you-have-to-come-over-and-drink-all-of-this-booze-you-didn�t-drink-during-December�s-cocktail-party� party on Saturday night.

While a significantly more sedate affair than last month�s shin-dig (about which I�m certain my neighbors are rather happy), it was a lot of fun. There were fewer people in attendance and those of us there drank far less than in December, which means I still have too much booze in my house. However, I actually remember the entire evening, this time! In truth, I didn�t even get tipsy, but I somehow managed to have a lot of fun anyway.

One of the guys from Lou�s new band came over. His name is Jamie (he�s the drummer). He�s very nice and very cute, but a full five years younger than I. It is rather apparent that he has a thing for me, though. And he�s not even married! Stay tuned. I�m supposed to go see the band play on Friday night. We�ll see what happens. He�s a sweetheart and, as I said, quite a hottie; but I don�t know that it will go anywhere. We don�t seem to have much in common (although that has never stopped me before). He works construction and has been working in Long Beach (a whole lotta construction going on in the LBC these days. I also know two Electricians who have been working in my neighborhood lately) so we also off-handedly discussed meeting for Happy Hour sometime soon.

John came down for the weekend. Frankly, I don�t really know why, though. His back is terribly messed up. He basically did nothing on Saturday. We went to breakfast and then he lay in bed for the rest of the day, while I ran around getting ready for my party. He could barely stand up or walk. It was horrible. He even ended up having a few drinks during the day, just to try and loosen things up I guess; and this is not a man who drinks much at all. He poked his head out of the bedroom for all of five minutes during my party, before taking a pain pill and going to sleep.

He did manage to go see his grandkids on Sunday. In fact, he stayed with them far too long and ended up leaving my house to go home at like 11:00 at night, against my begs and pleads for him just to spend another night and not go to work today. I was angry, as well as worried all night long. John just acts like he�s Mr. Invincible and nothing will ever happen to him. It�s only a matter of time before that bites him in the ass.

I did talk to him this morning, so I know he� s OK. He got home at 5:30am and slept for like an hour before having to go to work.

Anyway, if his stupid Workman�s Comp doctor doesn�t work some miracles this week, I think I have him talked in to going to his own doctor also. He started out going to some lame Chiropractor up there that his boss had him go to. That Chiropractor did nothing but Ultrasound for two visits and those did nothing at all to help him. So John then went to the Workman�s Comp. Doctor who gave him drugs, set him up for Physical Therapy and put him on �limited work duty�. Well, that�s pretty much a joke in his job.

Ergh�

He needs to be off of work entirely. If the doctors want to wait for Physical Therapy to work, rather than have him see a Chiropractor who will actually do some adjustments, well that just means he should be out of work entirely for as long as it takes.

On top of everything, I found out his boss isn�t paying him for the hours he misses work to go to the doctor! The man has insurance which will pay him the difference between what he�d make on Disability and what he normally makes, so why not use that while he needs it?

Aside from that, not much is happening. I had my little �meeting� with The Little Bitch Who is Trying to Make My Life a Living Hell which went much more smoothly than I had anticipated, but only because she basically just sat there and pretended she had no idea what I was talking about. I am still in a funk, of course, and it was terribly difficult to get out of bed this morning, but I managed. Of course, I am wearing no makeup, but that�s not exactly a rare occurrence. Around the first of they year, though, I had decided that I was going to put forth significantly more effort in this area, going forward. I haven�t worn makeup to work, see, in over a decade. That means, I rarely wear it. However, I can not even count the times I have been out shopping or whatnot, only to be confronted by a man I think is attractive and to think �Wow. Too bad I look like shit.� So I decided to try my best not to look like shit on a regular basis and maybe I�d get lucky one of these days.

It hasn�t worked to my advantage as of yet, but I hold out hope.

~~~

More Politics

Senate Republicans Hack Democratic Computer Files

Sometimes we come across a news story so shocking that it serves to remind us that Bush's Republicans will cross any line in their pursuit of full control over the government.

You have already heard how President Bush bypassed the Senate confirmation process and appointed Charles Pickering -- who authored the GOP anti-abortion plank and argued for lenience for a convicted cross-burner -- to a lifetime seat on the federal bench just hours after laying a wreath at the grave of Martin Luther King, Jr.

But they're not done.

This week, the Boston Globe reported that Republican staffers on the Senate Judiciary Committee repeatedly accessed computer files belonging to Democratic members over the course of the year, stealing strategic memos and leaking them to conservative media outlets.

Republicans immediately jumped on the defensive, blaming the computer glitch that allowed them to access the files. That's like a burglar blaming an unlocked door when he robs your house! You couldn't make up a better story to demonstrate the excesses and lengths that they'll go to in pursuit of their agenda. Their tactics illustrate their willful abuse of democratic rules as they attempt to pack our courts with right-wing extremists. They will do anything to increase their power through President Bush's right-wing extremist judicial nominees -- even illegal and unethical computer hacking.

Take Action!

Click here to sign our petition calling for Republicans to stand up and take responsibility for their unethical hacking and judicial power-grabbing.

~~~

Word of the Day for Monday January 26, 2004

peripatetic pair-uh-puh-TET-ik, adjective:
1. Of or pertaining to walking about or traveling from place to place; itinerant.
2. Of or pertaining to the philosophy taught by Aristotle (who gave his instructions while walking in the Lyceum at Athens), or to his followers.

noun:
1. One who walks about; a pedestrian; an itinerant.
2. A follower of Aristotle; an Aristotelian.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com