Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, May. 20, 2004
email eavesdrop for yesterday/today

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Wednesday, May 19, 2004 11:21 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Reno

Howdy!

Hope all is well with you. I�m starving, but otherwise doing well. I�ve been in a good mood for several days, now. It�s rather�disconcerting. :)

Hey, do you have any desire to go to Reno June 10-11 or 12? I am unsure of the details (like when I�d fly in and when I�d fly out) right now, but I am going to a conference there at that time. I have a meeting at 1:00 on June 10 and another at 9:00am on the 11th. There�s also a group dinner and luncheon that I can go to, but I don�t have to (although I will, if I�m by myself). Anyway, let me know if you�d like to tag along and gamble with me. I think that�s pretty much all there is to do in Reno (unless Don Rickles is in town), isn�t it?

I got a couple of emails from Sarah this week. She is moving in with Chris when he gets back from shooting that movie. By moving in together, they are planning on saving money in order to go to Europe next year. They want to go for like 3 months! :) Isn�t that cool?

I gotta go potty so � talk to ya later!

:)

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Wednesday, May 19, 2004 11:30 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: Reno


Uh, I have to work June 10. Since I just got back from vacation, I don't guess I should take off. Juley would kill me. I don't have the $ anyway. Too bad cuz that is when Arnett is going to Washington! Darn it.

I was hoping Sarah would live on her own for awhile. Oh well. It's not like they're not really involved. That is cool about their plans for Europe, yes. They need to do it now, while they're young. Not that he's that young but you know what I mean.

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Wednesday, May 19, 2004 11:49 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: Reno


Dang it! Well, now at least I know I�ll come home Friday evening, although it�s gonna suck getting home on a Friday evening. Hopefully, I can fly out of Long Beach, which would be ever so much easier to deal with than LAX.

I think the main reason Sarah and Chris are going to move in together (well, aside from the obvious) is to save money for this trip. Apparently, their rent is only going to be like $700 so with both of their combined incomes they should be able to save a lot of money. Then when they take off for Europe, they�ll just move out of that apartment and find a new one when they get home. I assume they�ll also have to leave whatever jobs they have at the time, but I guess with jobs like theirs that�s pretty easy to do.

Chris SEEMS a lot younger than he is. :) I always forget he�s so much older than Sarah. But yes, it�s good to do these things when you�re unencumbered. The kind of jobs they have even lend to doing something like this, ya know? I mean, obviously for either of us to take off for three months, it would be a major deal with the workplace.

I�m jealous, though. :) I would so love to go to Europe for a long time like that. Playing Lotto tonight�:)

I seem to be having some gastric distress�I just spent like half an hour on the darn toilet. If we don�t have any Pepto or something in our company medicine cabinet, I�m thinking of going home at lunch, to take some. I just can�t spend the rest of the day in the bathroom, ya know?

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Wednesday, May 19, 2004 11:21 AM
To: Karen
Subject: (no subject)


Hi-

I'm really glad you liked the wine [from Santa Fe]! I'm looking forward to trying ours.

Well, your sister Linda and Peggy and I have been emailing like crazy about Kentucky tickets. There was a really good price offered yesterday and guess what? It's not there today. Geez, they really change things quickly. Peggy actually called me today. She's really hoping we go. I'm sure it will be alot more fun for her. They bought their tickets, so they are definetly [sic] going. I think Mom and Dad and Linda will go, so even if Arnett and I don't, they will have some company. I just hate trying to figure this stuff out so fast. I was saying to Arnett last night that I didn't think a 8-9hour travel day would be good for him. He said he would be fine, so........... I just don't know. I have to speak to everyone before I can decide. I guess you knew all this but I wasn't sure. I've lost track of who I said what to. Jeepers Mike.

Have a good one!

b

ps. GO Timberwolves! (Is that gonna come back and bite me in the ass when they have to play the Lakers?)

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Wednesday, May 19, 2004 12:08 PM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: (no subject)


I think we have a better shot at Minnesota than we do Sacramento, but one never knows so bite your tongue.

I�m sure Kentucky will be a whole lot of fun, especially if Linda goes. I can�t really believe they�re all flying in to Cincinnati, but I guess that was how they got the great price on airfare? Did Linda get the great airfare before it changed?

I�m sure you would enjoy meeting all of the relatives and of course it�s always great to see Dale.

Have you and Arnett discussed the whole race issue? I have no idea what it will be like, of course, but it would really suck if people made you two feel uncomfortable or if there was some ruckus because somebody said something insane to you. You�re gonna be traveling with Dad, Mom and Larry � that�s sufficient stress right there, without having to deal with any racist nonsense*.

I dunno. I would really like to go to Kentucky, but you know my feelings about it - I don�t want to go at the end of August. Since I�m gonna move, money shouldn�t be an issue, but I still think it�s a waste of money and vacation days to go sweat for a week with a bunch of old relatives I�ve never met before. I know, I�m horrible, but that�s my perspective. I would like to see Dale�s kids, though, and some others of course. I�ll just have to see them another time, I guess.

Hey did I ever tell you that John�s mom bought a house in North Carolina like a year ago? I think that�s where it is�cuz at first I thought it was Virginia, then he corrected me. Her sister lives back there (used to live in Virginia, but apparently now lives in N. Carolina) and you know she visits all the time. The last time Peggy visited her sister, she ended up buying a house there! I guess that�s where she�s going to retire, when/if she actually does so.

I also forgot to tell you something John said over the weekend�we were discussing Amy�s college situation and John says: �Poor Marcello.� When I asked him what he meant, he said something to the tune that he felt bad for Marcello for blowing it with Amy cuz he ain�t ever getting anything that good again.

I wish I could remember his exact words, cuz I was gonna write Amy and tell her what he said.

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Wednesday, May 19, 2004 1:41 PM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: (no subject)


[Re Sunday at Mom's]Um..... you can bring a salad if you want to. It would be nice to have if you and other people get there before dinner. I won't be early cuz we are bringing a roast chicken so it has to just come out of the oven and then get taken over there in time to eat. So, we can't be too early. A salad would be great cuz I think the only other veg is that green bean casserole Carla is making. Whatever you want to do.

That's really funny about John feeling bad for Marcello. I thought you were gonna say he thought Amy was still with Marcello and that she was gonna leave him to go away to school. Either way it's pretty funny.

Yes, I heard about his mom buying a house back there.

1st- Arnett and I are only going for 3 nights, not a week.
2nd- I have not discussed race with him only cuz I didn't want to bum him out.
3rd- If anyone wants to say something, they better not let him hear them. I will have to kill someone in that case. Oh well, Mom and Dad keep saying this will be their last trip there.
4th- Larry and Peggy are staying in a motel and we would be so busy the few days we are there that I don't think Larry could bug me too much.
5th- Linda would actually travel with Mom and Dad so it's her turn to be bugged by them! Ha!

I don't think Linda got the great price but I have not heard from her or Mom. Still waiting to talk to them.

So, you should go. Just kidding.

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Wednesday, May 19, 2004 2:04 PM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: (no subject)


Yes, see, this is my worry � that you will end up killing someone and go to prison. And I can�t even visit you in prison if you�re in Kentucky!

:)

I think Larry probably bugs me more than he does you, anyway.

OK, well from all appearances I will be there on Sunday and I�ll bring a green salad. Still don�t count on me, though � this way, I�ll just be a pleasant surprise if I show. And mmm�Roast Chicken�that makes my going far more probable. :) Do you have any idea if Mark is supposed to be there? I haven�t heard from him in quite a while. Sarah has to work at 4:00, but is still apparently planning to be there, if only for a short while.

Regards,
Karen

*I am not so silly as to think all people who live in Kentucky are racist (Arnett is a black man). It�s just that we�ve already been warned that �some people� may have a problem with their relationship. See, my family has a reunion every August in Kentucky and that�s where/why they�ll all planning to go. My parents have gone many times, but none of the rest of us have ever joined them until this year.

~~~

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, May 19, 2004 9:51 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: (no subject)


Howdy!

So are ya happy, little missy? You�d better not be jinxing the Lakers by rooting for Minnesota, now�:)

Check out the web page I have attached. This guy emailed me this morning from [internet dating site] (he included the link to his pictures). I haven�t even looked at his profile yet and have no idea if I�ll find him interesting�but I thought you might find the pictures fun to look at (and so will Alisa) [editors note: this guy was�um�HOT].

John and I didn�t talk last night, but we did the night before and I wanted to ask you�why are so many men so stupid when it comes to basic organization and those little daily responsibilities? Here�s what happened: About a month after John�s first doctor visit, he got a bill from them. Weird, because he has insurance. So I ask him if they took a copy of his insurance card when he was at the office and he tells me they took the card, but he didn�t think they made an actual photocopy of it. I tell him to call the office and ask if they�d billed his insurance and what may have gone wrong. On Monday, he tells me he got a second bill form the office. I ask if he ever called them. Um�that would be no. So Tuesday he couldn�t get thru to his dr. office, so he just called his insurance company directly. Turns out they were billed, but they show he wasn�t covered because apparently his old boss gave them an incorrect employment termination date in order to get out of paying for his insurance that last month (what an asshole)! Well, John did send in a check to his ins. company like three weeks ago in order to continue his coverage, but that�s another issue � they don�t have his checks posted yet (he�s been bitching about that check not clearing for a couple of weeks, actually). So they�re trying to find his $ and will get back to him.

I gave him another idea as to how to solve this problem, though. I said: �Why don�t you fax the insurance company a copy of your last pay stub from your former employer, to prove that you should have been covered anyway?�

So John tells me he doesn�t keep his check stubs.

Um�say what???

Ridiculous. He�s always been that way. I bought him a little portable filing cabinet thingy a long time ago, but he doesn�t use it. When we lived together, I kept all of our financial stuff organized, but now that he�s alone again�And the thing that really gets me is, he has been ripped off so many times by his employers and worked for so many retards that you�d think he�d keep his pay stubs if only to make sure his tax forms are correct every year, ya know what I mean?

Very frustrating. I tried to remember it was none of my business, but you know � I certainly let it be known that I think he should keep his damn pay check stubs before I decided I should just shut my trap and let him deal with his own business.

And here�s another thing � John gets paid on Fridays now (he used to get paid on Tuesday). The thing is, John never knows if he�s going to be able to come down until he gets paid. One thing is, he never really knows if he�s going to get a bonus with his check�but his base pay is always in the same ballpark so the real issue is, he never just sits down and budgets. He doesn�t figure out: OK, these are the bills I have to pay with this week�s paycheck and I have $X to pay them. Do I have any extra money? His not �knowing� until Friday night whether or not he�s coming down for the weekend can really put a damper on my social life, ya know? Of course, it hasn�t been an issue yet, but it may be some day.

I am in a good mood today, though. :)

Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Thursday, May 20, 2004 9:59 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re:


I will look at Noel later. I'm really busy right now.

Yes, I am sooooo happy for Minnesota. Don't worry, the Lakers can handle them. Minnesota will lose because of inexperience. I think.

That's hilarious about John. Especially coming just after i asked Alisa, why are men so dumb? Arnett calls me and says they're gonna clean our carpets, what would be a good day? So I say, well, Monday is good cuz be both work. He says, oh, i told them Friday. I say well, why would you tell them Friday? You're home all day and I'm home most of the day. He just laughs and says, I don't know why I told them Friday. So he has to call them back and change it to Monday. He's just laughing and I'm thinking, why in the world would he have ever said Friday? Anyway, they're all a mess. Men, I mean.

Gotta go!

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, May 19, 2004 9:51 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: (no subject)


That is very funny about Arnie! Sheesh�men are so queer. Calendars, too � they can never keep track of their calendars (as you well know). Last weekend, John asked me if we had any plans for Memorial weekend. Like, why don�t YOU know if YOU have plans for Memorial weekend?

I guess I should just focus on the fact that he was being considerate of MY plans before he made plans to hang out with his family.

But it�s still funny.

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Thursday, May 20, 2004 10:21 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re:


Oh my. Alisa and I just looked at Noel. Kinda vain but definetly cute. Alisa wants to know if you share. Ha, she doesn't actually care for guys that are full of themselves. Who does?

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, May 19, 2004 10:50 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: (no subject)


I know � my thoughts exactly! Like I want to date a guy who would have an entire page of photos of himself posted on his webpage! A lot of these guys are like that. I guess if you�re getting dates via the internet, it is kind of good for people to have a lot of pictures that people can look at�I guess. That�s not really what I�m looking for, but I�m trying to give people the benefit of the doubt, here.

I have one little head shot of me posted on my profile. I have thought that I should probably post some full-body pictures and like one with curly hair and stuff�maybe if I ever get a digital camera and it would be easy to do so, I will�but I just don�t want to hear from people who are contacting me only because they like the look of my picture anyway, ya know? As it is, I get emails from people and I�m thinking, �Did you even read my profile at all???? Because if you did, why are you writing to me when you are so obviously not what I�m looking for and vice-verse?� It�s just so obvious that they thought I was cute and so emailed me.

That�s men, I guess. It�s really no different than it is anywhere. It�s just so blatant at times that it really puts me off. I was emailing this guy from Long Beach last week who came right out and asked me what I weigh � in his first email to me. Can you believe that crack?

Crack is whack, by the way.

A lot of women probably do the same thing with the income bracket at [internet dating site]. Like they won�t email anyone who isn�t in the $150k+ range. And I assume there are some rather superficial gals out there when it comes to men�s appearance, too. LA in general certainly has that reputation. I think I�m just exposed to so many more of these superficial people thru [internet dating site] because � you know, we don�t hang out with those types of people on a daily basis. I forget they�re out there.

I�m as much at fault as anyone, though, I guess. It�s not like I�d email a guy who had a huge goiter on the side of his neck or something�

It�s a dilemma.

Regards,
Karen

~~~

What Was the ikss Saying Two Years Ago?


�I may get a tad messy sometimes (bed just kind of thrown together, clothes not always hung up immediately after I take them off), but I�m always clean. His stuff may look neat, but if you look closer you�ll see it�s not necessarily CLEAN.�

- - from males are just messy



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com