Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Tuesday, Aug. 10, 2004
email eavesdrop

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
I�ve been really busy this week (what the hell else is new?), so as is my wont at times like these, in lieu of an actual entry I offer you the following email eavesdrop:

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, August 10, 2004 10:03 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Like we need an excuse...


Good morning!

This is our horoscope for today...

The urge to flee your surroundings can't be ignored any longer. Why wait to take a vacation? Drop everything and go right now. If a major trip isn't possible, a small excursion might be the temporary answer to your wanderlust. At least get out of the home or office. Grab a map and set out on foot or in a car to explore a new part of the city. Going by yourself is more spontaneous, but if you need a companion, ask a friend who has a good spirit to come along.

Hee! :)

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Tuesday, August 10, 2004 10:26 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: Like we need an excuse...


That is too funny! I just emailed our friends in Alaska yesterday. Just wanted to keep in touch in case we can go back next year. We've also been talking about Vegas alot. We (Arnett and I) both want to go. Cathy said we should just go and as I told her, I just won't throw money away like that right now. I mean, I'm dying to go but I need the money too much for other things. Anyway, as you know, I'm thinking about something and somewhere pretty much all the time. Just like you.

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, August 10, 2004 10:36 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: Like we need an excuse...


yeah, Cathy and I were talking about Vegas, too. I've been wanting to go, also. John's boss is probably going to take his entire shop there for a week! I mean yes, they have to go to educational things during the day, but still - his boss is going to pay for their rooms and food and everything! If that happens, I am going to finagle a way to meet him there, at least for the weekend.

You're thinking about going back to Alaska NEXT year? I didn't know you were going to go back so soon. I was thinking about going for my 40th b-day, but we'll see. Since I have to buy a house, that may take precedence and I may have to go somewhere cheaper.

But yes - I am always thinking about where to go next...

Did I tell you that Cambria and Pismo Beach are still rather expensive the weekend of Oct. 15-17??? Cambria even more so than Pismo Beach. It's kind of ridiculous how expensive these places are.

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Tuesday, August 10, 2004 11:03 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: Like we need an excuse...


Yes, it is ridiculous. I'm sorry, I'm used to traveling during the week. That helps.

I want to go back to Alaska next year for several reasons. One, the couple who want us to stay with them are getting pretty old. I don't want to miss the chance of free accommodations for part of our trip. They want us to us them as a home base and we will. It will help. Two, I'm not sure how much longer Arnett will be fit for the sort of fishing done up there. It was hard on him last time so he certainly can't be in worse shape and be able to do it. Of course as it stands right now, he's not really well enough to even go. Three, I absolutely love it. And I'm not getting any younger myself. However, this is just me dreaming. We aren't really planning on it, it's just in my mind. We, of course, need to be more responsible. Yeah, right. I'm very concerned about how long I'm actually gonna have Arnett, so I think I error on the side of having as much fun as we can now. I know that is morbid, but really, I mean I just don't know. I hope we both make it to 85 of so, but nobody gets any guarantee about that, do they? I'm just really full on "wanderlust". Just full.

I would think that you should definitely get to Vegas if John is there for a week. Even if he had to stay in a room with other guys, you could just get a room for while you are there. Sounds cool.

I know you and Cathy were talking about Vegas, she told me. I feel really bad that I can't travel with her, or you for that matter. We always have so much fun! It will happen again. In the meantime, I think I better try to plan something with her. I asked her about lunch but she just never knows with her busy work.

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, August 10, 2004 11:07 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: Like we need an excuse...


I kind of figured you wanted to go back so soon because of Arnett, but I hadn't heard you talk about it before. Hey, you can always go with ME for my 40th b-day! That's only two years away, you know...

Well, keep that short walk/brunch offer in mind for Sunday, Aug. 29. I mentioned it to Cathy the other night and she said she was up for it.

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Tuesday, August 10, 2004 11:25 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: Like we need an excuse...


There is no end of places to go. We both really want to go to France and Italy and of course the Wales/Scotland/England thing. We just figured we should go to Alaska while we have people we know there. It's actually much more expensive than Europe! As I said, I'm just thinking. We may wait another year or two. I know you mentioned going for your birthday. . .

b

*

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, August 10, 2004 1:18 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: cable woes


You won't believe this...I open my cable bill to pay it today...and it's for like $340!!!!

My cable is $70/month.

They had an adjustment on there for some extraordinary dollar amount - they messed up when I had one of their channel "tiers" removed - a tier that charges $4/month.

Needless to say, I already called and took care of it. Actually, that was the least painful phone call I have ever had with that company, but I still shouldn't have had to have it at all.

I looked in to Direct TV. It's only $99/month and all of the equipment and installation are free right now. I just have to get written permission from my landlord to have it installed...and I hope it will work, because dealing with this cable company is extremely tiresome.

Regards,


P.S. I want to go home! I don�t want to go for a walk � I just want to go home!

Don�t worry, I�ll walk�dammit�

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Tuesday, August 10, 2004 2:00 PM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: cable woes


Why would I worry if you walk or not? I can't believe how good you've been about walking. I would never do that well. I'm just exhausted all the time from the walking I do. Getting up at 5:00am during the week and 6:00am on the weekends is really starting to get to me. I'm sleepy all the time. You think I would have more energy, right? I don't. However, that said...... I have a much easier time making myself do it in the morning. (Believe me, I never thought I would say that!) All bets would be off if I was trying to do it after work. Somedays are just not good days.

A says her sister is probably going to Vegas to get married this weekend. She wants to go so bad but she can't cuz of her Mom. Not that S has offered to help get a nurse or anything. I told you Alisa declared bankruptcy, right? All she does is use her Mom's credit cards. I mean, she has gotten better, of course, but they have her Mom's to use when they need them. Originally they put alot on her Mom's cuz they thought she was gonna die. I don't know what happened with that. Nightmare.

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, August 10, 2004 2:29 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: cable woes


I think you told me A was thinking about it, because I remember asking you if she'd tried going to a consumer credit counseling service.

I am truly disgusted by the fact that they were running up her credit cards, thinking she was going to die. Doesn't she know that is STEALING?????? When you "buy" something, with no intention of actually paying for it, that's STEALING. Don't people even think that we all end up paying for shit like that?

I know I am sensitive to these things because of my field of work, but that is just...bad. In all honesty, all of that makes me lose a lot of respect for A. I'm sorry to say that, but it's true. This is a grown woman, here.

And I just don't even know what to say about S. She's obviously just so wrapped up in her new life that she has no time to think about any body else, even her sickly mother. It's undefendable. But, you know - A lets people get away with this shit. I mean, I don't know what else there is to do, except just take her mother over to S's house and say, "Hi. Mom's staying with you for a week" and just leaving her there. What's S gonna do? That's essentially what S has done to A for years now, anyway. She's just left her at A's house. And if A ever gets up the balls to actually ask S for some help, she's just going to accept whatever lame excuse S comes up with for not helping her. Again - A is a grown woman. She needs to just stop this nonsense of taking whatever people feel like dishing out at any given moment. I know it's easier said than done, but I would think an easy place to start would be with one's sister.

Oof...I'll step down from the pulpit now...

Anyway, I knew that leading the training walks would make me be more disciplined about my walks - that's why I did it. :) But yeah - sometimes it's just a huge pain in my ass (even literally, at times). I don't think I'm doing this walk again next year - especially since I doubt very much that everybody I know wants to donate every year.

That said, I don't even think they're doing a 3 Day in Los Angeles next year...which will leave me feeling a whole lot less guilty about not wanting to go through this again.

My main reason for not wanting to do this again, though, is the pain. It is a very rare occasion that I am not walking in pain, at least for a couple of miles. That sucks and it sucks big time. Saturday morning, for instance, I was way behind everybody for the first like 2.5 miles. I started out in big shin-pain, so I was going slower than usual and I stopped three times to stretch. I caught up eventually, of course, but that just sucked. It happens every time. D is worried that I won't be able to even do the 3 Day because I always have this problem (I'm her tent-mate, so if I don't make it, it will suck for her). And of course, it's not even just my shins - I have to watch my ankles, which were hurting a few weeks ago, and of course my knee is an ever-present worry.

At least I am fine and dandy after the walks.

I think I should have gotten in to this when I was a lot younger. I have no doubt that I will be able to do the walk, but I don't like having to work through pain all the time.

Apparently, I am not at all related to Lance Armstrong.

And, you know...what I am going through is not anywhere near what people who actually HAVE CANCER are going through, so I guess I should just shut my mouth.

Regards,
Karen

~~~

Word of the Day for Tuesday August 10, 2004

senescence sih-NEH-suhn(t)s, noun:
The state of being old; the process of growing old; aging.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com