Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Wednesday, Aug. 18, 2004
entry #1 for today

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Happy Birthday To: Robert Redford, born this day in 1937

and to Rosalynn Carter, born in 1927

~~~

In keeping with my penchant for timely film reviews...I watched Seabiscuit last night. I really liked it. I'm sure it was way better on the big screen, but even so I thought it was beautifully filmed. It was well-written and acted. And, you know...I like horsies.

It�s nice not to be disappointed. It happens so rarely anymore.

Speaking of which...Joe, who works for me, lent me the CDs by Jet and the Hives. *sigh* Neither CD was bad and I liked much of both...but they were slightly disappointing. The Hives are truly not as good as they think they are. There are like three songs on that CD that I like and feel I will not tire of in just a few weeks.

Jet�s CD is much better, but there are several slow songs on it that are quite tiresome. I was surprised at how many slow songs there are in the first place, but when most of them are also boring�luckily, I really like the songs I like. Anyway, Joe, God bless him, is going to burn copies for me.

Shhh...

You can very much tell what bands these bands like, though, I must say. I guess there is nothing new under the sun and I don�t really hold that against bands, but at times I was like, �Is this the Beatles, ca. 1967? Is this ACDC? Is this the Kinks?�

But, you know�if you�re gonna be heavily influenced, it may as well be by those bands, I guess.

John and I are going kayaking Sunday morning in Sunset Beach. Yay! I�m very pleased. I have been so busy that it�s been hard to squeeze in much kayaking and I figure this will be my last chance for a while (seeing as I will be leading training walks on both Saturday and Sunday beginning Aug. 28 through the 3 Day itself in October.

He swears he�s coming down this weekend (John, that is), and seeing as we�re also supposed to attend his niece�s birthday party on Saturday afternoon, I don�t think I will be disappointed this time.

On an entirely different note�I will not be renewing my Gold Membership on D-Land when it expires and I am never giving Andrew another cent of my money for banners or anything.

I have sent in three questions to tech support. The first one I sent before I was a Gold Member so, fine � whatever. You don�t want to answer questions from people not paying you might be rude, but it at least is kind of understandable. But two of those questions were sent in during the past year, while I HAVE been paying for this service.

Not a single one of my questions has ever been answered.

My last question involves some of my entries which are missing. If I know their actual URL, I can find them, but they are not listed in my archives when I am there and are therefore not linked on my �Older� page.

I assume I made some error when archiving entries some time ago, but the bottom line is I can�t find them. But they are there. Somewhere.

The FAQ page doesn�t answer the question for me.

When I didn�t get an answer to my question submitted through tech support after a month, I emailed Andrew personally. The last I heard from him was on July 14. He told me he didn�t receive my inquiries through the tech support page, but asked me to submit the problem through tech support again.

Excuse me? Why would I use tech support again if you are supposedly not receiving those inquiries?

Not that I believe he didn�t receive them. When, on July 14, I reviewed the items I�d submitted to Tech Support, it showed the two questions I�d submitted as a Gold member and their status as follows:

PERSONAL FOLDER (Gold Member ikss) (submitted 267 days ago.)

losing entries (submitted 26 days ago.)

Our reply is:

This request is still in the support queue and has not been answered yet.

I know Andrew is a busy guy, but the bottom line is, I am a paying customer. I have waited far too long as it is and I should not have to go to him again to get my answer.

So I am now sharing this with all of you. I wasn�t going to, but hey � you give me shitty service and people are going to hear about it.

Lastly � you folks in California may want to check this out. I will be participating, but that�s not the only reason you should. :)

~~~

Word of the Day for Wednesday August 18, 2004

Cockaigne kah-KAYN, noun:

An imaginary land of ease and luxury.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com