Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, Feb. 26, 2004
fucked up man-karma

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
An Email Eavesdrop

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Thursday, February 26, 2004 9:34 AM
To: karen
Subject: (no subject)


Hi, how are you feeling today? Did you get your reservation in Santa Fe changed? How's the new gal working out? Questions, questions.

I emailed Peggy and got one back. Chris's DUI was pot. He's over 18 now so it's a bigger deal. They are all going to Spain in April and then Chris is suppose to work in Yellowstone for the summer. Abby, as you know, will be in Glacier. She's just hoping Chris is allowed to go to Yellowstone. Stupid kid. You know how stoned you have to be to drive that badly?

Hope you have a good day.

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, February 26, 2004 9:46 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: (no subject)


Eyah, that�s pretty bad.

I haven�t changed my reservation yet, but I did bring in the paperwork! :)

The new gal appears to be working out well. I like her�she didn�t come in today, though! Apparently, she had numerous leaks sprout up in her ceiling last night. Hey, I can relate. In fact, I got a new leak last night, too. At about 3:00 in the morning, I was awoken to the feeling of rain dripping on my face! So I had to get up and move my bed out of the way, then put a bowl down to catch the drips. This on top of the leak in my window. Sheesh. And can I just say that it�s not very easy going to sleep to the sound of water drops all over your bedroom?

Well, guess what? Jamie canceled our date for tonight!** So here yesterday I was thinking I�ll be going out with one guy tonight then spending the weekend with another and now what do I have? Nothing. Nada. Zippo. What kind of fucked up man-karma do I have, anyway? (Note: John and I also decided that I would not be going up to his place this weekend)

Actually, I have the sinking suspicion that John may come down here for the weekend after all, but that sound you hear is the death knoll for my heated affair with the Hunky Drummer.

So I am going to see the Ravelers in San Dimas tomorrow night. In essence, I am going in order to make fun of Jeri�s boyfriend�s room-mate�s girlfriend. When they all went to see them in January, I guess this gal made quite a scene of dancing by herself and bending over in front of Pat and stuff. So I�m gonna go see. And mock.

This is what my social life has been reduced to.

Actually, I�m also going to see Mike and Mike play tonight. I found out yesterday they�re playing in my neighborhood so since I was planning on going out tonight anyway I figure I�ll go.

I think I�m gonna go get Ding Dong out of the machine outside�

Regards,

Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Thursday, February 26, 2004 10:05 AM
To: karen
Subject: Re: (no subject)


So, this girl was behaving that way with her boyfriend there? Strange. Alcohol does wonderful things.

Sorry about your date. What was his reason for cancelling?

I can't believe the new woman is taking off already. Not a good sign if you ask me.

Wish I could have a ding dong instead of just being one. Ha. I get to have lunch with Cathy so I'm happy to get something good to eat. I've been staying on my diet most of this week so I'm dying for something good.

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Thursday, February 26, 2004 10:12 AM
To: karen
Subject: Re: (no subject)


Well, we didn�t have any Ding Dongs left, so I had little chocolate donuts instead. The Breakfast of Champions, according to John Belushi.

And yes, that gal was behaving that way with her boyfriend in the room. This is one of the many reasons why I have no qualms about mocking her.

Tell Cathy I said hi. I�ve been thinking about her a lot because of her dad.

I ordered some clothes last week from Boston Proper (I always have to wait until they�ve having a sale). Just a dress and a top and some little shorts-thing for summer. Anyway, they are supposed to be delivered today�although the UPS guy probably won�t leave them and I�ll have to sign their little paper and will actually get my stuff tomorrow�

Regards,

Karen

Oh and his �reason for canceling� was he had to go �pick someone up.�

I really didn�t ask for clarification.

K

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, February 26, 2004 10:37 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: (no subject)


Well, now I just heard that the weirdo chick I was going to mock isn�t going to be there tomorrow night! They are going to Las Vegas.

Damn�everybody is canceling on me!

So now that means if I go I will just be going with Jeri and her boyfriend, Vince (and Sondra, who talked about possibly going, except that she is getting sick and now that the weirdo girl we were gong to mock won�t be there, she may not see the need to go). I can�t exactly tell Jeri I don�t want to go since the weirdo chick isn�t going�but we have already talked about the fact that it may be raining, so pray for rain and that way I�ll have a good excuse for not going..

Speaking of Vegas�Jody just told me that she and Leonard are also going to Vegas this weekend, for their friend Eric�s wedding. I wish I had money to go to Vegas!!!!!

Regards,

Karen

**So he says to me, after cancelling, that he has his son all weekend, but he can ask his dad to babysit. So he said to call him if I have nothing to do on Saturday...eyah, that'll happen.

~~~

Politics

Dear Apollo Ally,

In the same week that the Bush economic team made the outrageous claim that outsourcing jobs was �a good thing,� the Whitehouse circulated plans to alter federal Corporate Average Fuel Economy (CAF�) standards threatening to harm workers and the environment. The Apollo Alliance and its partners are fighting back�Read On!

Two Apollo Alliance supporters, Carl Pope, President of the Sierra Club and Ron Gettelfinger, President of the United Auto Workers union (UAW), have joined together to oppose Bush�s radical changes to CAFE. The rule changes would divide the vehicle fleet into different categories based on weight, and each category would have a different fuel economy standard allowing companies to manipulate fuel economy standards and outsource jobs to oversees plants. According to Pope and Gettelfinger, the changes would result in �a reduction in overall fuel economy and an increase in pollution. America�s dependence on foreign oil would increase...� and �thousands of jobs� will be lost.

Join the Sierra Club and the United Auto Workers union in opposing Bush�s proposed changes to CAF�. Click here to sign a petition.

To read Carl Pope and Ron Gettelfinger�s commentary in the New York Times, click here. To read more coverage on the issue, click here.

Also, this month, former Clinton Whitehouse Chief of Staff John Podesta delivered a speech about the Apollo Alliance�s positive vision for the future in Detroit Michigan. To read Mr. Podesta�s speech, click here.

Click here to sign our petition. Tell your friends! Together we can protect our environment and our workers!

~~~

BUSH MISLEADING ON SOCIAL SECURITY BEGINS

Yesterday, President Bush implicitly acknowledged for the first time that his Administration could attempt to reduce Social Security benefits for workers - a reversal from one of his core campaign pledges in 2000. Specifically, the president was asked his opinion on Federal Reserve Chairman Alan Greenspan's assertion that, in order to balance the budget, Social Security benefits should be cut. Bush responded, "My position on Social Security benefits is this: those benefits should not be changed for people at or near retirement." However, the president specifically refused to say he opposed cutting future guaranteed benefits for younger and middle-aged workers.

The president's refusal to discuss younger workers was a departure from his very clear position in 2000 in which he said he did not support cuts in future Social Security benefits for anyone - young or old. Less than two months before the 2000 election, then-Governor Bush said in Florida that people were saying, "'You know, if George W. becomes the president, he's going to take away your Social Security check.'" To which Bush added, "Don't believe it. Here's my pledge to the people of Florida: A promise made by our government will be a promise kept when I become the president of the United States."

Certainly, President Bush has talked about his plan to privatize Social Security. However, he has obscured the fact that the plan could result in cuts to guaranteed benefits for younger workers. He has also declined to openly discuss the fact that, at a time of record deficits, his "own economic team estimates that a move to private accounts would add an additional $4.7 trillion to the debt". And, most importantly, Bush refused to fully disassociate himself with Greenspan's call to reduce benefits.

Visit Misleader.org for more about Bush Administration distortion

~~~

Word of the Day for Thursday February 26, 2004

malapropism mal-uh-PROP-iz-uhm, noun:
The usually unintentionally humorous misuse of a word, especially by confusion with one of similar sound; also, an example of such misuse.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com