Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Friday, May. 14, 2004
hasta, kids!

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Woo-Hoo!! Short day today, because I am off to enjoy the sun and beautiful coastline of the Santa Cruz area. I�m really looking forward to it. But of course, that means I have no time to think, let alone write some goofy nonsense about reality television or my sex life for you kids to read.

So instead, here�s a little email eavesdrop for ya�

Have a wonderful weekend, kids!

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, May 13, 2004 12:56 PM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: Mendocino County California�


Hey there!

So it�s official � John and I are going to Mendocino July 5 � 8. I confirmed our reservation today. Attached is the web page for the place we�re staying this time. We�re in the Bessie Strauss room. :)

Of course, I don�t know what I�m gonna do without a television for three days�

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Thursday, May 13, 2004 1:57 PM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: Mendocino County California�


It looks wonderful. I'm curious to know how the "feather bed" goes. Let me know.

I got my pics from Santa Fe. Luckily I didn't take many cuz they stink. Seriously. I am really not happy with that 400 speed supposedly versatile film. I don't think it's any good. Either that or my camera is wearing out. That could be too. Either that or I just don't take the time to think about exposure when I'm taking a picture. That's very likely. Oh well. I got a nice one of Santuria Chimayo and that is really all I wanted.

Call me later and let me know if you're stopping by.

GO LAKERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, May 13, 2004 2:28 PM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: Mendocino County California�


Yeah, I�ll call ya from Jeri�s place when I�m leaving. It will probably be between 8:30-9:00, depending on when I get there. My official appointment time is 7:30, but she wants me to come as early as 7:00 if I can. It all just depends on traffic. And I guess I won�t stay at Mom and Dad�s for very long.

I thought that about the feather bed, too. I�ll let ya know. :) I�m more worried about John�s back than me, but I�m sure we�ll be fine. Plus, I kind of assume the feather bed part sits on top of the regular mattress, in which case if we get desperate we can always take it off.

I like that even though the place is a B&B, it�s generally private. I like that they deliver the breakfast to the room. John will, too. Plus, it has a nice view. :) I was kind of surprised that room was still available, actually. We are going the week after July 4 � you�d think a lot of places would be booked, especially since it�s only two months away. I know the place is expensive but honestly it�s one of the more reasonable rooms with that much of an ocean view that I have found � most are at LEAST $15 more per night and usually more than that. Of course a lot of those places give you a complimentary bottle of wine in your room and have free wine and munchies in the afternoon (whereas we have an afternoon tea), but John has cut back on his wine-intake anyway because of the sugar (he has a family history of Diabetes, you know, so that is also a worry and a huge part of the changes he�s making in his diet).

It�s hard for me to find a place to stay in Mendocino. First of all, hardly any place has King size beds � that�s the biggest issue. Secondly, it�s actually hard to find a room that has an ocean view, oddly enough. It�s just the way the actual town is situated, I guess. A view isn�t crucial, but it�s sure nice to have. Of course, everything is also way expensive, which is also a consideration.

I know you want us to go to Cambria. :) Actually, I do too. There are a lot of places I want to go, even in California, that we could have gone over these few days. We discussed a few options, but John decided he really wanted to go back to Mendocino. I wanted him to make this decision because this trip is actually kind of a present for him. At least, I am paying for the room as a gift. I fully expect him to at least take me out to a nice dinner while we�re there. :) So anyway � may as well take him where HE wants to go. John has this thing, too � when he really likes a place, he likes to keep going back there. I mean, I love Santa Fe more than your average bear, but even I sometimes say � �Dude, wouldn�t you like to go somewhere new?� At least we�ve only been to Mendocino once. And I would love to go back, too. If nothing else, I want to do a lot more wine-tasting. :) I guess we�ll just go to Cambria some other time. Hell, we could meet there, just for a weekend.

Why do all the places we could meet for a weekend have to be so expensive, though? Cambria, Pismo Beach�even rooms in Solvang can get expensive.

Although I�m sure your pictures are better than you think, you�ve been talking about that camera for quite a while now and I don�t think you always use the same kind of film, do you? Plus, I think the last time I borrowed it, I had similar issues. I need to buy a camera, too. One of these days�sadly, it won�t be before I go on this little trip.

Talk to ya later!

Regards,

Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Thursday, May 13, 2004 2:40 PM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: Mendocino County California�


have been using the same film for quite awhile actually. Do you want to borrow my camera?

I didn't know diabetes ran in John's family. Geez!

You do really need to go to Cambria. You'll find out you should been going there for years! It's a great place to meet in the middle. I guess if we don't go to Hood River in October, maybe we will get to Cambria later this year. I kinda doubt we will do much cuz we have to plumb our savings back up and do a few other things that cost money. Arnett is going to Joe's graduation also next month. That will cost.

Did you get Chris's [graduation] announcement? I sent him $25. and a nice card.

Talk to you later.

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, May 13, 2004 2:43 PM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: Mendocino County California�


I did get his announcement, yes. I haven�t sent him anything yet, though. And frankly, now that I just had to pay for the first night of my trip, I don�t really have any extra money.

Hey, not that I�m selfish or anything! :)

I may want to borrow your camera. I�ll let you know for sure, later.

And yes, John�s sister Kitty and brother Mike both have Diabetes, as well as other people in his family. So that�s another thing they are keeping a close watch on. That�s the main reason he was told to cut back on drinking � he has to cut back on ALL sugar. In our efforts to keep him healthy, we tried whole wheat pasta for the first time last weekend. It was good � not as good as the real thing, but it was close enough. :)

Regards,

Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Thursday, May 13, 2004 2:42 PM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: Mendocino County California�

Oh yeah and Arnett is the same way about wanting to go back to the place he has fallen in love with. I'm pretty bad too. We both want to go back to Montana......and Alaska.......and Hood River........and always Santa Fe. We talk about that problem all the time. I would even go to the same places in Ireland and England again. Jeepers Mike.

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, May 13, 2004 3:12 PM
To: Barbara>
Subject: Re: Mendocino County California�


I know�I�m kind of like that, too. Especially now that I haven�t really been anywhere for a while � I really want to go back to Colorado, for instance. It�s especially that way when you go somewhere and then want to take your honey or someone else back to the same place.

I just hope John stays where he is so for a while. That way, assuming we�re going to stay involved in some way, we can actually use his two weeks of vacation time!

I am really hoping we actually go on a trip next year. I totally want to go to Montana in a major way and since John wants to go to Yellowstone, it would be perfect. Plus, I have a year to save money and since I�m moving I�ll actually be able to do so. :)

Didn�t you just get back from vacation? I guess I shouldn�t get you thinking about it again so soon�:)

Regards,

Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Thursday, May 13, 2004 3:20 PM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: Mendocino County California�

Hey, has John ever been to Yellowstone? Too bad you would have to go in July but it's better than not getting to go.

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, May 13, 2004 3:20 PM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: Mendocino County California�


No, he�s never been. We watch the Travel Channel a lot, though. :) That�s why he wants to go. I think he wants to see all the geysers and paint pots and stuff, but I also know he wants to see all of the wildlife. As far as wildlife viewing goes, it�s really hard to beat that area. I assume it will be crowded, but yes � it�s WAY better than not going at all.

And yeah, it sucks we�d have to go in July. But we�ll go early-July and like I said before � most of Glacier doesn�t even open until mid-to-late-June anyway. And hopefully there will still be baby critters (remember how they were all over when we went in June?).

Regards,

Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Friday, May 14, 2004 10:54 AM
To: Karen
Subject: (no subject)

Hi-

Wanted to wish you a nice weekend. You sure are looking nice and fit! All that walking is really making you look healthy. I thought you looked cute in a ball cap too. I haven't seen you like that for years. Alisa and I are doing the trail at 5:00 today. I know it will be hot but I have gained ALL my weight back and feel just like a big ole lug.

I know I said it before but I'm really happy that you've come to the conclusions you have about your life and stuff. You are a decent person. You've been way too hard on yourself for years. Just being confident in that will help you immeasurably dealing with Sondra, coworkers and whoever. I just re read your last email about Sondra and I remembered I wanted to say this stuff last night. The only benefit to growing older is the wisdom that comes with it. You're just so right about how you've put yourself out for Sondra, done things with her when you would really rather have not and trying to be supportive. It all goes for naught because basically, she isn't happy and we can't make her happy. I really hope this therapy they are having has some benefit for her. However, I think we're destined to have good Sondra years and bad Sondra years. That's really sad. Anyway, congratulations, you're on the road to being comfortable with yourself and who you are. I hope we can both stay on that road. It is a life long journey, isn't it? Geez, I sound like some dopey newage psychotherapist or something. I'll stop now!

Have a great weekend. Be careful and say hi to John.

Love,
b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Friday, May 14, 2004 11:18 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: (no subject)

Good Lord, you are CRAZY! :) In a good way, of course. But I think I look like such a dork in my ball cap. And now my forehead is a shade lighter than the rest of my face, because of the sun. I wear sunscreen, but you know how that goes � I still get a little. And it�s making little blotches on my face, too, which is another reason I look bad.

Hey, but thanks! I�m so good at taking compliments�:)

Your note is very sweet. I know I�ve been all weird for the past few months, but I really DO appreciate all of your support and of course I just like you as a person. It�s just been a rough transitional time for me for the past like six months or so�or like since Sept. 11, 2001! But especially recently. I think I�m finally on the up-swing, though, and like I said before � I think this thing with Sondra and all of the stuff at work will all have been a really good thing for me.

But thank God I have you around. Who in the world would understand all of this crap if not for you?

Thank you again. I love you bunches.

You have a nice weekend too and don�t kill yourself on your hike!

Hasta

Oh and and thanks again for the wine and wine glasses! :) They are too cute�

Regards,

Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Friday, May 14, 2004 11:34 AM
To: Karen
Subject: (no subject)

You're very welcome. I hope you like the wine. It's always difficult for me at these wine tasting things. It depends on so much. Like, I was starving when I tasted this time. I was eating hand fulls of the crackers they had just so I didn't get drunk! It was alot of fun but I still had to drive back to Santa Fe. Black Mesa winery is closer to Taos than Santa Fe.

Love you bunches too!

b

~~~

BUSH REFUSES TO CONDEMN PROPONENTS OF TORTURE

President Bush has publicly deplored the treatment of Iraqi prisoners at Abu Ghraib, having apologized for the fiasco. Yet, just days after his apology, the White House is refusing to condemn its right-wing allies who are making light of the situation and defending torture.

For instance, conservative radio host and White House supporter Rush Limbaugh this week called the torture "decent punishment," said soldiers were simply "having a good time, and also said "I don't see the big deal here" (1). White House spokesman Scott McClellan refused to answer when asked how the President felt about those comments (2). Additionally, when McClellan was asked whether Vice President Cheney would continue appearing on Limbaugh's show (as he did in March), McClellan again refused to comment (3).

Similarly, Sen. James Inhofe (R-OK), who President Bush has repeatedly praised as an ally, said that he was "more outraged by the outrage" than by the abuse (4). Inhofe also said that all the prisoners are "murderers, terrorists and insurgents" (5) despite the fact that the Red Cross notes that between 70% and 90% of the Iraqi detainees were "arrested by mistake" (6). The White House again has refused to rebut these comments, in stark contrast to other Republicans like Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-SC) who said such comments are "undercutting us in terms of our international standing" (7).

NOTE: Make sure to see the new television ad by Media Matters about Rush Limbaugh's comments at www.mediamatters.org.

Sources:
1. Media Matters for America.
2. Press Briefing by Scott McClellan, 05/06/2004
3. Press Gaggle with Scott McClellan, 05/11/2004
4. President Bush Calls on Congress to Act on Clear Skies Legislation, 09/16/2003
5. Senator 'Outraged at Outrage' in Iraq Prison Case, Reuters, 05/11/2004
6. Up to 90% of Iraqi detainees arrested by mistake, Red Cross says, Chicago Sun-Times, 05/11/2004
7. Iraq prison debate takes partisan turn, Houston Chronicle, 05/11/2004

Visit Misleader.org for more about Bush Administration distortion

~~~

Word of the Day for Friday May 14, 2004

roue roo-AY, noun:
A man devoted to a life of sensual pleasure; a debauchee; a rake.

~~~

What Was the ikss Saying Two Years Ago?


�Mota and Buffy. Like sex and candy.�

- - from no sleep for me



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com