Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, May. 27, 2004
the ikss is a dork v. 27

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Apparently, I don�t really know how to do my taxes�

As I believe I have mentioned here previously, when I prepared my state taxes for 2003, the end result was I was to get only a few dollars as a refund. For the past two years, mind you, I have had to pay the state, so I made some adjustments on my withholding for 2003 and I figured the miniscule refund I was to receive this year made sense. Since I wasn�t going to get much money back, though, I was in no rush to send in my forms. I think I mailed my state forms off on April 13.

Well�imagine my surprise when I got home last night and found a check in excess of $296 in my mailbox.

God bless the state of California.

This is also why I play Black Jack with the cards facing up, by the way. I can�t be trusted around the math (especially after inhaling free booze all day and night, although that hardly accounts for my tax refund error).

God bless Black Jack dealers who help you with the math without your having to ask them to do so.

Of course, since gas today is $2.35/gallon and goes up every stinkin� day (would that I were exaggerating), I should save my newfound money to fill up my tank.

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, May 27, 2004 11:27 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: howdy!


Good Lord, what a morning! The Little Big Man is out sick again, first of all (and without thinking I went in to this office and used his freakin� phone without sanitizing it first!). And we had a huge issue with a problem customer this morning. In truth, it�s kind of been one problem after another since I walked through the door. The good news is that the LBM said some very nice things to me over the phone after I handled the problem. :) Let�s hope he remembers that when it�s time to give me a raise�

Anyway...in the ever-changing landscape that is my schedule, while I am still going hiking with you Saturday morning, I am going to John�s from your house. When he and I talked on Tuesday, I had mentioned the possibility, but I THOUGHT we had decided I shouldn�t waste the money (not that it�s all that expensive, but you know how it is). Then we didn�t talk on Wednesday. So last night he calls and says, �So are you definitely coming down this weekend�?

Huh?

Anyway, since I received that little surprise last night, courtesy of the lovely state of California, I decided I�d go up there and goof around. He is spending Saturday with his family anyway, so I�ll just drive up there after we�re done. I�ll get there in the evening and just wait for him to get home from his family shin dig. My plan was always to drive up there Sat. morning rather than Friday night anyway, so it all works out. I�ll go to Mom�s before I go over your house, to borrow their cell.

Speaking of Mom�her back is hurting her again. :(

So I watched most of Al Gore�s speech last night. God bless him. It�s terribly unfortunate that he didn�t show this much personality when he was actually running for office, though.

I also heard that Fan-tay-see-ya is our new American Idol. Based on the three minutes of the show I have actually seen all season, I am happy about that. I liked what I saw of her. I made the mistake, though, of switching over to Fox for about thirty seconds of some group song where all of the top 10 or whatever were signing together. I have never in my life heard anything so embarrassing. Of course, I only heard two of them singing (Jasmine and some dude), but they were both off key the entire time and none of them could dance. What the hell kind of crap are they feeding us anymore? I also saw the end of the top two singing "The Impossible Dream" with Ruben and Kelly (I was channel surfing while waiting for the World Poker Tour to begin. You know - good television). Uh�no comment.

These people suck. Where are our real artists? The music business is pathetic anymore.

OK I have to go to Wal Mart. I�m out of toilet paper again. I swear, I use more t.p. than an entire family of four. Plus, I�m starving to death, I had a Naked Juice on my way to work, intending to also eat some yogurt or fruit or something when I got here�but as the shit has been continually hitting the fan all morning, I haven�t found the chance to go to the fridge and grab what I need. Now it�s pert near lunch time, so I think I�ll grab a chicken sammich at Subway on my way to Wal Mart.

Talk to ya later!

Love ya!

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Thursday, May 27, 2004 11:38 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: howdy!


Whew. Take a minute. I'm glad you're going to have some lunch and get out of there for a minute.

Are you SURE you want to walk Saturday? I don't mind if you cancel out on me, you know? I'm not Sondra. Let me know now though so I can cancel out on Cathy if you cancel out on me. Just kidding, Alisa and I are going anyway.

Oh yeah, I loved Al and I totally agree. I told Arnett after we watched the 2nd airing that it would have been great if he could have shown some of that passion and eloquence when he was RUNNING FOR PRESIDENT! I thought he said all the stuff I've been saying to myself and he put it alot better!

I was for Fantasia since I started watching. I really can't stand those others, no. Rueben is always going off and I have said that to Alisa since I first saw him. She loves him though. Clay was THE ONLY ONE last year that didn't go off key at any time. This year was the same. I even think Fantasia did a few times. The judges never mentioned it with her though. I think they knew who should win a very long time ago. She's got it. By the way, Alisa told me that her mother said that Fantasia won just because she's black. Tell me again why I've always done things for this woman?

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Thursday, May 27, 2004 12:57 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: re: howdy!


I�m actually doing well. I don�t feel agitated or stressed - just busy.

Yes, I still want to go Saturday. I don�t want to leave any earlier than noon anyway, because if I do John won�t even be there when I get there. As it is, I�ll most likely get there before him (which is OK � I�ll just shower while he�s out). Plus, I have been wanting to go on this little hike with you for a while, so�I�m going. :) This also gives me the chance to go to Mom�s Saturday morning, rather than having to drive out there Friday night.

Fantasia did go off key a few times, even in the little bit that I�ve seen her. But yeah � she makes up for it. Plus, a lot of that probably has to do with nerves and just not being in shape for that much singing. Singing is actually kind of a work out and if you don�t have the support of your whole body behind your voice, you tend to go off key (fall flat, especially). Gotta train your breathing and stomach muscles, ya know? That will hopefully go away with experience. She actually reminds me a little bit of Tina Turner.

And I just don�t know what to say about Alisa�s mom. There was not even any comparison between the two gals. What a silly thing to say. At least had she said that last year she would have had a little bit more ammo, because Clay is much more talented than Ruben. But either way � yes, a stupid thing to say.

While I was at Wal Mart, there was a van in the parking lot which had �Lakers� and �Shaq� and his number written all over it. Hee. :)

Regards,
Karen

~~~

Word of the Day for Thursday May 27, 2004

fetor FEE-tuhr; FEE-tor, noun: A strong, offensive smell; stench.

~~~

What Was the ikss Saying Two Years Ago?


�after the spa treatments, lots of fabulous sex, the champagne, the Jacuzzi and the mota, we were both walking around like over-cooked spaghetti noodles.�

--From my teeth are chattering



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com