Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Friday, Mar. 26, 2004
internet dating

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
First of all - go read this entry, which I just stumbled upon this morning.

OK, can I just say that all of this hullabaloo over Bush making fun of his search for �Weapons of Mass Destruction� during last night�s Press Corps shin dig is a bit much? I mean, come on�its not like the rest of us don�t joke about it. I�m sure had Jay Leno found those pictures before Dubya showed them, he�d have made the same jokes. Sure, it shows little class for Dubya to make such jokes; they�re certainly not jokes I would have made, in his position. But come on�we never thought he had class to begin with. Lighten up, people, and stop trying to make every tiny thing in to a huge issue. We have plenty of legitimately huge issues to concentrate on.

And over in Dem-land, we of course had a huge shin-dig of our own last night; complete with a handful of ex-Presidents and Presidential hopefuls. Presenting a united front and in the process gathering together $11 million for the parties coffers. My buddy Jimmy was there, even, chastising Ralph Nader for potentially sabotaging the race again by running.

But let�s talk about something much more important, i.e. me.

In what I�m sure will shortly be considered an ill-advised, spur-of-the-moment move, I put an online personals ad up two days ago. It�s not at one of the famous sites, so don�t go over there and look for me or anything. In fact, I�d never heard of the site I went to, before two days ago. And then, I was so shocked that our crack-security team over here at work even allowed me access to the site that something in me got all excited and I just had to stay late that night in order to fill out a profile.

I actually saw several guys on the site who appeared to be interesting, so we�ll see how this goes. I�m not sure how I feel about the whole internet-dating thing, really, but I do make good first impressions with guys, so maybe it will work well for me (it�s only after they know me for a few days that the problems set in). If nothing else, my dating pool could significantly widen, which is always a good thing. I must get away from the Musicians and Salesmen that I seem to be surrounded by.

I�ve already begun an email exchange program with a couple of guys � one of whom actually interests me (the other lives in San Diego, was in the Air Force for a number of years and still works for the Navy. Something tells me we may not be a match made in heaven).

John is coming down again this weekend. I am looking forward to seeing him, actually. I�ve been feeling kind of�well, you know, I�ve been down lately. John can sometimes be like a big comfy blanket when I�m feeling blue�of course, he can also sometimes make matters ten times worse, but lets keep our hopes up for this weekend shall we? Last weekend he managed to do both, within a twenty-four hour period. Granted, when I got home from seeing the-band-with-the-incredibly-stupid-name on Saturday night, I was not in the best of emotional places. John, like most men, has a huge problem dealing with me when I�m just being irrational and emotional. He even asked me, at one point, �So what happened tonight that has you so upset?�

You know �like anything has to happen to make a girl upset. Sheesh.

But anyway, then on Sunday he was sweet as pie and understanding and we had a nice talk before he left.

It�s all just a throw of the dice with that man.

In spite of the pathetic fact that I am trying not to think about the fact that the Hunky Drummer has not called me to ask me out for tonight (not that he was supposed to or anything. I was just holding out hope. Hence the word �pathetic�), I can not tell you how happy I am that today is Friday. Yesterday dragged by in meeting-infested drudgery and I found myself several times tempted to forcibly stick my letter-opener thru my eyeball�or somebody�s eyeball, anyway. I feel bad for the Little Big Man, because he can tell there�s something just not quite on with me. I�m not exactly in a bad mood or doing shoddy work or anything�there�s just something a little off. I�m not talking very much; I am coming in about half an hour later than usual and I keep leaving at reasonable hours of the evening. I know he knows something is wrong, but he�s my boss. He knows I�ll talk to him if I need to, but he doesn�t like to pry in to my life, ya know? We know far too much about each other as it is. However, I know it must be driving him crazy not to know what�s going on with me.

My brother Mark actually called me on the phone two nights ago, just to chat. That�s just�weird. Anyway, apparently, he�s going to break up with his girlfriend (Meg Ryan). She is starting with the �committed-relationship-pressure� I think. He is so not ready for that. I�m kind of glad they�re breaking up. I�m not all that impressed by her.

I guess that�s it, kids. Here�s hoping ya�ll have a wonderful weekend.

~~~

Word of the Day for Friday March 26, 2004

mephitic muh-FIT-ik, adjective:

1. Offensive to the smell; as, mephitic odors.

2. Poisonous; noxious.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com