Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
ketchup

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Yeah, so that Long Beach guy? I think I�ve decided he�s just an ass.

I think I may discontinue use of the internet-dating site, since it�s not really working for me. I guess I could just leave my profile up and see what happens, without actually working at it in any way. OK, that�s what I�ll do.

Isn�t it nice how I use your time to just jot down what comes to mind, as it happens? You can watch the decision-making process at work, here.

In fact, I only just now decided that Long Beach guy is an ass. I just got an email from him that made the decision for me, actually.

In better news�I had such a fabulous weekend!

First of all and in case you've been hiding under a rock for the past few days and thus have not yet heard - the Lakers beat San Antonio in the second round of the playoffs. After losing the first two games, they swept the next four. What turned out to be the last game of that series was Saturday and since it was in the evening I actually got to see the entire second half. I was afraid I�d miss the game entirely, so I was happy about that. After tonight's game between Minnesota and Sacramento, we'll find out who we're playing in the next round.

So as you may know, I drove up north to spend the weekend with John. I left work on Friday at about 12:30 (cool, in and of itself). The only icky part of my weekend happened immediately, so at least I got it all out of the way. Traffic on the way up to Santa Cruz sucked the big nut. Traffic through Los Angeles was pretty much par for the course (which means - it sucked). The only saving grace there was the fact that John Doe was on the radio for an hour, being semi-interviewed by Steve Jones (I say "semi" because...well, Steve Jones can barely form a coherent sentence these days, let alone formally "interview" someone. It's refreshing, really) on 103.1. In truth, I thought his new recordings that they played were pretty mediocre, but I always love to hear what John Doe has to say and just the sound of his singing voice is enough to make any song a notch above the rest anyway.

Anyway, aside from my John Doe-accompanied Los Angeles traffic jam, there were also two accidents on the 5 freeway, all within the first 140 miles of my drive. Therefore, by the time I called John (from Buttonwillow, at approx. mile 150), I was already about 40 minutes behind schedule. Luckily, traffic moved pretty smoothly from there on out. There were a lot of cars on the road, but at least they were all moving.

After making a quick stop at a produce stand to pick up some fresh strawberries and cherries, I did get to John�s in time for us to go out to dinner (I had told him if he wanted to go ahead & eat since I was running late it was OK by me, but the chose not to). I had the yummiest salmon that night, folks. It freakin� melted in my mouth. Mmm Mmm Good!

Saturday, we took the bike on a ride up the coast to Half Moon Bay and had lunch there. It was a really pretty trip, but it was also very cold. We had really pretty weather at John�s house, but like the dork I am, I didn�t take some things in to consideration when packing for this trip - like how cold the air is and how much colder it would be father up north, along the coast. So I only brought my denim jacket to wear over my normal clothes. Now let me tell you, kids, in case you have never been on a motorcycle before...it gets cold, even in nice weather. Air that is pleasant to feel under normal circumstances becomes frigid when it�s whipping around you at sixty miles an hour. When that air is only about fifty-eight degrees, as it was on parts of this trip along the coast...well, I am lucky not to have lost several digits to frostbite. Anyway, so John lent me a sweatshirt which I wore under my jacket and I had gloves on, but I was still pretty darn cold. My only savior really was the fact that his bike has heated seats � they kept everything but my arms warm. :) The air normally (while riding on the bike) was pretty cold and then as we got north of Santa Cruz the wind picked up, which of course made it worse. And THEN, by the time we got to Half Boon Bay the sun was gone and it was all cloudy. I was cold. Anyway, after we left Half Boon Bay, we took a highway home which goes through the mountains. That was also gorgeous and after we got out of the foggy area it warmed up quite a bit. We stopped and took a short hike through the redwoods. It was really nice - that drive was beautiful and so much fun on the bike. Then we just went home, took a nap and went out to dinner (more fish � Ono, this time) and came home to watch the Lakers.

On Sunday we went for a 5 mile walk in the morning (quickly negated by the imbibing of a croissant at this little place called �The Farm� which serves yummy baked goods). Then we took a ride in to San Juan Bautista. It�s a cute, old town, inland from where John lives. We�d been there once before and I may have written about it. They have a pretty mission there, but also the whole town is just full of old, historic buildings. We just rode over there and had lunch and walked around for a while. It was a lovely day and a really pretty drive thru rolling hills and farmland. Also, John showed me where he works now (he works over in that direction now). It wasn�t so cold this time, because we weren�t on the coast. As a matter if fact, I think my nose and cheeks got a little pink. I had sunscreen on, but...actually, I think I need to buy some new sunscreen. Mine seems to have lost its screening abilities.

Oh and also? I ate a lot - and I mean a LOT - of ice cream over the weekend. John bought each of us a pint of Ben and Jerry�s on Friday. Then we also had ice cream at a little shop in San Juan Bautista. Sheesh. I�ve eaten more ice cream in the last four days than I ate during all of 2003. And that doesn�t even include all of the chocolate covered strawberries�

~~~

email eavesdrop:

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, May 18, 2004 10:30 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: RE: Sunday


How are you this morning?

I just talked to Mom for a minute. I forgot to call her yesterday. She sounded good.

I got an email from Cathy this morning, just saying hi. She still seems to be in a good mood. She was in a good mood when we went out that night, too. That�s nice to see.

Talk to ya later!

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Tuesday, May 18, 2004 11:03 AM
To: Karen
Subject: Re: Sunday


I'm good. Just working.

I bought Joe a pen for his graduation. It's gorgeous. I'll try to remember to bring it Sunday so you can see it. Arnett is going to make him a nameplate out of some stone. You know, for his desk. I can have the name plate engraved fairly quickly when he gets the stone finished. Oh..... are you coming Sunday? You probably don't know yet. Did you talk to your landlord?

Yeah, Cathy seems good. I'm glad. I kinda miss hanging out with you guys on a regular basis. Hopefully we three can get together soon.

Love,
b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, May 18, 2004 11:16 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: Sunday


I assume I will be there Sunday, but I really don�t know yet. I didn�t talk to Darla because she had a friend over when I got home last night, so I didn�t want to bug her. If I decide to come, do you think I should bring a green salad?

I have a lot of work, also. Plus, Rob has the day off and the Little Big Man told me yesterday he is leaving at around 2:30. Now Kim just told me she has to take half day, too, to go to the doctor and have her ears irrigated. So that leaves me to release everybody�s orders and handle any other �issues�. I love it when this happens. Actually, although I get really busy, it�s not too bad. On the rare occasion that the Little Big Man gets left alone like this, he freaks out. He�s a mad stress monster.

If nothing else, hopefully you and Cathy and I will get together next month for that auction. I have the feeling I�m gonna end up moving in mid-June, though. It just doesn�t seem like it�s gonna happen by June 1. First of all, the apartment isn�t ready yet. Also, that would really mean I�d move over Memorial weekend in two weeks. While it would be great to have that Monday off while I am getting settled in, it looks like I won�t have John that weekend. His brother Mike is going up to stay with Colleen (the one who lives in Martinez) that weekend, so Colleen has invited John and Charlene (the one who lives in the San Jose area) over that Sunday for a little get-together. Obviously, I can�t move by myself.

I am hoping I get to go to Las Vegas on the company in mid-October. This year, the credit conference doesn�t interfere with the Breast Cancer 3 Day, so I am hoping I can talk the LBM in to letting me go for a change. If that happens, maybe you and Cathy can come for the weekend (Oct. 15-17) or something�??? I�ll keep you in the loop and let you know any info. as soon as I can get it.

Talk to ya later!

Regards,
Karen

~~~

Word of the Day for Tuesday May 18, 2004

accede ak-SEED, intransitive verb:
1. To agree or assent; to give in to a request or demand.
2. To become a party to an agreement, treaty, convention, etc.
3. To attain an office or rank; to enter upon the duties of an office.

~~~

What was the ikss Saying Two Years Ago?


��drink water and pee, drink water and pee, drink water and pee�such is the cycle of my days.�



- - from heart flippin� madness



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com