Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004
mish-mash of matters

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Give to your American Red Cross this season.

Your contribution means a great deal to our organization, but even more to the families who rely on the Red Cross to help them through the most difficult times of their lives...like the recent hurricane victims. In this effort alone, Red Cross served over 16 million meals, and sheltered 425,000 people. We couldn't have done it without the support of the American public whose gifts enabled us to respond immediately, and help so many in need.

Red Cross disaster assistance is free. It�s our long-standing promise to be there for those in need. But we must rely on voluntary donations from the American public that allow us to continue providing such lifesaving services.

Your donation will help support vital programs and services such as disaster preparedness and relief, CPR and first aid training, support for the military and their families and providing a safe and adequate blood supply for patients in need.

In this spirited season of giving and goodwill, please support your American Red Cross and make your own personal difference.

Thank you ... and we wish you and your family a safe and happy holiday!

American Red Cross
Together, we can save a life

*

Also � don�t forget to donate blood. Blood supplies are dangerously low and this is especially evident during the holiday season. Lots of holiday parties = lots of holiday accidents = lots of people who need blood.

I myself am next donating blood on Monday the 20th. And I know you want to be just like me, when you grow up. So make you appointment now.

~~~

Still looking for holiday gifts?

How about a water buffalo? When you're looking for that perfect gift, consider a water buffalo, or a goat, or a dozen chicks from Heifer International's Gift Catalog. Better than another sweater, these unique gifts will please your friends and family - and help end hunger from Appalachia to Zambia.

This year, give a gift that helps create a better world. Give an animal from Heifer's Gift Catalog. Click here.

*

I purchased a flock of chicks through this program, for my niece, as part of her Christmas gift. Don�t worry, I�m getting her lots of other stuff, too, but a flock of chicks is only $20 and therefore a nice addition to the stuff I've already purchased for her (and Mikey). One chicken can lay up to 200 eggs each year. Eggs are a valuable source of protein, of course, but extra eggs can also be sold. Plus, chicken shit is a great fertilizer.

~~~

Document: Intelligence Agents Who Saw Detainee Abuse Were Threatened
Memo reproduced in full at the Memory Hole.

~~~

Today, President Bush launched his drive to sell America his next big scam: privatizing Social Security as a "plan for the people". The President would deliver windfall profits to Wall Street managers who'd get to play with trillions of OUR Social Security dollars. And the American people? We'd have to exchange our safety net for a lottery ticket and benefit cuts.

Bush: Social Security Reform Needed Now

By LEIGH STROPE

WASHINGTON (AP) - President Bush said Thursday that �now is the time to confront Social Security� to deal with a projected $3.7 trillion, 75-year shortfall and give younger workers the ability to invest some of their contributions into personal accounts.

Bush also promised to send Congress �a tough budget� early next year to hold the line on federal spending. �If the deficit is an issue, which it is, it's going to require some tough choices on the spending side,� the president told a White House economic conference. . .

Bush said that dealing with Social Security would be a top priority. All participants on Thursday's panel, including financial service firm officials, supported Bush's Social Security plans.

AFL-CIO President John Sweeney said Wall Street's support for partial privatization was a conflict of interest, calling it �a risky scheme for America, but a sure bet for the financial services industry.�

Sweeney urged the Securities Industry Association to disavow Bush's planned overhaul. �Will the financial services industry behave as professionals with a duty to speak candidly to the investing public, or will elements of the industry once again seek to make money at the expense of their customers, only this time on a much grander scale?�' Sweeney said in a letter. . .

*

Sure, the deficit is an issue, you asshole! But it wouldn�t have been if you hadn�t fucked up our economy to this extreme so that you could give tax breaks to your rich friends! Now you want US to pay by fucking up our Social Security???????

Pardon my ire. This fucktard knows no bounds. And neither does my hatred for him.

~~~

I forgot to mention yesterday that I broke two of my vows over the weekend. I had french fries from Wendys on our way home from the HOB, so I had fast food. We didn't eat much while we were at the party, so D was starving and wanted a burger. So I had some fries. Then on Sunday, John and I went to Lucille�s for lunch and I had a piece of Tri Tip Quesadilla. Well...at least I only had one piece. Not too much red meat in there. And I had a smoked turkey sammich on squaw bread for lunch...and for dinner that night, because I could only eat half of it at lunch.

Of course, I don�t know why I want to track those times when I break my vows�

Hey, a bit of good news just came my way. As you know, I recently purchased a motorcycle cover for John�s Christmas gift and was upset to discover that it would take up to ten days to be delivered. Well, I just tracked the package and it appears they will attempt to deliver it to me TODAY! Woo-Hoo! I really hope this is true�of course, they also sent it �Priority Overnight� without charging me for that extra bit of service, so I guess I should take back all of the nasty things I said about BMW�s sucky website.

~~~

Word of the Day for Thursday December 16, 2004

recherche ruh-sher-SHAY, adjective:
1. Uncommon; exotic; rare.
2. Exquisite; choice.
3. Excessively refined; affected.
4. Pretentious; overblown.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com