Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, Feb. 12, 2004
model "reality"

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Why yes...yes, I did, in fact, just eat a Ding Dong. What�s it to ya?

OK, I may just have to eat my words in regard to Shandi.

(For you sheltered and/or underprivileged kids out there who may not know what I am writing about, I am of course referring to the Best Show Ever.)

So anyway, Shandi is really coming in to her own lately and is blossoming just like a tall, skinny flower. Plus, she tugged at my heart strings in this week�s episode...but then, so did almost everyone else. Even the dreaded Catie was far less annoying this week, (although I think there was a calculated move on her part to stop with the whining because she figured out it wasn�t exactly working to her advantage). You see, this was the week of the �inner turmoil reveal� in model-land. They spent some time talking to a psychic; some time talking to a �Personality Coach� and even more important and revealing time talking to Janice Dickinson all about their lives and the craziest place they�ve ever had sex (and let me just say � never get on a Ferris Wheel with Camille, mm-kay?). Their deepest secrets were revealed, their dark underbellies exposed.

Turns out Shandi used to do a lot of drugs and was even busted by The Man as a result. Also, her family apparently consists of people who should never, ever have been allowed to have children. So not only is she tall, very skinny, geeky and gawky, but now we know she is unloved and has battled many demons.

So now I have to root for her, right? She can�t go back to those horrible people! She can�t go back to Walgreens!

But my favorites are still Mercedes (who has Lupus), April (who is half-Japanese) and Sarah (who is half-Iranian and her father thinks modeling is akin to prostitution, but boy howdy is she gorgeous!).

Her disclosure of sex on a Ferris Wheel aside, Camille is still being painted as the token. Token bitch that is. Up until this week, I was actually feeling kind of bad for her, but...well, frankly, the girl is a complete freak.

We said good-bye this week to Xiomara who...well, she seemed like a very nice person, but she�s no major loss to the show. Yes, I would have preferred Camille to go, but Camille makes better television. I�d have nobody to hate without her.

This is gonna be a tight race, though, kids. I really have no idea who might win this thing, but I am leaning toward April. She looks just fabulous in pictures � in every picture, no matter what. Plus, she has a unique look and that whole half-Asian thing might work to her advantage.

Ooh...so exciting!

By the way...how awesome is it that the Cartoon Network shows The Family Guy every night at 11:00pm? That show was the most awesome animated show ever (sorry, Simpsons, sorry South Park kids - I love you guys, too, but The Family Guy was better). If ya�ll didn�t get the chance to see it due to Fox�s initial scheduling psychoses and their yanking it from their schedule altogether just as it started to actually gain a following (damn those network bastards!) watch the cartoon network. And don�t tell the feds but I think I�m gonna start taping them all if I can�t find �em on DVD right quick.

In other television news...I haven't watched Friends in like four years, but feel I should probably watch it tonight since Phoebe is getting married. Will I be totally lost?

~~~

Believe it or not, I don�t really feel like discussing politics right now. I just don�t have the energy, frankly. But suffice it to say that I am happy Wesley Clark dropped out of the race and just as happy that Howard Dean has not. Say what you like about Dean, but the Democratic Party owes him a huge debt of gratitude, if only for getting a whole lot of people in this country fired up and involved in ways they have not been for quite some time. For people disgusted by George W. Bush and looking for a real alternative, he has been a beacon of sorts. Plus, as I have said before, I believe him to be a relative straight-shooter ("relative" to most politicians, that is, which allows for some less-than accurate statements and also for his fear of fully disclosing his Gubernatorial records).

What�s interesting is the media�s insistence that Howard Dean is now a lost cause and that he should just give up. He is in second place in the number of delegates he has at this point. John Kerry is first, Dean second, John Edwards third. Why should someone who is in second place give up at this stage in the game? Sure, he�s pert near broke, but so long as he can convince his campaign workers to continue to back him without being paid, why not go for it? He is far from a lost cause. Don't count him out, yet.

And I won�t even mention (really, I won't) that fact that Dennis Kucinich came in second in both the Maine and Washington state primaries and yet still got barely a mention in the news media. It�s pretty sad when the man gets more coverage on Fox News than on CNN (which so many on the right like to call the �Clinton News Network� but we won�t even get in to how ridiculous that assertion is). No, Kucinich is not going to win the nomination. People who have read this diary for the past year know that I never expected him to. However, he is saying important things � things nobody else is saying, but that need to be heard. And sadly, few in the supposed �news� media give him a chance to be heard so only people like me � people who actually go out in search of stories and speeches rather than relying on the 30 second sound-bites occasionally afforded to politicians on the 6:00 news � really know what he�s saying.

That sounded a lot more pompous than I intended, but you get my drift.

~~~

Word of the Day for Thursday February 12, 2004

latitudinarian lat-uh-too-din-AIR-ee-un; -tyoo-, adjective: Having or expressing broad and tolerant views, especially in religious matters.

noun:

1. A person who is broad-minded and tolerant; one who displays freedom in thinking, especially in religious matters.

2. (Often capitalized) A member of the Church of England, in the time of Charles II, who adopted more liberal notions in respect to the authority, government, and doctrines of the church than generally prevailed.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com