Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Tuesday, Feb. 03, 2004
reality round-up and other stuff

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
In the immortal words of Bob Dylan: The answer, my friends, is...NO! No, he hasn�t called me!

Now ask me if this makes me happy.

In more important news...

I was rather disappointed in last night�s premier of The Inferno on Mtv.

Normally, these kids compete against each other in physical and mental games in an effort to win big prizes and cash rewards. In addition, we get the added pleasure of watching their petty fights, tirades and sexual encounters. Now, that�s all great t.v., babies. Well, apparently this time out they are going to be just like those other competitive reality shows (Fear Factor, Survivor, et al) and they are going for the gross out factor.

In just one show, they already had everyone filling their mouths with worms in one competition and two people wearing helmets full of Beetles and Hissing Cockroaches in another.

Now, my own desire to puke aside, I hate these types of �competition�. Not only are these games just like the ones on those other shows, they aren�t even true competitions. The games become not about physical and/or mental prowess, they become about who can handle having bugs crawl all over their heads and who can eat strange pig-body parts without tossing their tacos. Why is this a competition? So that all the fat, lazy, dumb people can presumably still win some dough?

Up until The Inferno Mtv�s Real World/Road Rules Challenges had been fun; exciting, even. I�m not saying I�m not gonna watch this new one, but I am disappointed...and I really hope last night�s show was a fluke as far as the gross-out factor goes...but I highly doubt it.

What is the world coming to?

One thing I did love was watching Syrus kick some serious ass after everyone was talking about how �old� he is at 31. And might I just point out that Road Rules� Timmy is even older than Syrus and nobody said shit about it? Might I ALSO point out that I could kick most of their asses sideways and I am even older than both of those dudes? You tellin� me I couldn�t whip Veronica�s or Coral�s ass at pretty much any physical competition even though I am apparently ancient and ready for the retirement home at age 37?

Come on over here, you little whipper-snappers. I�ll show ya what�s up.

Now...I haven�t yet talked about The Best Show Ever. It�s not because I�m not watching, rest assured. In fact, I now have my sister Sondra addicted to it, as well. That said...I just really haven�t formed an attachment to any of the participants, yet. Therefore, I haven�t had much to talk about. Yes, there is Shandi, the overly skinny dork who has no idea how to walk. She looks much better since they chopped and lightened her hair last week, but that�s really all I have to say about her (aside from the fact that it is terribly obvious that the only reason she remains on the show is so that they can magically transform the �Ugly Duckling� in to a swan before our very eyes. Ooh, that�s some good t.v.).

I do have one gripe and that is this: It is an absolute travesty that the lovely Bethany was eliminated in episode two. I say this because the only reason she was kicked off is because she has large breasts. As a D cup myself, I need to come to the defense of my sista! That just sucks! They kept that relatively-fat and highly annoying witch from last season on the show entirely too long, knowing she would never make it as a high-fashion model � they can�t make room for some ta-tas this year? Plus, I mean, it came down to her and freakin� Shandi and they chose Shandi????????

WTF?

I understand that Bethany�s bazoongas will make it difficult for her to be a high-fashion, runway model. But give the gal at least a small break. While I applaud the show�s efforts to give Shandi some confidence for when she goes back to Kansas City or wherever the fuck, and I understand their desire for good television storylines, that gal ain�t goin� nowhere in modeling after this show and we all know it. Bethany�s body might not be runway material, but she is gorgeous and can do many other things...like take Tyra Banks� Victoria�s Secret gig away from her, for instance.

Anyway, I don�t know yet who I want to win. Thus far, I like Mercedes; I like April (although her picture on the web page is far from flattering); I like Sara; I like...well, most of them, actually.

Of course, the best thing about the show is still Janice Dickinson.

Hee. :)

~~~

Well, Shaq�s dropping of the F-Bomb after Sunday�s Laker game earned him a one-game suspension and thus my boys got spanked in Indiana last night. *sigh*

~~~

And now...a few emails. I mentioned the PNAC during Sunday�s Superbowl party (hey, I am nothing if not lively with the party conversation) and so forwarded their web page to members of my family this morning. Thus, the following exchange:

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Tuesday, February 03, 2004 10:50 AM
To: karen
Subject: Re: Welcome to the Project for the New American Century.htm


The statement of principles is from 1997. Are these wackos really still involved with this? What was Dennis saying about them exactly? People need to know this.

The latest polls show Kerry ahead of Bush. Things may be looking up.

You should have seen the Audubon magazine we got yesterday. Totally trashed Bush! I loved it.

Did I tell you I joined the Sierra Club? I'm checking it out. I really like the NPCA (Natl. Parks and Conservation Asso.) the most but we'll see how this goes.

Sondra and I are going to see June. I'll tell her hi for you.

Thanks and I'll talk to you later,
b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, February 03, 2004 11:09 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: Welcome to the Project for the New American Century.htm


Hi!

They were all talking about Iraq and Dennis was basically saying that the present administration�s activities are extremely suspect, especially since they have had plans to invade the Middle East for a long time � long before we were attacked on Sept. 11. That�s when he mentioned the PNAC (but nobody followed up with any questions about it!). And yes, this is still an active project. Although the Statement of Principles is from 1997, they have continued to post articles and updates ever since. If you look at the �What�s New� tab, they have stuff posted from Feb. 2004.

I know it�s going to be a close race, but so long as nothing weird happens I really doubt Bush will get a 2nd term. However, I do NOT trust him; meaning, I think they will again attempt illegal things to get him elected, just like they did last time in Florida. That�s why I get pissed when people say we have to �move on and get over it� when it comes to that last election. We should never forget it and it should totally be investigated � you know, by people not affiliated with the Bush Administration. If that had happened in another country, Jimmy Carter would be there overseeing their next election. That�s also why the computerized ballots with no paper trail scare me � I don�t trust these guys. See http://www.blackboxvoting.com/ for some info, although I know I have articles around here somewhere which have to do specifically with California. My area actually still uses the old-school ballot boxes (for now, anyway), but if your only option is to use the computerized version, I would HIGHLY suggest voting by mail/absentee ballot.

I have actually belonged to the Sierra Club for a few years, you know...although I still haven�t done anything aside from send them money. :) I always think I�d like to do stuff with the group, but never do. They�re cool, I think, but some of their activists do get a bit wacky I guess. Their magazines are very informative, though.

So John Edwards said this morning that if he doesn�t win in S. Carolina (his home state), he will drop out and endorse John Kerry. Woo, big surprise. I�m telling ya, if he is not Kerry�s running mate, I will be shocked.

And yes � please tell June I said howdy. :)

Talk to ya later!

Regards,
Karen

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Tuesday, February 03, 2004 11:14 AM
To: karen
Subject: Re: Welcome to the Project for the New American Century.htm


I also think Edwards will be Kerry's running mate. He's gonna need to have a Southerner. I like Edwards and he likes Bruce (Springsteen) so what could be wrong with that pick?

b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Tuesday, February 03, 2004 11:19 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: Re: Welcome to the Project for the New American Century.htm


Hee. :) true... I like him, too.

Of course, with those two, my new project will become fighting for gay marriage rights. Oh well � I need something to keep me busy. :)

Regards,
Karen

~~~

Word of the Day for Tuesday February 3, 2004

languor LANG-guhr; LANG-uhr, noun:
1. Mental or physical weariness or fatigue.
2. Listless indolence, especially the indolence of one who is satiated by a life of luxury or pleasure.
3. A heaviness or oppressive stillness of the air.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com