Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Jan. 12, 2004
more emails

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Before I get to this morning�s email exchange between my beloved sister and I, here�s some info. which may serve to illuminate our discussion:

Friday night I went to see Lou�s new cover band, whose name I do not recall at the moment. Other members of this band include Robert, on bass. Robert is one of Lou�s married friends who find me irresistible. However, my experiences with his affections have not been so innocuous as those with Lou's other married friend, Dave. Robert cheats on his wife and has made every effort known to mankind to add me to the list of people with whom he has done so. This sucks for many reasons, not the least of which is that it means I can never just hang out with Lou�s friends without feeling extremely uncomfortable.

My brother, Mark, was there on Friday. Mark met a new lady-friend on New Year�s Eve. He described her to me as looking very much like Meg Ryan.

My brother is a �cup half-full� kind of guy.

However, every woman he has ever been seriously involved with has had this desire not to work for a living. This desire has manifested itself in many ways, but more often than not it ends up in some mysterious back ailment which disables the woman in question from working, even though her doctors have no explanation for the mysterious ailment.

One last thing I must mention, if only for purposes relating to the massaging of my ego�Mark said on Friday that men �flock� to me.

Um�

When does this happen and how am I managing to sleep though it?

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Monday, January 12, 2004 8:46 AM
To: karen
Subject: (no subject)


Hi, how was your weekend? How did it go Friday night?

Did you watch the debate last night? It was ok. Some new info.

This women that just came in for the 2nd time, wears some perfume that is the WORST thing on my sinuses! I've never had an experience with perfume this bad. She came in last Thursday early in the morning and I was sick all day. I mean, I thought I had a cold for sure. Then it went away Thursday night (usually with perfume, I'm better when the perfume leaves my environment!) and stayed gone so I knew it was the perfume. Anyway, here she is again with the same stinking stuff on! I'm talking ALOT of perfume. What the hell is wrong with people?

By the way, Arnett will not be coming to your party. He just doesn't feel up to it. He's ok but just doesn't want to be around alot of stuff he shouldn't have. He is having to be extremely careful right now. I'm pretty sure I'll come, but I have to see who is going in that direction. I don't want to drive down by myself.

Hope you have a good monday morning.

bye
b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Monday, January 12, 2004 10:56 AM
To: Barbi
Subject: (no subject)


Hola!

Whew! I�ve gotten off to a rather busy morning�

Sorry about the perfume. I assume these people have just lost their sense of smell or something�but you�d think someone they love would tell them how annoying they are! If I am ever so annoying, you have my permission to tell me. But seeing as I don�t wear perfume, I don�t think I�ll ever be annoying in this particular way�

I say, wear a surgical mask while she�s there.

Thus far, I don�t know who from your area may or may not be coming to my shin dig. Cathy has looked at the invitation, but hasn�t RSVP�d. I guess Alisa never got it in the first place.

Friday was a lot of fun. The band is really good and Lou gets to show off the fact that he can actually play guitar, which is cool. I would like to go see them again.

Robert being there wasn�t terribly uncomfortable. Robert�s wife was there for like one of their sets, I think. Therefore, that�s about how long he behaved. I made a concerted effort to stay away from him, though, and made Sondra sit between us when he was at our table. The sad thing is, I even made an effort not to look too good that night! Yes, it was difficult and somehow I managed to be adorable anyway, but at least I made the effort�:)

Meg Ryan doesn�t look the least bit like Meg Ryan, except that she has a similar hair style and color. Mark needs his eyes checked. However, she seemed very nice. ALSO however, though�.yes, she works, (at "nameless warehouse store") but right now is on �limited duty� because of back and various other injuries�

Sound familiar?

I know these things happen to people all the time, but why does Mark end up finding everyone they happen to?

John was down this weekend, but he was at his friend Brandon�s basically all day on Saturday. We went for a walk yesterday and he made me chicken noodle soup. He recently bought a pressure cooker and so brought it down so he could show it off. Good soup. I was supposed to bring leftovers for lunch, but I left it at home.

I watched the Packers yesterday, too�well, most of it. I saw the heartbreaking part. :( So is Carla still going to have a Superbowl party even though the Packers aren�t in it?

By the way, Sondra mentioned on Friday that you changed your mind about going to Temecula the day before the Superbowl and going wine-tasting�is this correct? I am still planning on going on Saturday, so let me know if anything has changed.

Anyway, I�d better get back to work.

Oh and yes, I did watch the debate. I got kinda irritated with Al Sharpton�s harping on Dean and the racial crapola, but aside from that I didn�t hear much that�s new. I wish you�d see one with Wesley Clark. I haven�t heard why he hasn�t been in on these last couple of debates.

Hasta!

Regards,
Karen



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com