Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Feb. 02, 2004
boys and boobies

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Does anybody actually believe that Justin Timberlake ripping off part of Janet Jackson�s top yesterday, to reveal a conveniently placed pasty and most of her left breast during the Superbowl�s half time show, was an �accident�?

Please. In the first place, were it an accident why did she have the pasty on, covering her nipple? Moreover, this woman is my age...meaning she is old in the pop music sense. She hasn�t released an album in what, two years? And that album, to my recollection, didn�t exactly fire up the charts the way her older albums did. She has a new CD coming out shortly; she needed to do something �controversial� in order to compete with the younger, �Britney�, crowd.

�Accident� my ass.

Not that I care about Janet�s motives; I honestly don�t. My jaw did drop while watching yesterday, as did much of America�s, but that was the end of it for me (of course, I was embroiled in a debate over the merits of Kid Rock at the time). I was quite surprised though when, this morning, reports were all over the news about whether or not Janet�s exposure was an accident.

Well, I guess Janet got what she wanted. We�re all talking about her today.

I was much more entertained by Shaq's utterance of the "f" word, live on television, when speaking about the shoddy officiating during the Laker game earlier in the day.

Hey, go read floodtide's entry from today, in regard to this topic. Great points are made.

As a side note, I still do not understand the allure of The Timberlake. I can see that he is a nice-looking boy, but...well, I guess I just like my men to actually look and act like men. I�m sure I�ll love him in another 25 years or so, once he grows up.

Aside from Janet�s boobie (and Kid�s American Flag poncho), I found the halftime show to be a huge bore. I found the Superbowl commercials (generally the only reason I pay much attention to the game, unless the Packers are playing) to be similarly unremarkable. The game itself was very slow. The only real excitement of the night came when I almost panicked, thinking the game was going in to overtime.

Here�s a suggestion, kids: This is why it�s best to drive your own car to a Superbowl party. I was at the mercy of my sister Linda and her husband and had the game gone OT I would have had to stay and watch it until the end. Thank God for His little graces. I mean, we were all the way out in Temecula, at Carla�s house. It takes an hour to get out there without traffic and there was certainly plenty of traffic yesterday, boy howdy.

In other, more exciting news (well, at least it�s exciting to me), in spite of my repeated pledge of �No More Musicians� I find that I now have a rather huge crush on a certain hunky drummer. I think he has a crush on me, too, but I am no longer certain of this. He is rather shy and so I�m having a harder time than usual reading him. Normally I can tell if someone has the warm feelies for my bod, ya know? With Hunky Drummer? Hard to tell...but I sure am being all girlie and checking my messages constantly, in the hope of a phone call.

Here�s how it went on Friday Night:

I had to drive down to Laguna Niguel which, for those of you unfamiliar with Southern California terrain, is approximately 45 minutes away from where I live. Sondra drove down with Lou so was at the bar rather early. According to Sondra, at about 8:00 Jamie walked in and he said to her: �Hi. Is Karen coming?� She replied that I was and he asked what time I was going to be there. She replied that I was due to arrive at approximately 8:30. So he said, �Great. I�ll be back in a few minutes.� And he left to get something to eat. Apparently, he also asked Lou about me, earlier.

I did, in fact, arrive as scheduled and Sondra laughingly related to me the rather limited conversation she had just had with Hunky Drummer.

Hee. :) Color me giddy.

Much fun ensued throughout the evening. Jody lives a mere 10 miles away from that bar, so she came up to party with us. It was so great to see her! Mark and his girlfriend also came, as well as a friend of Sondra�s. The bar itself is a tiny place and apparently a hangout for cops, but the band was great, as usual. I got in some dancing, got in some drinking, got in some flirting; I even played a game of pool. Of course, I didn�t get home until after 2:30am and then found myself wide awake at 6:30, but it was totally worth the lost sleep.

I mentioned in these pages before a guy named Robert. He is the bassist in the band and one of Lou�s married friends who loves me. Actually...not to take away from my personal magnetism, but my thinking is that Robert loves any woman who is not his wife. But anyway, he just...man, he is just such a dog. And what kind of person do you think I am that I would go for it?

Anyway, I talked a lot with the Hunky Drummer. I seem to recall we talked about going to a Dodger game together and he invited me to his son�s upcoming birthday party, among other items of conversation.

Yes. He has a kid. He has an eight year-old kid.

Now, while not as supposedly steadfast a rule as �No More Musicians� I do my darnedest to stay away from men with children. It is hard to find men my age who have had no kids, yes, but I usually manage. Don�t get me wrong - I love kids. It is because I love them, actually, that I try to avoid them. It�s just...well, chances are whatever relationship I am having with their dad will end, sooner or later. I really don�t want kids to get used to having me around, only to have me yanked away when I break up with their father. They�ve had enough of that ya know?

Plus...well, truthfully, I have never been anyone�s number one priority in my life. I know this is selfish of me, but it would really be nice to be someone�s main concern, if only for a little while.

Oh and also? He�s five years younger than I. And that�s in Man Years which, as we all know, are the opposite of Dog Years.

So anyway...in all honesty, I am unsure as to whether or not this guy is really interested in me, or just wants to hang out as friends. I guess either would be OK with me, but I don�t know if I could control my impulse to jump his bones for very long. Sondra and Lou both seem to think he likes me, likes me (I guess Lou must have passed him a note during Algebra class), but�well, I am unsure. Which is weird, in a so-far-fun kind of way. If it turns out he doesn�t actually like me, like me, or if he doesn�t call me this week, it won�t be much fun anymore.

Cuz, all of the above drawbacks aside, I dig him. A whole bunch. In fact, I dig him enough to overlook the fact that he is a musician, the fact that he is younger than I and the fact that he has a son.

I�m not terribly shallow, mind you. He�s not just hunky. He also seems to be very, very sweet. And kind of shy, which I find to be endearing. I honestly don�t think we have much in common at all, though, but at this point I really don�t give a flying fig. I just want him to call me, dammit!

We did talk about getting together sometime this week. He was rather excited to obtain my telephone number. I think he likes me, but�man, these shy guys can be so darn difficult!

ACK! OK, enough of my school-girl crush.

~~~

Word of the Day for Monday February 2, 2004

quixotic kwik-SOT-ik, adjective:

1. Caught up in the romance of noble deeds and the pursuit of unreachable goals; foolishly impractical especially in the pursuit of ideals.

2. Capricious; impulsive; unpredictable.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com