Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, Sept. 29, 2003
B&BW bandit

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Most of the following recent events and important factoids are eluded to in the email exchange below. In an effort to assist you in following along, I share the following:

1. John spent the weekend with me. Saturday was Barbara�s birthday. That day, John joined me, Barbara and Cathy at the Huntington Library, we here we viewed an Edward Weston photography exhibit. The exhibit was followed by cocktails at Barbara�s, where we met Arnett and opened birthday gifts (I also received gifts, as my birthday is coming up).
2. I made out like the proverbial bandit in products from Bath and Body Works. First of all, John and I stopped in there Saturday morning and he bought me several goodies. Yay! In addition, Cathy gave me some products from that store, as her birthday gift to me. Double-Yay!
3. As birthday gifts, Cathy gave Barbara a gift certificate for a pedicure and some foot cream made with Shea. I gave Barbara a gift box which included shower gel, body lotion (from B&BW), a loofa back scrub, loofa feet scrubbers, and other spa-type items. Barbara gave me a petroglyph-inspired pin with a kayaker drawn on it, a tee-shirt from Denali Natl. Park and a sphere made of some burgundy-colored stone, which Arnett polished for me.
4. After cocktails and gifts, we all went out to dinner. I had some yummy Halibut.
5. Arnett mines, collects and works with rocks and gems. He also works with kids at the high school�s rock and gem club.
6. Last week, Barbara and I started discussing the possibility of visiting Santa Fe, New Mexico the week of April 22.

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Monday, September 29, 2003 8:27 AM
To: Karen
Subject: (no subject)

Good morning,

Just wanted to thank you again for my gifts and for a great time on Saturday. I had a lot of fun, hope you did also. I used those little foot scrubbers on my feet last night and then put Cathy's shea foot cream on. Love it!

Busy this morning, I'll talk to you later.

Have a good one,
b

-----Original Message-----
From: Barbara
Sent: Monday, September 29, 2003 9:32 AM
To: Karen and Cathy
Subject: (no subject)

Hi-

Would it be alright with both of you if we stop exchanging Christmas gifts? We can, of course, get together and celebrate friendship (the most important thing!) but just not do the gift exchange. How do you guys feel about it?

Let me know,
Love yas,
b

-----Original Message-----
From: Karen
Sent: Monday, September 29, 2003 11:13 AM
To: Barbara
Subject: (no subject)

I was going to call you today to say just that � thank you again for everything! :) I had a lovely time. I wish it hadn�t been so hot, but if it hadn�t been I would have liked to walk around a bit. That was my only regret - we weren�t at the Huntington long enough.

Well, John and I had The Talk yesterday and we�re not going to get back together. I don�t know how much I�ve told you, really� Essentially what happened was I have come to a place where I feel like I want a relationship again. I didn�t know if I wanted one with him, but I wasn�t sure and basically gave him an ultimatum several weeks ago. We effectively broke off what relationship we had at the time. Well, over the past say four weeks or so, we�ve been discussing getting fully back together � meaning he would move back down here and we�d give our relationship another, full-bodied, try.

Well, this weekend we decided not to do that.

I don�t really know what this means for our immediate future. I assume we�ll still see each other, but maybe not so often. I hope he�ll at least buy me a birthday gift! But I aim to see other people and actually I hope I have the option because I would like to find somebody new.

So when discussing the possibility of going to Santa Fe, I can now ask Cathy if she wants to go. I had assumed he wouldn�t be going with me, but I didn�t know for sure until after this weekend.

It actually was a very good conversation and it�s nice that we both feel essentially the same way about each other. I guess part of me is sad, but I know we�re not meant to be together and now that we�re both on the same page I kind of just feel...resignation. I do hope we can remain friends. I think it will be easy to be friends now, but who knows what will happen when one of us finally meets someone else who is important?

I may have to find someone else to work on my car, though, dammit...

I started looking around, kind of, for a new place to live (actually, all I�ve done is look at the listings in the Grunion Gazette, a local paper that has great ads. I looked last Thursday, when the new ads were posted). I am planning on moving after the first of the year, so I can save more money and buy a place before I am forty. I was waiting to see, for sure, if John was going to move back down or not. If he did, obviously the need for moving would not be so dire. I think I�ll wait because by then I will have gotten my raise (and retro-raise check) and (hopefully) my Christmas bonus so the moving expenses won�t cause such a panic in my wallet. From the looks of the ads, I don�t think I will have a problem finding a place and storage (if needed) in my area and within my budget. If I need to get a studio and a storage unit, I will do so. I�m only going to live there for a few years, and I can pare down for a while. Look how quickly the last two years have gone by! I have lived in the Rad Pad for almost two years already.

That does bring up another subject, though. Who is it who is going to have a rummage sale or yard sale? I want to sell a whole bunch of stuff before I move. I basically want to get rid of almost everything � dishes, everything. However, I want to keep the money I make, so Arnett�s rock club rummage sale is out. I�ll just give whatever isn�t sold to Goodwill or something. Is Alisa having another yard sale or anything? I thought you had told me someone was going to have one, but maybe I am thinking of the past�I don�t know if I can get a permit to have one in my alley (plus, it�s an alley � out of view of the streets) and the front of our building isn�t really landscaped for such a thing...

I am bummed about having to move. I love my apartment. I never got to do all of the great things I wanted to do to it, either. It�s disappointing. Plus, moving is just a big pain in the patootie.

But...I�ll get over it.

And who knows? Maybe I�ll find a nice-sized one-bedroom with plenty of storage and I won�t even feel cramped.

I kind of wish the guy in the one-bedroom behind me would move so I could just move back there and therefore keep my garage. John seems to think those two apartments would be very hot, though.

I used the Bath and Body Works stuff Cathy got me this morning. This one is a totally different line than any I�ve used or bought before. I really love the scent of it (Ginger) and the lotion is very nice. The Bath Foam is weird, though. It�s just that � foam. It�s like using shaving cream as your soap. And you have to use a lot of it at a time. Other than that, it�s nice too! :)

I know Saturday was supposed to be for my birthday, too, but if you guys would like to go to that Wasabi place, let me know and I�ll find out more about it.

Hey, guess what...I can�t go to stinkin� Vegas in November!!!!!!!

The credit meeting is the same weekend as the Breast Cancer 3-Day!

I can�t believe this...God just does not want me to go to Las Vegas. I finally get the perfect opportunity to go, when I won�t even have to pay for my room or airfare and I can�t go because I�m doing some stupid charity walk that is
A) Going to kill me
B) Require that I use precious vacation time from work in order to kill me and
C) Won�t be in Las Vegas!!!!!!

I actually briefly considered not doing the Breast Cancer 3-Day so that I could go to Las Vegas. This is the kind of person who inspires compassion in others?

Needless to say, I ain�t going to Las Vegas. Dammit.

And in regard to Christmas...I don�t care about it, of course. I have closer friends than Cathy with whom I do not exchange gifts and it seems kind of silly to continue spending money on each other. That said, she is one of few people I exchange gifts with anymore and I like buying gifts, so...:) I know where you�re coming from, of course. I hope she doesn�t get mad about the whole thing, though.

Talk to ya later!

Regards,

Karen

P.S. Don�t worry Eyes - I already decided I�ll stick with Bustamonte, especially after I heard the latest polls this morning. :)



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com