Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Monday, May. 03, 2004
hot, hot, hot

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
Every person, all the events of your life are there because you have drawn them there. What you choose to do with them is up to you. --Richard Bach

~~~

So in case you don�t happen to live in Southern California and you haven�t watched the news for a while, let me fill you in:

IT IS MOTHERFUCKING HOT AROUND HERE!

We�ve had record-highs for the past few days (it was 101 degrees in Long Beach yesterday, people. That�s BY THE OCEAN!). Prior to that we had a couple days of normal weather, preceded by a few more days of record-highs.

Our strawberries are melting.

I was so hot yesterday that I really couldn�t even do much. I didn�t really get out of bed early enough to go for a walk early in the morning � if I�d started walking by the time I was up and at �em I�d have been getting home right smack dab in the middle of the hot day, which I didn�t want. So I figured I�d clean my apartment and do some laundry during the day and go for a walk as the sun was going down.

Here�s what was wrong in that plan:

A. I didn�t realize that it would still be like 90 degrees at 7:00pm.

B. I didn�t realize that not only would it still be hot as hell late in to the evening, hurricane winds would kick up at about 5:30 and keep a�blowin� for several hours.

C. I didn�t realize that I only had enough quarters to do one load of laundry.

D. I didn�t realize it would be so hot during the day that every time I started cleaning I would work for about half an hour before I found myself hunched over in a sweaty mess in front of my tiny fan, with a glass of ice water held up to my forehead. I finally gave up after cleaning only my bedroom, bathroom, and about half my kitchen.

Plus, you know�the amount of housework one feels the gumption to get done is directly related to how much mota one does or does not partake of.

*ahem*

So apparently we are to have one more annoyingly hot day today and then our temperatures will drop down by ten degrees each day until we are back down to our seasonally normal mid-seventies by Thursday. And let�s hope that mild weather lasts at least a little while shall we? The damn fires have already started burning and it�s only May 3.

~~~

Don't forget to Vote for Public Domain!

~~~

Word of the Day for Monday May 3, 2003

abstruse ab-STROOS; uhb-, adjective: Difficult to comprehend or understand.

~~~

And hey...I let my 500th Entry pass on by with nary a mention. As the 2nd anniversary of my time here at diaryland is rapidbly approaching, I thought I would celebrate this milestone by taking a moment out of each day to look back. So in this vein, I give you...

What Was the ikss Saying Two Years Ago?


"Why start off on something that�s gonna make me feel like shit and totally sour me on this renewed devotion to journal-writing?"



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com