Mind Vomit by the ikss ~ a journal
Header
Thursday, Apr. 08, 2004
brief notes

Navigation

the archives


The last few dribbles...

- -
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

good-bye diaryland -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Social Security -
Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

save the arctic refuge -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

it's surreal -
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005


the latest entry

Contact the ikss

~ the ikss guestbook ~
email the ikss
notes to the ikss

New here? Start here

The Usual Suspects (Cast)
the ikss Mission Statement: Please Read
the ikss bio
the ikss profile, including favorite diaryland links
somebody out there loves me

�Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with a gorgeous redhead�
-Lucille Ball


"To announce that there must be no criticism of the President, or that we are to stand by the President, right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public."
--Theodore Roosevelt, 1918

REGISTER TO VOTE




"The time is always right to do what is right"
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The "seven social sins": Knowledge without character,
Science without humanity,
Wealth without work,
Commerce without morality,
Politics without principles,
Pleasure without conscience,
Worship without self-sacrifice."
--Gandhi

"We have not inherited the world from our forfathers -
We have borrowed it from our children."
--Kashmiri, proverb
I just spent the majority of my �writing-time� composing an email to a certain someone, but here are a few notes. From me to you. With love.

1. I�m actually corresponding with someone very interesting via the internet-dating thing. He�s a Sociologist. Who lives in SANTA BARBARA! Why can�t the interesting guys live in Belmont Shore (actually, a lot of them do, they�re just interested in each other)? He seems to be a nice, normal, bright guy, and he makes me laugh. He travels a lot, too. His favorite place is Prague, but he spent Christmas in Paris with his family. In his profile, when describing his perfect mate, one of the things he says is: �She would never use the words �George Bush� and �great president� in the same sentence.� Hee. :)

2. I am really astonished that a lot of these guys ask for my phone number right away - like, in their first email to me. I understand that not everyone likes to write letters, but what kind of stupid woman would give out her phone number to a bunch of men she doesn�t even know? I would think these guys would just offer up their own phone number, if they really wanted to talk to me on the phone, ya know? Sheesh.

3. I�m also �talking� to a cool guy in Albuquerque. I know, I know; but there�s nothing wrong in striking up a friendship there. I wasn�t expecting to correspond with anyone far away, but he emailed me � I guess because I say stuff about Santa Fe in my profile. However, I realized yesterday that he doesn�t actually say on his profile that he�s SINGLE. There is something else about him too, although I can�t remember now what it is, that makes me wonder about his marital status.

4. The-band-with-the-incredibly-stupid-name is no longer playing this weekend. Their gig was cancelled today. I don�t know what the bullshit explanation was this time; I don�t know if it�s the club that�s jerking them around or if it�s Robert (who booked their gigs at this place), but I don�t expect they will ever agree to play there again, since this is the second time they�ve cancelled.

5. Since the last time this place cancelled on them the Hunky Drummer called me and we ended up screwing all night, I was half-eyeballing my phone all day, thinking he might call. I didn�t really expect him to, but�well, you know�it would have been funny.

6. Now I know I won�t be too tired to go kayaking on Saturday, since I now have no plans for tomorrow night.

7. I now have plenty of time to do laundry and clean the Rad Pad tomorrow night.

8. Aside from being just a tad bummed that I now have no plans for a Friday night, in truth, I was looking forward to seeing the HD, too. Aside from the obvious (although the crush is finally subsiding�WTF? Why is this taking so long?), I wanted to see him and break the ice before I have to see him at a rehearsal. I don�t want to be nervous singing in front of him for the first time.

9. John is coming down this weekend, mainly to go kayaking with me. He didn�t seem all that eager to make the trek down here until I told him about the kayaking. But then, Aunt Flo is scheduled for a visit this weekend, which means John won�t come anywhere near me in the sexual sense. I guess there�s no reason to come visit me if there�s no chance of getting laid. He didn't say that, of course, but that's how I felt.

10. And no, that didn't make me feel all that special.

11. Yes, I watched a little bit of Condi Rice�s testimony before the 9/11 Commission this morning�while I have a lot to say about it (of course), as I wrote in a note to floodtide this morning, I am more appalled at this point by the Commission that I am by her. I expected her to be full of shit. Naively, I also expected at least some of the members of this Commission to call her on it. Sadly, they didn�t.

~~~

Word of the Day for Thursday April 8, 2004

bailiwick BAY-luh-wik, noun:

1. A person's specific area of knowledge, authority, interest, skill, or work.

2. The office or district of a bailiff.



last / next



~~~~~~~~~~~peace, love and smooches~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Don't know why you'd wanna, but on the off-chance you may feel tempted to steal any of my words and claim them as your own, please be advised: All material
Copyright 2002-2005
, Howl-at-the-Moon Words



***DISCLAIMER: These are my thoughts and my thoughts alone. If you know me in my "real life" off the net and have come across this page purely by accident, please keep in mind that you were not invited here and I would suggest you leave this page now. However, should you choose not to do so, please be warned that reading my thoughts here is not an invitation to discuss them off-line. You may discover things you do not know about me and may not like very much. Such is life. Again, this is MY space and I will use it as I see fit. If you are offended by anything here, well that's pretty much your own fault at this point. I say all of this with love, of course, but there it is.


hosted by DiaryLand.com